You're right I understood that way back when you first brought it up.
Well good then, I'm glad I could clear that up for you.
You're right I understood that way back when you first brought it up.
You didn't say what its purpose is. I don't mean the general purpose of all rules, or the purpose of the frozen ball rule in general - I mean what is the purpose of this particular part of the frozen ball rule? What does it prevent?----------------------------> yes
Well good then, I'm glad I could clear that up for you.
You didn't say what its purpose is. I don't mean the general purpose of all rules, or the purpose of the frozen ball rule in general - I mean what is the purpose of this particular part of the frozen ball rule? What does it prevent?
pj
chgo
Read the rules you'll get a better understanding, maybe?
Hi Nut,
I don't think that this has anything to do with someones moral compass
As far as your example goes you would be buying stolen merchandise
which is breaking the law. There are no rules or laws being broken here, in fact just the opposite a person who rolls up on ball that is to be assumed playable by the rules unless someone calls the ball frozen has done nothing wrong.
In fact anyone who calls a person who is playing by the rules imoral it would seem is the one who needs to check their moral compass.
Yes 26 21.31%
No 96 78.69
In fact I've been shooting pool for close to 50 years now and if you want to check peoples moral compasses then check the 78.69% that said they wouldn't shoot this shot. Because this figure is wildly out of line from what actually transpires in pool rooms.
Here are the rules, like them or not:
The rules:
6.3 No Rail after Contact
If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul. (See 8.4 Driven to a Rail.)
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/index.as...type=rules#6.7
8.4 Driven to a Rail
A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns. A ball that is pocketed or driven off the table is also considered to have been driven to a rail. A ball is assumed not to be frozen to any rail unless it is declared frozen by the referee, the shooter, or the opponent. See also Regulation 27, Calling Frozen Balls.
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/index.as...type=rules#8.4
27. Calling Frozen Balls
The referee should be careful to inspect and announce the status of any object ball that might be frozen to a cushion and the cue ball when it might be frozen to a ball. The seated player may remind the referee that such a call is necessary. The shooter must allow time for such a determination to be asked for and made, and may ask for the call himself.
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/index.as...tic_content#27
Thanks to Risky Biz----For the rules---people don't like! LOL
This is why people don't seem to be able to get along, because even when the rules of a game are as plainly stated as above, people who don't like them try to rework them in some fantasy land and if you don't want to play their game. They want to question your morals, isn't that nice.
I am in no way saying that is what you're doing NUT I want to make that
clear. Have a Happy 4TH, Itsfroze.
If we could just get major corporations to follow the rules this country on the 4th of July would be much better off.
a person who rolls up on ball that is to be assumed playable by the rules unless someone calls the ball frozen has done nothing wrong.
In fact I've been shooting pool for close to 50 years now and if you want to check peoples moral compasses then check the 78.69% that said they wouldn't shoot this shot. Because this figure is wildly out of line from what actually transpires in pool rooms.
Here are the rules, like them or not:
The rules:
6.3 No Rail after Contact
If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul. (See 8.4 Driven to a Rail.)
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/index.as...type=rules#6.7
8.4 Driven to a Rail
A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns. A ball that is pocketed or driven off the table is also considered to have been driven to a rail. A ball is assumed not to be frozen to any rail unless it is declared frozen by the referee, the shooter, or the opponent. See also Regulation 27, Calling Frozen Balls.
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/index.as...type=rules#8.4
27. Calling Frozen Balls
The referee should be careful to inspect and announce the status of any object ball that might be frozen to a cushion and the cue ball when it might be frozen to a ball. The seated player may remind the referee that such a call is necessary. The shooter must allow time for such a determination to be asked for and made, and may ask for the call himself.
http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/index.as...tic_content#27
Thanks to Risky Biz----For the rules---people don't like! LOL
This is why people don't seem to be able to get along, because even when the rules of a game are as plainly stated as above, people who don't like them try to rework them in some fantasy land and if you don't want to play their game. They want to question your morals, isn't that nice.
I am in no way saying that is what you're doing NUT I want to make that
clear. Have a Happy 4TH, Itsfroze.
If we could just get major corporations to follow the rules this country on the 4th of July would be much better off.
What this question REALLY boils down to, if you as the shooter looked yourself at the ball and know it is frozen, is this
"do you shoot a shot that you know is going to be a foul if by the technical rules of the game you know you will get away with it?"
This question at it's heart is NO different then asking someone
"In 8-ball where you are shooting stripes and to make your last ball in a called pocket you must contact a solid first, do you shoot the shot knowing it will be a foul as long as the opponent does not call a ref?"
If your opponent does not call a ref then you can simply state "it was a good hit". They did not call a ref, the rules state that it goes to the shooter. As the shooter you know full well it was a bad hit and in fact you knew it would be bad before you shot it, but your opponent did not call a ref so you also knew you could win the game this way.
It is the same thing if you saw the ball was frozen. You KNEW you were shooting a ball that was going to result in a foul but you shot it anyways because you knew you would get away with it.
The rules DO state the shooter themselves can call a ball frozen, so right there you are choosing to omit that information from the game and act as if the ball is not frozen, while you know full well it is. This is no different then shooting a shot you KNOW will be a foul, but planning on arguing the foul call and using the "no ref was present so I get to keep shooting" clause.
All you guys arguing, it is ok, we know you exist and that is why we call refs and watch you shoot like a hawk to make sure you don't get away with the crap you try to get away with. We understand that it is not really a gentleman's game and that alot of you are simply out there to weasel out a win any way possible. It is OK, we get it.
But seriously what are you arguing about? Trying to sit here and argue that you are not in fact a cheap player who lacks honor while at the same time saying you would in fact shoot the foul and pretend it was a good hit? What a joke. You are what you are, we accept that fact, you should too.
Not the same thing at all how, ridiculous.
Maybe a different scenario would help. You're playing APA 8 ball and your opponent is about to shoot the 8 ball which is hanging on the edge of the pocket. They forget to mark the pocket. Do you:
a. Remind them to mark the pocket.
b. Let them shoot and call a foul.
c. Assume the obvious and give them the win.
I vote a or c.
However, I suspect some of the posters on this thread would vote b. Sort of an "any port in a storm" strategy.
It is the exact same. In both cases you are shooting a foul, you KNOW you are shooting a foul, and you plan on pretending it is a good hit.
Care to actually, I don't know, EXPLAIN how you think they are not similar rather then just making a statement with zero support to back it up?
How are they that different if you already checked and saw the ball was in fact frozen and then went and shot it as if it was not?
Sure I'll bite. One your example is cheating. In the other instance you absolutely are not shooting a foul because the ball was not called frozen.
That's what you like to try and ignore to prove your point and that is where your whole point falls to pieces. It is a good hit the shot is playable unless the ball is deemed frozen, this is where you loose track of the rules. There I've explained, so now you can come back with another
empty theory.
And even though you know it's frozen, and even though the rule says you can call it frozen, you feel not calling it and taking the shot anyway, just because you can get away with it, is an honorable thing to do?itsfroze:
...you absolutely are not shooting a foul because the ball was not called frozen.
In the other instance you absolutely are not shooting a foul because the ball was not called frozen.