9-Ball question

Madison

Registered
If at a point in a 9-Ball game where you can not "push", what are the options/rules if I do not have any possible shot at the lowest numbered ball on the table? Can I play the cue ball into three rails as a legal shot? I didn't see this addressed specifically in the rules. Thanks.
 
If at a point in a 9-Ball game where you can not "push", what are the options/rules if I do not have any possible shot at the lowest numbered ball on the table? Can I play the cue ball into three rails as a legal shot? I didn't see this addressed specifically in the rules. Thanks.

You have to hit the lowest numbered ball or it's a foul. You can kick at the ball, try a jump, or just take a foul and give up ball in hand. You can hit as many rails as you want, unless you hit the lowest ball on the table, it's a foul.

That is in the rules. You need to hit the ball, and have it either go in or have either the cueball or the object ball contact a rail after contact to count as a legal hit.

Sounds like you heard about this hit some rails rule from someone who does not know the rules. I've seen people talk about it when playing, but it's not a real rule.
 
If at a point in a 9-Ball game where you can not "push", what are the options/rules if I do not have any possible shot at the lowest numbered ball on the table? Can I play the cue ball into three rails as a legal shot? I didn't see this addressed specifically in the rules. Thanks.

What Rules are you reading?

randyg
 
You have to hit the lowest numbered ball or it's a foul. You can kick at the ball, try a jump, or just take a foul and give up ball in hand. You can hit as many rails as you want, unless you hit the lowest ball on the table, it's a foul.

That is in the rules. You need to hit the ball, and have it either go in or have either the cueball or the object ball contact a rail after contact to count as a legal hit.

Sounds like you heard about this hit some rails rule from someone who does not know the rules. I've seen people talk about it when playing, but it's not a real rule.


dont forget got to contact a rail after with either the CB or OB, cant roll up on it.:) or did you just say that, i'm sick right nw with the worst cold ever and mite possible have od'ed on cold medicine
 
If you can't get to the lowest number ball on the table directly, you have to do it indirectly. This can involve kicking to any number of rails.

If you want to get an idea of table patterns available with three standard shots (12:00, 10:30, 1:30) check out the Table Map Library.

1. Click inside the small Table on the left to place the cue ball.
2. Use the left and right Navigation buttons (or click on the table edge) to see the different patterns.

If you see something you want to print out for the practice table, right click in the main panel, select "Print Preview", and then "Only the selected frame".

Have fun with it.
 
dont forget got to contact a rail after with either the CB or OB, cant roll up on it.:) or did you just say that, i'm sick right nw with the worst cold ever and mite possible have od'ed on cold medicine

Yep, let me point you a bit due to your dis-orientation.

Second line starting with the 12th word :p;)
 
... Can I play the cue ball into three rails as a legal shot? ...
The only cases in pool I know of where three or more rails are explicitly mentioned is in an out-of-date BCA rule book which explained last pocket eight ball and in bank pool for DCC ring games in which 3-rail kicks are permitted. In both cases allowing three rail kicks makes some shot available.

In the case of nine ball, on each shot you either foul or you don't. The fouls are listed here: http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play If you foul, you give up ball in hand.
 
That is in the rules. You need to hit the ball, and have it either go in or have either the cueball or the object ball contact a rail after contact to count as a legal hit.

I think any ball can contact a cushion after the hit for it to be legal.
 
If at a point in a 9-Ball game where you can not "push", what are the options/rules if I do not have any possible shot at the lowest numbered ball on the table? Can I play the cue ball into three rails as a legal shot? I didn't see this addressed specifically in the rules. Thanks.

It's not addressed in the rules because you can contact any number of rails you want; no minimum and no maximum.

If the object ball is clustered up with other balls, you might even decide not to shoot at it. If it's impossible to get the CB in there, why break up the cluster for your opponent? I like to drill the CB into a pocket and give the guy BIH. Chances are it will result in a safety battle that I'll win (since he had to disrupt the cluster first). Other more experienced players might disagree with this strategy, in which case I'd like to get their advice.
 
It is a foul if u don't hit the lowest numbered ball , and a rail after contact

But sometimes you can turn a foul into a positive

If u can't hit ur ball

Perhaps create an intentional cluster with the purpose of an intentional foul

Hoping to make a run out less likely
 
UPA Rules state: "The cue ball must strike the lowest numbered ball first for a legal hit to occur." I interpreted that to mean "must strike the lowest numbered ball first BEFORE STRIKING ANY OTHER BALL for a legal hit to occur. I see about fifteen fouls listed (e.g., Bad Hit/wrong ball first, scratch, double hit...) and all the ball fouls address something specific like hitting a legal ball, hitting an illegal ball, ball going off the table, hitting a rail after hitting a ball...but didn't see "Not Striking Any Ball" listed as a foul so that's why I was asking about this. I was thinking that if the cue ball did not hit an object ball, then does that mean that a hit (legal or illegal) didn't occur? Anyway, the "not hitting any ball" wasn't clear to me - and I think I over-thunk it! Based on the great responses I get it now. Thanks to everyone that responded.
 
UPA Rules state: "The cue ball must strike the lowest numbered ball first for a legal hit to occur." I interpreted that to mean "must strike the lowest numbered ball first BEFORE STRIKING ANY OTHER BALL for a legal hit to occur. I see about fifteen fouls listed (e.g., Bad Hit/wrong ball first, scratch, double hit...) and all the ball fouls address something specific like hitting a legal ball, hitting an illegal ball, ball going off the table, hitting a rail after hitting a ball...but didn't see "Not Striking Any Ball" listed as a foul so that's why I was asking about this. I was thinking that if the cue ball did not hit an object ball, then does that mean that a hit (legal or illegal) didn't occur? Anyway, the "not hitting any ball" wasn't clear to me - and I think I over-thunk it! Based on the great responses I get it now. Thanks to everyone that responded.
I'm not sure what you mean by "UPA Rules". I thought the UPA went out of business when the ABP started. But I could be confused. When the UPA (pro organization recognized briefly by the BCA) was in business, I think it was required to use the World Standardized Rules.

The "official" rules of pool are at the link above. Here is the section about the foul you are concerned about:

6.3 No Rail after Contact
If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul. (See 8.4 Driven to a Rail.)

Does this make it clearer? You may want to throw away whatever set of rules you were looking at.
 
bdorman;4190201 If the object ball is clustered up with other balls said:
If your playing three fouls rule, your on the first foul, I'd give you bih right back. This is a somewhat common situation in 14.1, using intentional fouls.
 
Thanks Bob. I was looking at a UPA 2013 9-ball rules PDF that I came across online. I'm new to billiards (and just started playing 9-ball last night) so could have been reviewing bad information and not know it. I understand the rail after contact rule. I was inquiring about a rule or foul that addresses the scenario when no ball is contacted by the cue ball once the cue ball is hit (e.g., you just miss hitting the object ball and the cue ball doesn't make contact with any other balls, or you are in a position where it is impossible to hit the object ball but still make a shot that does not hit any other balls on the table). I haven't found anything on that, but based on every response I have seen it is a foul. Let me know if you what rule that is. Thanks.
 
Thanks Bob. I was looking at a UPA 2013 9-ball rules PDF that I came across online. I'm new to billiards (and just started playing 9-ball last night) so could have been reviewing bad information and not know it. I understand the rail after contact rule. I was inquiring about a rule or foul that addresses the scenario when no ball is contacted by the cue ball once the cue ball is hit (e.g., you just miss hitting the object ball and the cue ball doesn't make contact with any other balls, or you are in a position where it is impossible to hit the object ball but still make a shot that does not hit any other balls on the table). I haven't found anything on that, but based on every response I have seen it is a foul. Let me know if you what rule that is. Thanks.
I think I quoted the applicable rule above. Does that not make it clear that you must contact a ball and then some ball -- cue ball or object ball -- must go to a cushion or the shot is a foul?
 
If your playing three fouls rule, your on the first foul, I'd give you bih right back. This is a somewhat common situation in 14.1, using intentional fouls.

In most cases I'd rather go into a safety battle with one of us having BIH instead of taking a wild shot at a clustered object ball. The wild shot runs the risk of breaking up the cluster and giving you BIH in the bargain.

Instead of driving the CB into a pocket, I could tie up other object balls but since we've already got a cluster that's probably not necessary.
 
I don't think rule 6.3 addresses the scenario I described. Rule 6.3 No Rail AFTER CONTACT, to me, means that after the cue ball contacts the object ball, either the cue ball or object ball must hit the rail - if I am misinterpreting that please explain. I am asking about when there is NO CONTACT. Where is the stated that if the cue ball does not contact any ball (object ball, wrong ball) it is a foul. Or are you saying that the rule 6.3 implies that if the cue ball does not make contact with the object ball it cannot hit a rail after contact - because there was no contact - therefore the No Rail After Contact kicks in? (And no, I'm not a recovering lawyer!)
 
I don't think rule 6.3 addresses the scenario I described. Rule 6.3 No Rail AFTER CONTACT, to me, means that after the cue ball contacts the object ball, either the cue ball or object ball must hit the rail - if I am misinterpreting that please explain. I am asking about when there is NO CONTACT. Where is the stated that if the cue ball does not contact any ball (object ball, wrong ball) it is a foul. Or are you saying that the rule 6.3 implies that if the cue ball does not make contact with the object ball it cannot hit a rail after contact - because there was no contact - therefore the No Rail After Contact kicks in? (And no, I'm not a recovering lawyer!)

6.3 No Rail after Contact
If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul. (See 8.4 Driven to a Rail.)
 
In most cases I'd rather go into a safety battle with one of us having BIH instead of taking a wild shot at a clustered object ball. The wild shot runs the risk of breaking up the cluster and giving you BIH in the bargain.

Instead of driving the CB into a pocket, I could tie up other object balls but since we've already got a cluster that's probably not necessary.

Here's the thing, whoever is on the first foul is at a big disadvantage. The second shooter can always give the bih right back, that is he doesn't have to shoot to break the cluster or hit the correct ball. This is only if you are playing three consecutive fouls loses. Most nine ball is played that way.
 
6.3 No Rail after Contact
If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul. (See 8.4 Driven to a Rail.)
That's the clarification I was looking for. Thanks!
 
Back
Top