Scratch on opening break?

alphadog

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I executed a standard break only to scratch 3 rails in side.
What is the penalty? I believe it is a 2pt. penalty with incoming
player having the option to accept the table, or have me re-break.
My opponent, a good player with experience,believed it was only
a simple foul.
Bob;thanks in advance,and I did read the rules on this as I have the
link [thanks to you!] .:D
 
I executed a standard break only to scratch 3 rails in side.
What is the penalty? I believe it is a 2pt. penalty with incoming
player having the option to accept the table, or have me re-break.
My opponent, a good player with experience,believed it was only
a simple foul.
Bob;thanks in advance,and I did read the rules on this as I have the
link [thanks to you!] .:D


It's only a simple foul as long as two object balls contacted a rail. No option to incoming player, cue ball in hand behind the head string.
 
If two or more object balls were driven to a rail (in addition to the cue ball), it is a legal opening break but a one-point foul for scratching, and your opponent has cue ball in hand behind the head string. Spot any object balls that were pocketed, and the other object balls remain in position.

If fewer than two object balls were driven to a rail, it is a two-point breaking foul and your opponent may either take cue ball in hand behind the head string (accepting the object balls in position) or require you to play another opening break shot (with the object balls re-racked).

2:03 (EST) Edit -- Sorry Marop, I see you posted while I was typing.
 
Last edited:
I executed a standard break only to scratch 3 rails in side. ... Bob;thanks in advance,and I did read the rules on this as I have the
link [thanks to you!] .:D
Ah, but what if you get two balls to cushions, but the cue ball goes straight into the corner pocket without hitting a cushion? One point or two?:groucho:
 
Ah, but what if you get two balls to cushions, but the cue ball goes straight into the corner pocket without hitting a cushion? One point or two?:groucho:

One point.

8.4 Driven to a Rail
... A ball that is pocketed or driven off the table is also considered to have been driven to a rail. ...
 
Good to know... we played ours wrong! I should have had one more point in that match! :p
 
Back
Top