WPA 10ball rule question

predator

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I break the balls, 10 ball drops, but only this one 10 ball, no other balls. It gets spotted immediately.
However, do I get to continue shooting or not? Since the 10 ball got spotted, technically I did not make a ball on the break...

Here's what the rule says about spotting the 10 ball.

9.9 Spotting Balls
If the ten ball is pocketed on a foul a push out or during the break shot, or without calling it, or
accidentally in the wrong pocket, or driven off the table, it is spotted. (See 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other
object ball is ever spotted.
 
I break the balls, 10 ball drops, but only this one 10 ball, no other balls. It gets spotted immediately.
However, do I get to continue shooting or not? Since the 10 ball got spotted, technically I did not make a ball on the break...

Here's what the rule says about spotting the 10 ball.

9.9 Spotting Balls
If the ten ball is pocketed on a foul a push out or during the break shot, or without calling it, or
accidentally in the wrong pocket, or driven off the table, it is spotted. (See 1.4 Spotting Balls.) No other
object ball is ever spotted.

As TheMarsMan has already said.....yes you of course are entitled to continue to shoot after it's spotted.

Since you've quoted a related rule maybe it's useful to also point you towards the correct part of the rules which actually covers this so that you can if necesary show it to anyone who disagrees with you.

In the very first opening paragraph of the 10 ball rules ie under No 9 you will find the following very clear description.......

..."If the ten ball is pocketed on a legal break shot, it will be spotted and the player continues with his inning"
 
Back
Top