Whats the call????

The ball is pocketed. In this case it is an easy call as it didn't interfere with other balls and you remove the ball. This is stone cold 100% the only decision that is valid.

If it had interfered with other balls, or even if this was uncertain, then I don't know - but what I do know is that I would have agreed to a re-rack whether I was the shooter or the sitter, and whether it was a friendly game, a tournament game, a dollar game or a game for big money.

If there is a rule for this, which I doubt, then I could be wrong.
 
The shooter is wearing a vest and hipster driving hat. Every shot he takes is a foul. ;)
 
Here you go DOG guess you didnt read this part .

A ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the table bed is not a pocketed ball

I did read that part but that's not at all what happened in this case.
 
Last edited:
Here you go DOG guess you didnt read this part .

A ball that rebounds from a pocket back onto the table bed is not a pocketed ball

Well here you go - the ball didn't rebound, it came out of a different pocket. Or didn't you watch the video?
 
Pocketed?

I have had to make that call,same exact shot but 5-ball. In one side out the other on a valley barbox. No difference. than a ball going down in a drop pocket table.THE BALL HAS TO BE POCKETED.
 
I have had to make that call,same exact shot but 5-ball. In one side out the other on a valley barbox. No difference. than a ball going down in a drop pocket table.THE BALL HAS TO BE POCKETED.

Much different. There are rules stating the fact.
The ball is/was pocketed.
 
According to the rule you cite it seems to me the ball is considered pocketed. I refer specifically to this part: "A ball is pocketed if it comes to rest in a pocket below the playing surface or enters the ball return system."

The ball obviously entered the ball return system or else how did it come out the other side pocket?

I agree. The fact that it enters one pocket and exits another makes this a somewhat different scenario than what the rules are currently designed for. In my opinion, the call should go to the shooter for the reason stated above, because common sense says so and because when in doubt, the call should go to the shooter.
 
I'd call a foul on the pool table, and tell it to never walk into a big-time pool hall again.
 
I guess you can make it right any way you wish in the world today . At the end of the day Where was the BALL when it came to rest ? Anyhow onto the next thread to read.
 
This is one of those situations where the "rules" shouldn't even be considered. Obviously he pocketed the ball...so he should obviously keep shooting. To use the "rules" to somehow justify robbing this guy of his inning just isn't RIGHT.

This is similar to saying someone didn't "call" the shot even if its hanging in the pocket...
 
As the person that wrote the CSI/BCAPL rule, I can tell you definitively what the CSI intent was when it was written: ball is pocketed. Unfortunately, since I have retired I can no longer speak to what the current administration would rule. More detail in a few hours...I'm at work right now.

Buddy
 
As the person that wrote the CSI/BCAPL rule, I can tell you definitively what the CSI intent was when it was written: ball is pocketed. Unfortunately, since I have retired I can no longer speak to what the current administration would rule. More detail in a few hours...I'm at work right now.

Buddy

There you have it and the the rule is written well as it covers this exact scenario the way it is written. Ball entered the ball return system, it is pocketed. What happens after it entered the ball return system is irrelevant.
 
I guess you can make it right any way you wish in the world today . At the end of the day Where was the BALL when it came to rest ? Anyhow onto the next thread to read.

Where the ball comes to a rest cannot be the criteria of a good shot all the time.

If a ball drops onto the floor from a hole in the pocket....the shot is good.
If a ball falls out of the ball tray...the shot is good.
If a ball falls off the track on the way to the ball tray....the shot is good.

The two ball in this video has to be declared a good shot....and any ball that it hits on its reappearance should be be replaced.
...and if the two ball knocks another ball into a pocket, it should be replaced.
 
Rules

This is why pool goes nowhere. The table period.Some of these answers sound like players who know they fouled and say you should have got a foul caller.This is no foul but it also isnt a pocketed ball ,its on the table. You shoot a ball dead straight in a pocket to hard and it comes right back out thats too bad. Just because it came out the other pocket means nothing.
 
Ok, no foul, the ball is considered pocketed, and it's still on the table, That means the shooter continues shooting. Good thing he got position on the ball he just pocketed.
 
Ok, no foul, the ball is considered pocketed, and it's still on the table, That means the shooter continues shooting. Good thing he got position on the ball he just pocketed.


The ball is to be removed from the table.

Thank you kindly.
 
As the person that wrote the CSI/BCAPL rule, I can tell you definitively what the CSI intent was when it was written: ball is pocketed.

Nicely written rule. If you had this situation in mind at the time, I am impressed (or vastly disappointed in pool table manufacturers).

Thank you kindly.
 
I've seen this shot before and have since mastered it.
I have won many one pocket games with this and just recently used it to "3 foul" my opponent, win the tournament and get the $$$.
 
Back
Top