Question!!!

Black Cat 5791

I get all the Breaks
Silver Member
If the object ball breaks the plane of the rail, but stops short of falling in the pocket and no other ball hit a rail is it a ball in hand foul?

Break out the rule books on this one and research deep.

Let me know.

Black Cat :cool:
 
I say yes if the ball never hit any part of the pocket, assuming the game being played has ball in hand as the penalty for a foul. In 14.1 the penalty is one point and in one pocket the penalty is a ball. The rules are pretty clear, a ball must catch a rail after contact.
 
Last edited:
It is a foul. A ball must hit a rail or be pocketed after the OB is hit.

But a ball can hit the bottom of the pocket and rebound to the playing surface again and even though it never hit a rail either on the way in or the way out, it is not a foul.
 
Yup it's a foul crappy way to give BIH


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Foul under BCAPL or WSR

It is a foul in BCAPL play. The situation is explicitly covered by BCAPL Applied Ruling 1.19 Situation 3.

Under WSR, you need dig no deeper than the definition of "rail" under WSR 8.1, which does not include breaking the plane of the cushion nose. Since a ball pocketed or rail contact is required for a legal shot, it is a foul.

:)
Buddy Eick
BCAPL National Head Referee
BCAPL Director of Referee Training
Technical Editor, BCAPL Rule Book
bcapl_referee@cox.net

Find the Official Rules of the BCA Pool League here:

http://www.playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook/tabid/372/Default.aspx

* Unless specifically stated, the contents of this post refer to BCA Pool League (BCAPL) Rules only. The BCAPL National Office has authorized me to act in an official capacity regarding questions about BCAPL Rules matters in public forums.
* Unless specifically stated, no reference to, inference concerning, or comment on any other set of rules (WPA, APA, VNEA, TAP, or any other set of rules, public or private) is intended or should be derived from this post.
* Neither I, nor any BCAPL referee, make any policy decisions regarding BCAPL Rules. Any and all decisions, interpretations, or Applied Rulings are made by the BCAPL National Office and are solely their responsibility. BCAPL referees are enforcers of rules, not legislators. BCAPL Rules 9.5.3 and 9.5.4 and the BCAPL Rules "Statement of Principles" apply.
* For General Rules, 8-Ball, 9-Ball, 10-Ball, and 14.1 Continuous: there is no such thing as "BCA Rules" other than in the sense that the Billiard Congress of America (BCA) publishes various rules, including the World Pool-Billiard Association's "World Standardized Rules" for those games. The BCA has no rules committee. The BCA does not edit, nor is responsible for the content of, the World Standardized Rules. The Official Rules of the BCAPL is a separate and independent set of rules and, to avoid confusion, should not be referred to as "BCA Rules".
* Since 2004, there is no such thing as a "BCA Referee". The BCA no longer has any program to train, certify or sanction billiards referees or officials. The BCAPL maintains what we consider to be the most structured, complete and intensive referee training program available.
* The BCAPL has no association with the Billiard Congress of America other than in their capacity as a member of the BCA. The letters "BCA" in BCAPL do not stand for "Billiard Congress of America, nor for anything at all.
* The BCAPL has not addressed every imaginable rules issue, nor will it ever likely be able to, as evidenced by the seemingly endless situations that people dream up or that (more frequently) actually happen. If I do not have the answer to a question I will tell you so, then I will get a ruling from the BCAPL National Office and get back to you as soon as I can. If deemed necessary, the BCAPL will then add the ruling to the "Applied Rulings" section of The Official Rules of the BCA Pool League.
* All BCAPL members are, as always, encouraged to e-mail Bill Stock at the BCAPL National Office, bill@playcsi.com, with any comments, concerns or suggestions about the BCAPL rules.
 
If the object ball breaks the plane of the rail, but stops short of falling in the pocket and no other ball hit a rail is it a ball in hand foul?

Break out the rule books on this one and research deep.

Let me know.

Black Cat :cool:
Related to which, if you have a straight-in and jack up and shoot hard and the ball hits the back of the pocket liner, jumps up in the air and lands back on the table, you have made rail contact even though no cushion was contacted.
 
Great point!

Related to which, if you have a straight-in and jack up and shoot hard and the ball hits the back of the pocket liner, jumps up in the air and lands back on the table, you have made rail contact even though no cushion was contacted.

Your point reminded of a great shot made by a legendary player in a Milwaukee 1-hole match many years ago. His opponent had match ball in his own pocket's jaws. The shooter slammed the ball into the back of the pocket and it jumped back over the cue ball (which had stopped dead) and stayed on the table!

Donny L
BCA/ACS Instructor
Gainesville, Fl
 
Back
Top