whats the rule ?

lorider

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
i had an unbelievable crazy incident come up last night. its the 1st time i have done this in 4 years of playing apa.....heck its the 1st time i have ever done this in my life lol.

playing apa 9 ball. i am shooting at the 3 ball intending on banking it back down table to the lower right corner. during my stroke my hand hits the 6 ball at the same time i hit the cue ball. the 6 follows the path of the cue ball and makes contact with the 3 which is coming back down table from the top rail . the 6 makes contact with the 3 knocking it into the right side pocket.

again ...what it the rule on such an incident ?

tell you later what we decided. lol. :grin:
 
1.33 DISTURBED BALLS (CUE BALL FOULS ONLY)
1. It is not a foul to accidentally touch one object ball. If such an accident occurs, the player shall allow the opposing player, in regular league play, or the referee, in a play-off match, to restore the ball to its correct position. If the player does not allow such restoration, and a ball set in motion as a normal part of the shot touches such an unrestored ball, or passes partly into a region originally occupied by a disturbed ball, the shot is a foul. In short, it the accident has any effect on the outcome of the shot, it is a foul. In any case, the opposing player, in regular league play, or the referee, in a play-off match, must restore the positions of the disturbed balls as soon as possible, but not during the shot. It is a foul to play another shot before the opposing player or referee has restored any accidentally moved balls.

2. It is a foul if you disturb more than one object ball.

3. It is a foul if a disturbed ball contacts any other ball.

4. It is a foul to accidently touch the cue ball.
 
None of the above are correct. Since you didn't mention that the 6 or 3 came into contact with the cb after you made legal contact with the 3 then I am going to assume that the shot happened exactly as described.

The 3 stays down and the 6 goes back to the original position. There is no BIH with this and you continue to keep shooting. However if the CB comes into contact with either of the balls afterwards then it is BIH for your opponent.

Check APA rule book.
 
None of the above are correct. Since you didn't mention that the 6 or 3 came into contact with the cb after you made legal contact with the 3 then I am going to assume that the shot happened exactly as described.

The 3 stays down and the 6 goes back to the original position. There is no BIH with this and you continue to keep shooting. However if the CB comes into contact with either of the balls afterwards then it is BIH for your opponent.

Check APA rule book.

bingo...we have a winner.:grin: you are correct in your assumption that the cue ball never made contact with the 6 after i made a legal hit on the 3.

wow...219 views and only 4 replies. must have been a hard one for you to figure out.:D

not exactly how it went down though. the rules state that my opponent is the one to spot the 6 ball back to the original location....or as close as he can determine.

after looking the situation over my opponent elected not to put the 6 back because it was blocking the 4 ball. .i had no choice but to attempt a 2 rail kick at the 4...which i missed. he got bih and ran out. no big deal...i won the match 38-32 any way. :grin:
 
bingo...we have a winner.:grin: you are correct in your assumption that the cue ball never made contact with the 6 after i made a legal hit on the 3.

wow...219 views and only 4 replies. must have been a hard one for you to figure out.:D

not exactly how it went down though. the rules state that my opponent is the one to spot the 6 ball back to the original location....or as close as he can determine.

after looking the situation over my opponent elected not to put the 6 back because it was blocking the 4 ball. .i had no choice but to attempt a 2 rail kick at the 4...which i missed. he got bih and ran out. no big deal...i won the match 38-32 any way. :grin:

I think it's the fact that it's APA rules, who knows what goes on inside the odd world that is the APA rulebook. It's like looking in the McDonalds employee manual to find out how to setup a place setting for a black tie dinner.
 
Playing in an APA 8ball tournament several years ago, I shot a ball very hard which ended up flying off the table. The TD looked up the rule and what he found was unbelievable! The ball was pccketed, no foul, still my shot! "OK, that ball won't go, so just knock it off the table and run on out!" Ridiculous!
(Reason# 77,492,681,339 not to play APA)
 
Last edited:
I think it's the fact that it's APA rules, who knows what goes on inside the odd world that is the APA rulebook. It's like looking in the McDonalds employee manual to find out how to setup a place setting for a black tie dinner.

the apa rule book is like any other league rule book. not hard to understand if you bother reading it.how many people ahve come on here to get verification of a rule in bcapl...vnea..or what ever league. ? no different than apa.

i recall a thread a while back where some one posed a question of wpa 9 ball rules . several people stated they have been playing 9 ball for 20 or more years and did not know that particular rule.

no different where an amateur league is concerned. :grin:
 
Playing in an APA 8ball tournament several years ago, I shot a ball very hard which ended up flying off the table. The TD looked up the rule and what he found was unbelievable! The ball was pccketed, no foul, still my shot! "OK, that ball won't go, so just knock it off the table and run on out!" Ridiculous!
(Reason# 77,492,681,339 not to play APA)

are you sure you are not refering to bcapl ? current bcapl rules state all balls leaving the table are pocketed and the player with that suit are awarded those points.

dont know about years past the last 4 since i have been playing apa , but for the last 4 years the rule states that all balls that leave the table are spotted on the foot spot...in the case of an existing ball on the spot the next ball is placed behind the existing one and froze to it.
 
Playing in an APA 8ball tournament several years ago, I shot a ball very hard which ended up flying off the table. The TD looked up the rule and what he found was unbelievable! The ball was pccketed, no foul, still my shot! "OK, that ball won't go, so just knock it off the table and run on out!" Ridiculous!
(Reason# 77,492,681,339 not to play APA)

I don't think a rule like that would be in ANY rulebook. I think whoever looked it up misread the rule or possibly did not interpret it properly. I think there was a time when jumping a ball off a table was not a foul (not talking about APA rules exactly, just a rule in general) but it was never a "pocketed ball" where your turn would continue. Even if the other guy did not get ball in hand or the ball was spotted, it should never have been called as a made shot and you continue shooting.

Maybe you made a ball aside from the one that flew off the table?
 
I am so happy we always play by the WPA rules and foul on all balls apply! Easy to judge, three stays down, six stays wherever it stops and BIH to the opponent. None of the "if this or of that", always the same set of rules. I find that much easier, but then again, I have never played with the "cueball foul only" rule so I have no comparison really:)
 
bingo...we have a winner.:grin: you are correct in your assumption that the cue ball never made contact with the 6 after i made a legal hit on the 3.

wow...219 views and only 4 replies. must have been a hard one for you to figure out.:D

not exactly how it went down though. the rules state that my opponent is the one to spot the 6 ball back to the original location....or as close as he can determine.

after looking the situation over my opponent elected not to put the 6 back because it was blocking the 4 ball. .i had no choice but to attempt a 2 rail kick at the 4...which i missed. he got bih and ran out. no big deal...i won the match 38-32 any way. :grin:

The 6 ball has to go back to it's original position or as close as possible, this isn't the opponent's choice but mandatory.
 
I, for one, think any ball touched should be a foul.
It is too big an advantage to give someone who knows how to use it, and it breeds sloppy play among all levels because there is no penalty.
 
The 6 ball has to go back to it's original position or as close as possible, this isn't the opponent's choice but mandatory.

again you are correct. :grin:

being this was just a regular session match where my main objective is to just enjoy playing pool although being some what competitive while doing it...i choose not to get in a pissing match....most times :D

the rules state ...i can not move it back...my opponent must. either stale mate or just go ahead and make my next shot. even if he chose to move it back he could choose to put it close but not exact so it may make it harder on me. what do you do....argue where it was to the exact 1/16th of an inch ? plenty of times if i had an opponent accidently move a ball while shooting i elected to just leave it where it stopped instead of walking up to the table and moving it...especially if i thought it may benefit me. there have been times i just told my opponent to move it back himself.

with the rules being what they are...it would have been beneficial to me to have him move it back to avoid giving him bih on the 4. since i had already benefited from my accidentally moving the 6 , in the name of sportmanship i elected to just shoot from where it rest instead of benefiting twice by him moving it back.
 
bingo...we have a winner.:grin: you are correct in your assumption that the cue ball never made contact with the 6 after i made a legal hit on the 3.

But...

You said, "the 6 makes contact with the 3 knocking it into the right side pocket."

Eagleshot posted the rule that said, "It is a foul if a disturbed ball contacts any other ball."

Whether the cue ball hit the 6 is irrelevant.

Foul, period.
 
I, for one, think any ball touched should be a foul.
It is too big an advantage to give someone who knows how to use it, and it breeds sloppy play among all levels because there is no penalty.

Then with 2's and 3's playing it would be BIH every other shot.
 
But...

You said, "the 6 makes contact with the 3 knocking it into the right side pocket."

Eagleshot posted the rule that said, "It is a foul if a disturbed ball contacts any other ball."

Whether the cue ball hit the 6 is irrelevant.

Foul, period.


He also said he was playing APA, different set of rules.

Eagleshot posted a correct rule for a different body or league.

The 6 ball contacting the CB, or not, is completely relevant under this scenario. And being that there was no contact then no foul, period.
 
How is the APA rule worded? How is it not a foul?

I'm guessing in the APA world it's only a foul if you hit the cueball with another ball you move with your hand not another object ball. I guess to make things "simpler" for the people with 70 IQs that the APA rule writers must think play in the APA. You know, it's too tough to watch TWO balls on the table at once.

Everytime I hear about some odd rule the APA uses it's always "it's an amatuer league with simple rules for simple people" as the reason for that rule.
 
Back
Top