You snooze you loose

Pushout said:
And, it's "If you sooze, you lose.", not loose.

Highlight for even more fun!

I soozed, so I loose. I'm a Soozer!!
 

Attachments

  • cutting soozer.jpg
    cutting soozer.jpg
    70.6 KB · Views: 185
Last edited:
Low Blow Ray

Bigtruck said:
I thought that too!

Carlos..........Please clarify! What did Dennis rule? I hardly slept last night thinking about Dennis' unfair call.

I had a nightmare that Steve Tobias told me that I lose, no matter what anyone said! LOL.

Ray
(pic says it all)

Ray, I can't believe you would dream that way about me.:rolleyes: I am fairer than fair.

Had I been there in an official capacity, I would have said "You both know what the correct score is and the fact he didn't move his coin right away has no bearing on the outcome.

I've only run across that at the local tournaments ($5 or $10), like the one you won Friday or Saturday night. Wait a minute.....you didn't use that trick to cash, did you Ray? :shakehead:

All the tourneys I do have score sheets
 
bigtruck, you sick bastard!

Bigtruck said:
Highlight for even more fun!

I soozed, so I loose. I'm a Soozer!!

I just wasted half my beer on that one! LOL!

Where do you find these things? This is the best one ever!

And it ought to say " If you OOZE, you lose", because of the blood donation.

Thanks, man. The guys in the pool hall will be laughing over this one tonight!
 
jokes on you

Tom In Cincy said:
Do AZ players seem to 'standout' among other players from around the country?
It just happened to be an Ohioan named Leil Gay. Know before you speak.
 
You have to be kidding.. .Leil said 'you snooze you lose'?

Are you sure? And if it was indeed Liel Gay, I wouldn't be surprized. He is very old school.

and about your comment "Know before you speak"... I still think AZ players and posters 'standout' when compared to other players from around the country. How you take that is your perception.

DRW said:
It just happened to be an Ohioan named Leil Gay. Know before you speak.
 
Last edited:
i agree

back2good1 said:
Perhaps I am naive... but having someone say... "Yes, you won two games and I have won 1... but the score is still 1-1 because you forgot to move your coin. that is crazy.

I often see people claim they think the score is 1-1... but I never have seen someone say they knew their opponent won twice but they do not get credit because "if you snooze you loose".

-Carlos

there is a match(7 ball,i think) on espn between bustamante and luc salvas.salvas is running out, get's on the seven and does not call the pocket,but it's obvious.he sinks it and bustamante cries foul.i know it's the rules but it wasn't like he lucked it in and cheated him.that has never sat well with me.
 
Last edited:
havoc said:
there is a match(7 ball,i think) on espn between bustamante and the canadian guy that plays fast,can't remember his name.the canadian is running out get's on the seven and does not call the pocket,but it's obvious.he sinks it and bustamante cries foul.i know it's the rules but it wasn't like he lucked it in and cheated him.that has never sat well with me.

That is different... but I agree. I used to play in a VNEA league and we had to mark the 8 ball pocket as well. I cannot tell you how many games we gave up because we would forget to put the marker by the pocket we were shooting at. And if you *reminded* (coached) your teamate... it was a foul.
 
back2good1 said:
Something I could not believe came up this weekend at the AZ One Pocket State Championship.

Two good players were in a match (race to 3) They were a few minutes into game #4 when player "A" realized he forgot to move his coin to reflect his 2-1 lead. When he went to move it his opponent says... "No, you cant move it now... if you snooze you loose - the score is still 1-1 since you forgot to move the coin"

WTF??? I do not understand why someone would say that. If you know your opponent is ahead... they are ahead... it does not matter if they forgot to move the coin.

What was even more odd to me was when they were approached the tournament director (nice decision Dennis) he still insisted that the rule is "if you snooze you loose".

I call BS!

-Carlos

This is NOT entirely correct. I was there, and I was consulted as well. Both Dennis and myself quickly agreed that if you win 3 games, you win the set. Also, there is no rule that says there even has to be coins on the table, so saying "you forgot to move your coin so you don't get credit for that game" is absurd.

Tom In Cincy said:
Do AZ players seem to 'standout' among other players from around the country?

Would you care to explain that comment? Do I know you? Have we ever played? Have you ever matched up with ANY of the players in AZ? In what way do we "stand out"? If you're going to indiscriminately insult every player in the state of Arizona, at least explain yourself.
 
unless they were a complete sucker, anybody who ever tried this on me i would just pack my stuff up and say see ya later (perhaps after the set). ive personally had it with this type of ridiculous aggrivation. these arent the kind of idiots and dirtbags i would want to be playing.
 
Last edited:
Jimmy M. said:
This is NOT entirely correct.

Would you care to explain that comment? Do I know you? Have we ever played? Have you ever matched up with ANY of the players in AZ? In what way do we "stand out"? If you're going to indiscriminately insult every player in the state of Arizona, at least explain yourself.

could he be referring to az billiards and not arizona? forgive me if i have no idea what im talking about, i just got here :)
 
One........

enzo said:
unless they were a complete sucker, anybody who ever tried this on me i would just pack my stuff up and say see ya later (perhaps after the set). these arent the kind of idiots and dirtbags i would want to be playing.


There's always one or two loosers in the tournament that have a really good day and try to throw the book at someone.

It's simple. Play fair and play a gentleman's game. There will never be a thread about your antics.;)

Ray
(not a loser) IMO
 
THIS IS THE CALL THAT I MADE!

I was approached by Tom Neil, a player from Tucson, who stated that he and Leil Gay had a situation during their match. Basically, the score was 1-1 and Tom won the third game. Tom forgot to move his coin to 2 before the next game started.

After realizing this, he advised Leil that the true score was 2-1. Leil disagreed and stated that Tom forgot to move his coin. That is when Tom notified me of the disagreement. I was watching Jimmy's match, and i explained to him what happened. We both agreed that if it is 2-1, then it is 2-1, regardless of where the coins are on the table.

In fairness to both players, i stopped their match and pulled them aside. They both began arguing with each other and i immediately stopped them, so as not to disturb the other players.

First I asked Tom what happened, then i asked Leil what happened. Both gave the same account that it was 2-1; however, Leil claimed that Tom forgot to move his coin, therefore, it was still 1-1.

I explained to both of them that there is no requirement to keep the score with coins. If both players agreed that the score was 2-1, then the score is 2-1. I explained that this an honest tour and that we DO NOT tolerate dishonesty. I again said "THE SCORE IS 2-1"!!!

Scott Frost was not consulted for an answer to this scenario before i made the decision. After i made the decision, i mentioned it to Scott, as Leil approached, and Scott agreed that I had made the right decision as well. I don't know where someone got the idea that Scott made this decision. IT DIDN"T HAPPEN!!!!

It's amazes me how quick some people are to criticize others when they don't even have the facts right. I will gladly take an apology to all of those who criticized me in this thread, particularly those who said I should not be running tournaments, and those who make comments about "Arizona players". Jimmy and I run a successful tour here in Arizona, and it is an honest tour.

Have a nice day!

Dennis
 
Last edited:
Tom In Cincy said:
You have to be kidding.. .Leil said 'you snooze you lose'?

Are you sure? And if it was indeed Liel Gay, I wouldn't be surprized. He is very old school.

and about your comment "Know before you speak"... I still think AZ players and posters 'standout' when compared to other players from around the country. How you take that is your perception.


Tom,

Are you from Ohio? If so, i have a response to your post, as i am from Ohio as well!

Dennis
 
Good post Dennis.

If others had expressed themselves as clearly in this thread it's unlikely that those guys who criticised you would have done so.

The handling of this incident appears to have been logical, fair and last but not least, diplomatic.

There are venues and events in various parts of the world where any player trying to pull such an obnoxious stunt would have been very publicly ridiculed and shamed or immediately given a slap :smile: :p
 
Last edited:
You are correct. I don't understand why this thread was even started. I will address that privately, and not here.

As far as the decision, I just wanted to hear both sides before any decision was made. To me, that was the fair thing to do. After listening to both sides, it was a pretty simple decision to make.

There were a few posters who know me personally. I'm not dishonest and i certainly wouldn't tolerate dishonesty on the tour. They could have guessed what my decision would have been as well. The original poster obviously does not know me well enough.

Thanks Mike.

Dennis
 
back2good1 said:
Something I could not believe came up this weekend at the AZ One Pocket State Championship.

Two good players were in a match (race to 3) They were a few minutes into game #4 when player "A" realized he forgot to move his coin to reflect his 2-1 lead. When he went to move it his opponent says... "No, you cant move it now... if you snooze you loose - the score is still 1-1 since you forgot to move the coin"

WTF??? I do not understand why someone would say that. If you know your opponent is ahead... they are ahead... it does not matter if they forgot to move the coin.

What was even more odd to me was when they were approached the tournament director (nice decision Dennis) he still insisted that the rule is "if you snooze you loose".

I call BS!

-Carlos

Now that i read this closer, i believe Carlos was referring to he (the player) still insisting that the rule is "if you snooze you lose", not myself (the tournament director).

I hope i am reading it correctly now.

Dennis
 
Back
Top