Why pocket a ball when playing safe? (8 ball)

CaptainJR

Shiver me timbers.
Silver Member
I've always thought that there would be no reason to pocket one of your own balls when playing a safe. Why wouldn't you just duck it up. I found a reason, however I don't know if it is allowed.

I break, make a ball and have choice. There are clusters and I determine that I'm not going to be able to run out. Looking at the situation on the table, I do know which set of balls I want. (let's say for this example I'd like to have the striped balls) I need to make a striped ball to make the strips my set. But I really don't want to shoot again afterwards because I see a real good safe to play while making this stripped ball.

Here is the question. Can I play a stripped ball and call safe at the same time when the table is still open and retain the strips as my set?
Below are some rules of 8 ball that seem to apply taken from Planet Pool web site. Nick, I'll be curious to see your response.

Rule #1 below is the rule paragraph that makes me think it might be a legal play. It says "If the shooter pockets balls from both categories in a single legal shot, it remains open until either player pockets a ball or balls from only one category in a single legal shot." This is saying to me that if I call a stripped ball and make it but accidentally bump a solid in on the same shot, the table is still open and I continue to shoot. It also says that the set is determined when you make a legal shot and pocket only a ball or balls of one category. A safe is a legal shot, so in the above situation if I pocket only the stripped ball while calling safe, then I have the strips and it is my opponents turn to shoot.

The other question that this has brought to my attention is this paragraphs insinuation that when the table is open, you don't need to call anything. Or is it just saying that if you accidentally make one of the other set while calling and making your shot, the table is still open?

Rules:
1. The table is always “open” after a legal break, regardless of whether the breaker has pocketed balls from either or both categories on the break shot. The table remains “open” until either player pockets a ball from either category (not both) on a legal shot. If the shooter pockets balls from both categories in a single legal shot, it remains open until either player pockets a ball or balls from only one category in a single legal shot. When the table is open, it is legal to make contact with a solid first to make a stripe or vice-versa. However, when the table is still open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, it is a foul and the table remains open for the incoming player. Any balls pocketed remain pocketed.

2. A player may choose to call a safety and legally pocket one of his/her category of balls and thus discontinue their turn at the table. It is the player’s responsibility to ensure that his/her opponent acknowledges the fact that they have called a safety shot. If not, the opponent may make the shooter play again.
3. The shooter must call a ball and a pocket, except if it is an obvious shot. Bank shots, caroms and combination shots are not considered obvious shots. The opponent has the right to ask the shooter which ball and pocket he/she is playing if they are unsure. When calling the shot, it is not necessary to indicate details such as whether the object ball will kiss off another ball before it enters the pocket, or the number of rails in a bank shot, etc. The 8-ball must be clearly called, whether it is an obvious shot or not. The shooter does not have to call anything on the opening break. If a ball is legally pocketed on the break, the breaker may continue to shoot. It is not a foul to pocket balls that were not called, but the player loses his/her turn at the table if the called ball does not enter the intended pocket—even if other balls from the shooter’s category are pocketed during the shot. Any balls pocketed during a shot remain pocketed, whether they were called or not.

4. For games of call-shot a player may shoot any ball he chooses, but before he shoots, must designate the called ball and called pocket. He need not indicate any detail such as kisses, caroms, combinations, or cushions (all of which are legal). “Any additionally pocketed ball(s) on a legal stroke is counted in the shooter’s favor.”
 
On your question, quote from BCA 8-ball rules:

4.10 CHOICE OF GROUP
The choice of stripes or solids is not determined on the break even if balls are made from only one or both groups, because the table is always open immediately after the break shot. The choice of group is determined only when a player legally pockets a called object ball after the break shot.
 
You don't take ownership of stripes until you sink a called shot on a stripe. Potting a ball on a safe is not a "called shot", it's a "called safe". So if you did this on your first inning I would think that your opponent would still have his choice of balls.

As for the advantage of using this tactic, I find it most useful towards the end of the game. Say your opponent is on the 8-ball but it's your shot. One of your balls is tied up with the 8 and the other is at the opposite end of the table. Rather than taking a difficult attempt at the break up you could just pot your ball, call safe, and leave him downtable so he has to hit the 8 and break up the balls. This often puts you in a good position to win. There are certainly other times the play is applicable also.
 
mjantti said:
On your question, quote from BCA 8-ball rules:

4.10 CHOICE OF GROUP
The choice of stripes or solids is not determined on the break even if balls are made from only one or both groups, because the table is always open immediately after the break shot. The choice of group is determined only when a player legally pockets a called object ball after the break shot.

Thanks mjantti, so much for the 'do you need to call the first ball question'. Now on to the primary question of, can you call the first ball and play a safe at the same time?



NaClBandit said:
You don't take ownership of stripes until you sink a called shot on a stripe. Potting a ball on a safe is not a "called shot", it's a "called safe". So if you did this on your first inning I would think that your opponent would still have his choice of balls.


I don't see anything in the rules saying that you can't call a ball while playing a safe. If there was no game that this is done in than it could be assumed. But this is done in 7 ball where they can call the 7 ball and play the 'one per game' allowed safe on the same shot. Or am I getting confused on this?
 
CaptainJR said:
I don't see anything in the rules saying that you can't call a ball while playing a safe. If there was no game that this is done in than it could be assumed. But this is done in 7 ball where they can call the 7 ball and play the 'one per game' allowed safe on the same shot. Or am I getting confused on this?

But after pocketing a legal called shot you must continue shooting. After you perform a legal safe you do not. So they can't overlap. You must either call a ball or play safe, can't do both.

As far as 7-ball goes, I wouldn't confuse yourself with those rules. It's basically a game made up for TV where you aren't allowed to miss a ball. Calling safe is completely different there; they're two separate animals.
 
CaptainJR said:
Here is the question. Can I play a stripped ball and call safe at the same time when the table is still open and retain the strips as my set? Below are some rules of 8 ball that seem to apply taken from Planet Pool web site. Nick, I'll be curious to see your response.

There is no rule saying that you can not do this, so in this instance it must be legal. I have to add that the rules you got off our Planet Pool Web site (http://www.planet-pool.com) were compiled and written by yours truly, so some of the other responses to your post may throw you off track. We took BCA, APA and TAP league rules, picked what we thought were the best from each, and combined and re-wrote them into our own Planet Pool Rules of 8-Ball.

CaptainJR said:
The other question that this has brought to my attention is this paragraphs insinuation that when the table is open, you don't need to call anything. Or is it just saying that if you accidentally make one of the other set while calling and making your shot, the table is still open?

You still have to call a ball and a pocket, even when the table is open. That is the purpose of call-shot pool--so that you don't just hit the balls with no purpose and see what goes in--in other words, slop.
 
PrinsNick said:
There is no rule saying that you can not do this, so in this instance it must be legal. I have to add that the rules you got off our Planet Pool Web site (http://www.planet-pool.com) were compiled and written by yours truly, so some of the other responses to your post may throw you off track. We took BCA, APA and TAP league rules, picked what we thought were the best from each, and combined and re-wrote them into our own Planet Pool Rules of 8-Ball.



You still have to call a ball and a pocket, even when the table is open. That is the purpose of call-shot pool--so that you don't just hit the balls with no purpose and see what goes in--in other words, slop.

Interesting, I just joined a league and I can think of a couple instances last week where it would have made sense to pocket a ball and call a safety. I'll check with the league to see what they say about it. I've got another question, if the table is open can you hit a solid into a stripe as a combination shot?
 
alstl said:
Interesting, I just joined a league and I can think of a couple instances last week where it would have made sense to pocket a ball and call a safety. I'll check with the league to see what they say about it. I've got another question, if the table is open can you hit a solid into a stripe as a combination shot?

I've played APA and TAP. In the APA, because they don't call pockets, you can't call safe and make a ball. Making the ball would mean you keep shooting.

TAP is call pocket, so calling safe and making a ball is allowed.

As for the open table question, I think both leagues allow you to use the solid/stripe combo option. Also, the 8 is never neutral.
 
alstl said:
I've got another question, if the table is open can you hit a solid into a stripe as a combination shot?


Nomally yes but you had better check on your particular league rules
 
I don't see how you can call a ball & pocket AND play a safe; the two are mutually exclusive! In straight pool when you call safe and pocket the ball it comes out and you don't get a point. And we all know that straight and 8 are cousins.
 
you cannot call safe and pot a ball to choose group with open table. can't find where i read this, but on another forum this question arose and someone contacted the rules committee of BCA or APA and they responded that you cannot call a shot and call safe on the same shot, so calling safe would overrule calling a shot, therefore the shot would not count as a called shot and table would still be open.
 
CaptainJR said:
Here is the question. Can I play a stripped ball and call safe at the same time when the table is still open and retain the strips as my set?
QUOTE]


Lost a game once, because someone pulled this move on me. :( now I know better. According to BCA rules...

4.10 CHOICE OF GROUP
The choice of stripes or solids is not determined on the break even if balls are made from only one or both groups, because the table is always open immediately after the break shot. The choice of group is determined only when a player legally pockets a called object ball after the break shot.

4.16 ILLEGALLY POCKETED BALLS
An object ball is considered to be illegally pocketed when (1) that object ball is pocketed on the same shot a foul is committed, or (2) the called ball did not go in the designated pocket, or (3) a safety is called prior to the shot. Illegally pocketed balls remain pocketed and are scored in favor of the shooter controlling that specific group of balls, solids or stripes.

hope this helps some.
 
Last edited:
It's not written anywhere, but to me calling "safety" is 100% equal to "no call". Word "safety" is just used to express that you are not going to call any ball and want to make that clear.

After reading this, I'm 100% convinced there is no loop-hole in the rules that you could call safety and call a ball at the same shot. It's not written down separately, but so isn't winning your opponent by putting an excessive amount of laxatives in his drink. :)

4.12 “SAFETY” SHOT
For tactical reasons, a player may choose to pocket an obvious object ball and also discontinue a turn at the table by declaring “safety” in advance. A safety shot is defined as a legal shot. If the shooting player intends to play safe by pocketing an obvious object ball, then prior to the shot, the shooter must declare a “safety” to the opponent. It is the shooter’s responsibility to make the opponent aware of the intended safety shot. If this is not done, and one of the shooter’s object balls is pocketed, the shooter will be required to shoot again. Any ball pocketed on a safety shot remains pocketed.
 
Skess said:
I've played APA and TAP. In the APA, because they don't call pockets, you can't call safe and make a ball. Making the ball would mean you keep shooting.

TAP is call pocket, so calling safe and making a ball is allowed.

As for the open table question, I think both leagues allow you to use the solid/stripe combo option. Also, the 8 is never neutral.

This is an in-house league, not affiliated with APA or BCA and it is call shot. I'll post back here when I find out what they say.

Thanks
 
Back
Top