whats the call?

magix said:
why the personel attack?you know jude you just might be wrong this time.there might not be a rule to cover this and the best we got is thats just the way it is.and jude just cause you don't know the answer you don't have to be a smart azz.
jude is right, you either have to call a shot or a safety. you cant pocket a ball when the table is open call safe and be the suit of the ball you made. If i was the referee i would rule the table is open and its player A's shot because the last shot that player B called was a safety.

Ben
BTW 1,000 posts!!!!!!!!!!!
 
TheNewSharkster said:
Isn't there an old saying about having and eating cake? :thumbup:

It goes "Anyone who would want to have cake and not eat it is just flat stupid"
 
Official BCAPL response...

...may not necessarily be appropriate here, but anytime the term "BCA" is thrown around I feel it necessary to make sure there is no misunderstanding about BCAPL rules (see disclaimers for details).

In the OP's situation in BCAPL play, Player A comes to the table with an open table.

The key in BCAPL play is the definition of "illegally pocketed ball". The process is simple:

  • Groups can only be decided when a ball is legally pocketed after the break;
  • By definition under BCAPL Rule 2.8, balls pocketed on a safety are illegally pocketed balls;
  • also under BCAPL Rule 2.8, your inning ends after a safety.
This observation is also key: nowhere in BCAPL rules is there a provision that makes called shots and safety shots mutually exclusive. While there may be no apparent reason to call a ball and call a safety at the same time, it is not prohibited by the rules. That, coupled with the general principle that anything not prohibited by the rules cannot be used as grounds for calling a foul or otherwise penalizing a player, presents no reason for preventing a player from calling a ball and a safety. However, calling the safety incurs the conditions of a safety, regardless of the fact that the ball was called and pocketed.

More importantly, a simple extension of the logic and reasoning used by BCAPL (and most other rule sets, including VNEA) in the provisions of call shot games does not support making called shots and safeties mutually exclusive. Consider for a moment: by definition, all shots in these games are actually called shots. It's just that we forego the formality of announcing the "obvious" ones - also a provision under most rule sets.

(deep breath - bear with me here) If the shot in the OP's scenario was a simple, straight-in short shot and the shooter was not playing safe, he would probably not call the shot, since it would be obvious. The fact that he did not verbalize his intent does not make the shot a "non-called" shot. It is still a called shot, since this is a call shot game. It just means he did not state it because it was obvious.

Now, if he calls a safety on that same shot, all he is doing is attaching a modifier to the called shot, and that modifier is that the shot is a safety. Again, the fact that he did not call the obvious shot on which he announced the safety does not make it a "non-called" shot.

So what difference could it make if he does bother to say "6 in the corner" and "safety"? The circumstances have not changed a lick. It is no different in principle than if he had simply called the safety or if he had played an obvious shot without calling it.

The bottom line is that as long as you enforce the consequences of calling the safety, it should not matter whether or not the shot is called. It certainly makes no difference in BCAPL play, since the ball is clearly defined as being illegally pocketed.

Again, I cannot speak definitvely for VNEA.

Nor can I speak definitively for WSR. I could prior to 2008 - it was enforced the same way BCAPL is now. I do not know the current WSR interpretation, since the 2008 WSR no longer defines "illegally pocketed ball" and no longer addresses the consequences of pocketing a ball on a safety in relation to choosing groups. It would appear, from a literal reading of WSR Rules 3.4, 3.6 and 8.17, that groups can be established on a safety. But I wouldn't bet the farm on it.

On a side note, daphish1 quotes an archaic rule set. Everyone use caution - there are still many links out there to the pre-2008 WSR. 8-ball is addressed under Section 3 of the current WSR. They are here:

http://www.wpa-pool.com/index.asp?content=rules_tournament

and the BCAPL rules are here:

http://www.playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook/tabid/372/Default.aspx

:smile:

P.S. Jude - I have STILL not forgotten about the other question. :rolleyes: I promise I will try to get to it soon...

Buddy Eick
BCAPL National Head Referee (WOW!! very humbled to be promoted :D )
BCAPL Director of Referee Training
Technical Editor, BCAPL Rule Book
bcapl_referee@cox.net

Find the Official Rules of the BCA Pool League here:

http://www.playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook/tabid/372/Default.aspx


* The contents of this post refer to BCA Pool League (BCAPL) Rules only. The BCAPL National Office has authorized me to act in an official capacity regarding questions about BCAPL Rules matters in public forums.
* Neither I nor any BCAPL referee make any policy decisions regarding BCAPL Rules. Any and all decisions, interpretations, or Applied Rulings are made by the BCAPL National Office and are solely their responsibility. BCAPL referees are enforcers of rules, not legislators. BCAPL Rules 9.4.3 and 9.4.4 apply.
* No reference to, inference concerning, or comment on any other set of rules (WPA, APA, VNEA, TAP, or any other set of rules, public or private) is intended or should be derived from this post unless specifically stated.
* There is no such thing as "BCA Rules" other than in the sense that the Billiard Congress of America (BCA) publishes various rules, including the World Pool-Billiard Association's "World Standardized Rules". The BCA does not edit nor is responsible for the content of the World Standardized Rules. The Official Rules of the BCAPL is a separate and independent set of rules and, to avoid confusion, should not be referred to as "BCA Rules".
* The BCAPL has no association with the Billiard Congress of America other than in their capacity as a member of the BCA.
* The BCAPL has not addressed every imaginable rules issue, nor will it ever likely be able to, as evidenced by the seemingly endless situations that people dream up or that (more frequently) actually happen. If I do not have the answer to a question I will tell you so, then I will get a ruling from the BCAPL National Office and get back to you as soon as I can. If deemed necessary, the BCAPL will then add the ruling to the "Applied Rulings" section of The Official Rules of the BCA Pool League.
 
Last edited:
djpstacked03 said:
I remember being in the same position "B". My opponent then told me that I could'nt do that. So I called the conveinor and he said I couldnt safety while pocketing a ball after the dry break. Sounds like bullshit to me but thats what happened. VNEA. I have not come across this situation in my BCA league yet. Unfortunately in some of the pool leagues there are many grey area that may not be covered in the rule book. I always thought that there should be no problem with a safety after the break while potting a ball. Hope this helps. Ask your league conveinor on this situation.


No, you *should* be able to pocket a ball and play safe. What you shouldn't be able to do is *call a ball* (make it) and call a safe at the same time. WTF is that? That like getting a shitty lie at the table and just passing it off to the other person. Screw that.
MULLY
 
Buddy,
Thanks for the clairification.
So it looks like the BCA rule 2.8 was changed in 2008 to include the wording "balls pocketed on a safety are illegally pocketed balls" Why?
Then many words are used to explain why its legal to make your ball and call safe, giving up your turn. Fine. Rules should be logical and consistant though. If its a legal shot why are the balls pocketed considered illegally pocketed?
 
Jude Rosenstock said:
The Open Table rule covers this scenario. Only a called shot can determine group. That's it. You wanna think otherwise, good luck to you in life.

Correct you are sir. In BCA at least group not determined until someone makes a called ball.

If you wanted to take a ball out of play and leave the table open, you could not call the shot and make the ball. In that circumstance, it would not be a foul, but the groups would not be determined and the table still open. I can't think of a circumstance where you might want to do this, but I suppose it could happen.

As said before, you can't call a safety and make a ball until after the groups are determined. This situation has been discussed several times before.
 
In the VNEA player A is solids and his saftey stands. The VNEA has a rule that states that you do not have to call obvious shots and pocketing the six was an obvious shot providing it wasn't a bank. All player A did by calling a saftey was relinquish his turn at the table after making a legal shot.

This exact situation came up when I was refereeing the VNEA in Vegas a couple of years ago and this was the decision reached by the four head ref's.

FYI the only way to avoid this would be to call the ball in a different pocket (ie. six in the side) and then shoot it in the corner thereby not making a legal called ball and there is no reason to call a saftey, the table remains open.

Bern
 
Big Bad Bern said:
In the VNEA player A is solids and his saftey stands. The VNEA has a rule that states that you do not have to call obvious shots and pocketing the six was an obvious shot providing it wasn't a bank. All player A did by calling a saftey was relinquish his turn at the table after making a legal shot.

This exact situation came up when I was refereeing the VNEA in Vegas a couple of years ago and this was the decision reached by the four head ref's.

FYI the only way to avoid this would be to call the ball in a different pocket (ie. six in the side) and then shoot it in the corner thereby not making a legal called ball and there is no reason to call a saftey, the table remains open.

Bern
ok.so your saying there is no way,before the table is open,that player a gets to keep solids and have player b shoot with strips?he has to take the shot or the saftey?yet there is no rule that covers it per say.seems the best answer is he pocketed an illegal ball .if it was legal he would have to keep shooting.is that right?thanks for all your answers.this was not a test,if it was you all pass. george
 
desmocourtney said:
So it looks like the BCA rule 2.8 was changed in 2008 to include the wording "balls pocketed on a safety are illegally pocketed balls" Why?

There was no change in 2008 - the wording existed in the first edition of the BCAPL rules (2007) as well.

desmocourtney said:
If its a legal shot why are the balls pocketed considered illegally pocketed?

"Illegally pocketed" and "legal shot" are well-established as two different concepts. In most games, (broadly and roughly speaking) the only requirement for a legal shot is legal tip-to ball-contact, followed by the cue ball striking a legal object ball first and then something catching a cushion or a pocket. However, in most call-shot games any ball that goes into other than the called pocket is an illegally pocketed ball under many rule sets, including pre-2008 WSR and BCAPL since its inception. The "illegal pocketing" is driven by the specific game rules - not the mechanics of the shot, which are controlled by the General Rules.

desmocourtney said:
Rules should be logical and consistant though.

The issue at hand concerning open-table safeties was interpreted the same way (at least at the BCA Nationals) under WSR since at least 1998 and probably before. Pre-2008 WSR Rule 4.16 read:

"An object ball is considered to be illegally pocketed when...(3) a safety is called prior to the shot..."

Although it goes on to state that the ball is scored "...in favor of the shooter controlling that specific group...", on an open table groups are not controlled. Finally, there was the same provision in pre-2008 WSR, as in the other sets discussed here, that groups are only determined by the first legally pocketed ball after the break.

Therefore, in pre-2008 WSR a safety on an open table could not establish groups. And there was still no language prohibiting calling a ball and a safety (see previous post for that reasoning).

This is one of a multitude of rulings that the BCAPL did not see fit to tinker with in 2007. It is consistent with WSR play for at least the last ten years (at least for BCA/BCAPL Nationals). It was WPA that changed the wording in 2008 - not BCAPL. As observed in my previous post, there is no definitive answer yet from WPA on the issue at hand. The BCAPL has no plans to change the ruling.

Let's keep in mind here that the OP concerned VNEA. I was a little reluctant to jump into this thread, but felt compelled to do so when others started mentioning "BCA". Nothing I have posted is anything more than a casual commentary if it involves VNEA, and casual commentary is not my stock-in-trade. :smile:

Buddy
 
Last edited:
That's just evidence....

Big Bad Bern said:
In the VNEA player A is solids and his saftey stands. The VNEA has a rule that states that you do not have to call obvious shots and pocketing the six was an obvious shot providing it wasn't a bank. All player A did by calling a saftey was relinquish his turn at the table after making a legal shot.

This exact situation came up when I was refereeing the VNEA in Vegas a couple of years ago and this was the decision reached by the four head ref's.

FYI the only way to avoid this would be to call the ball in a different pocket (ie. six in the side) and then shoot it in the corner thereby not making a legal called ball and there is no reason to call a saftey, the table remains open.

Bern

that 4 heads are NOT always better than 1.....:rolleyes: J/K no offense intended .... but that is absolutely ridiculous.... a safety is a safety is a safety and that's all it is.... you can't have both any more than you can call a ball in 2 pockets at the same time. JMNSHO

I think the original shooter was just trying to start trouble and mess with the OP's head......:smile:

"Who's on first"?

td
 
Jude Rosenstock said:
VNEA Rules

C. OPEN TABLE
The table is ?open? when the choice of groups (stripes or solids) has not yet been
determined. When the table is open, it is legal to hit a solid first to make a stripe or
vice versa. Note: The table is always open immediately after the break shot. When
the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of
pocketing the called stripe or solid. On an open table, all pocketed balls remain pocketed.
The choice of stripes or solids is not determined on the break even if balls are
made from only one or both groups. THE TABLE IS ALWAYS OPEN IMMEDIATELY
AFTER THE BREAK SHOT. The choice of group is determined only when a player
legally pockets a called object ball after the break shot.

A safety is a legal shot and, although you're not required to call the ball when shooting a called safety, the rules don't prohibit it or say it's meaningless. So the shooter legally pocketed a called object ball.

It seems a little strange, but I think he should get the group he called and the safety.

pj
chgo

EDIT: Except, apparently the BCAPL rules (thanks, Buddy Eick). The WPA World Standardized Rules don't say the same thing. Here's what I found there:

"1.6 Standard Call Shot
In games in which the shooter is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant. Only one ball may be called on each shot. For a called shot to count, the referee must be satisfied that the intended shot was made, so if there is any chance of confusion, e.g. with bank, combination and similar shots, the shooter should indicate the ball and pocket. If the referee or opponent is unsure of the shot to be played, he may ask for a call. In call shot games, the shooter may choose to call “safety” instead of a ball and pocket, and then play passes to the opponent at the end of the shot. Whether balls are being spotted after safeties depends on the rules of the particular game."


This might suggest you can't do both in the same shot, but it isn't definitively clear like the BCAPL rules.

I haven't seen anything in the VNEA rules quoted here so far that clearly prohibits calling a ball and a safety together. Without a clear rule or regulation (like the BCAPL rule) I think it could logically be determined either way by a referee.
 
Last edited:
It doesn't say in the first post that after he called the 6 and also called safe that he said he had solids. I figured the table would still be open and the next player shoots and has choice of balls... I have played safe after a break where I had no shot..I didn't pocket a ball but it was then the next players turn and he now had choice. I'm not getting into who is right or wrong here but in my mind, the shot was a safety and the next player has his choice to shoot either solids or stripes.....If he then plays safe they keep shooting until someone makes a legally pocketed ball....???
 
I agree with most I've read it is fine that he called a safe and it is fine that he pocketed a ball. The table should remain open. Any balls pocketed after declaring a safety play should be incidental and not be used to declare (8 ball excluded). I do see good arguments in either direction.
 
Last edited:
Patrick Johnson said:
...the shooter may choose to call ?safety? instead of a ball and pocket...

NICE catch - and I'm feeling a little silly for missing it.

So under WSR, the question now becomes, what happens if you do both anyway? Hmmmmmmm...it would seem that one would have to override the other, but which one? Hmmmmmmm...there still seems to be no definitive guidance...

And I don't want to only hear "you can't" - that's just sticking one's head in the sand. It's because people occasionally actually do these things that we have these discussions in the first place...

Buddy

P.S. - BTW, I'm unsure of forum etiquette now that I've gotten a few reps. Should I be sending PM's thanking the reppers? Anyone? - a pm would be fine. Thanks!
 
Last edited:
grindz said:
that 4 heads are NOT always better than 1.....:rolleyes: J/K no offense intended .... but that is absolutely ridiculous.... a safety is a safety is a safety and that's all it is.... you can't have both any more than you can call a ball in 2 pockets at the same time. JMNSHO

I think the original shooter was just trying to start trouble and mess with the OP's head......:smile:

"Who's on first"?

td

I am just saying that in order to have the table remain open you could call the six ball in the side pocket, and then pocket it in the corner while playing safe, that way you did not make a called ball and lose your turn but you still played safe on an open table.

Bern
 
this should not count, theres nothing against pocketing a ball and calling safety. but when u call a safety, u are not calling a ball, u are only shooting at it to avoid a foul. whether u pocket that ball or not is inconsequential. so u can only call one or the other, u cannot call both.

the examples that have been used in this thread are incorrect. in this situation, the person is calling that he'll make the ball and thus take the solids while playing safe. u cannot do this. in a normal situation when ppl call a safety and pocket a ball that is fine and it counts as a safety because that ball was not called. when ppl pocket a ball and call safety during the game after a break, they will always just call a safety, never will they call both. u will never hear someone call the ball in the pocket and declare it as a safety. they might say something like "i'm playing safe but i'm going to pocket the ball" but that means they are still calling a safety. for those that say this is situation is perfectly fine, consider that if u declare that ur shot is to pocket the ball and that u're playing safe, then that means u made the shot u declared. at the same time u have also declared a safety. how can u play the shot u called and play a safety at the same time? that doesnt make any sense. it's either u do one or the other, u cant call both.

also in this situation, i would consider whatever he declared first as the shot he called. so if he said he's going to pocket the ball then said its also a safety i would consider it that he made the shot he called and continue shooting and vice versa.
 
magix said:
ok.so your saying there is no way,before the table is open,that player a gets to keep solids and have player b shoot with strips?he has to take the shot or the saftey?yet there is no rule that covers it per say.seems the best answer is he pocketed an illegal ball .if it was legal he would have to keep shooting.is that right?thanks for all your answers.this was not a test,if it was you all pass. george

so then is what i said here correct or not?if what i said is right it will put a stop to doing it.if i'm not right there is no need to stop. george
 
when u call a safety, u are not calling a ball

Says who? The player in the example obviously did call a safety and a ball.

Does anybody have an actual reason both shouldn't be allowed - I mean an unfair advantage it gives the shooter?

Maybe Buddy Eick can tell us the reasoning behind the BCAPL rule against it.

pj
chgo
 
Patrick Johnson said:
Says who? The player in the example obviously did call a safety and a ball.

Does anybody have an actual reason both shouldn't be allowed - I mean an unfair advantage it gives the shooter?

Maybe Buddy Eick can tell us the reasoning behind the BCAPL rule against it.

pj
chgo

it is an unfair advantage because u arent allowed to call 2 shots. it's like if 2 balls are near each other and i call one in the corner pocket and call the other one in the other corner pocket just in case i make it on a carom. well u cant do that, or u can but if u dont pocket the first ball then even if the second one goes in it doesnt count. call shot is call shot, u can only call 1 shot, u cant call both. and its the same in this situation, u either call 1 shot or the other, u cant call 2 shots in one turn.
 
Danktrees said:
it is an unfair advantage because u arent allowed to call 2 shots. it's like if 2 balls are near each other and i call one in the corner pocket and call the other one in the other corner pocket just in case i make it on a carom.

No, it's not like that at all. Calling a ball and a safety at the same time doesn't double your chance of success.

pj
chgo
 
Back
Top