Jayson Shaw victim or defeated foe

Mika posted a video of himself on FB with a upper-body nude shot for the ladies. He is kind of easy on the eyes. :cool:

I don't even remember what he was talking about. :embarrassed2:

Then I'm glad I missed that.
 
No, she meant the 6 time world champion who just spanked a guy half his age. LOL

Oh, THAT guy! Heck, yeah!

All these people who think these young guns got what it takes, but they can't even touch Earl's record. And they probably never will! :cool:
 
Tha tha thats all folks,
Nick :)

I do remember Efren not calling 2 9balls and loosing the games for not calling the pocket. His opponent refused the game. Had to take the win though. They were not nits you see.
Good post. Exactly. Good sportmanship first. Don't try to win on something stupid. Win with your cue in hand. Not hoping your opponent makes a mental error. Even though it doesn't always come my way. I never take away from my opponent when what they are trying to do is obvious and what they say doesnt. Like calling the blue ball by the wrong number.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
 
Better go back and find my previous posts. Earl should've been disqualified in this match an hour before this shot.

I've read the thread and that's a non-sequitur. Whether Earl should have been disqualified in the past is irrelevant to a subsequent ruling. You can agree with an earlier call but disagree with a later one, and vice-versa.
 
I think it would be pretty cool of Earl was on Team USA and Jayson was on Team Europe at the upcoming Mosconi Cup. Can you imagine the fireworks? Ooh la la! :grin:
 
Reverse the situation. Who thinks Earl would have called that on Jayson?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
 
It's not up to the players to call a bad shot, a foul, or whatever you want to call it. It is the referee's job to do that. I blame the referee, not Earl and not Jayson.
 
What if Earl spent 2 minutes staring at the 10 ball. Got down, shot and made the 10 but did not call anything. Thinking to himself it's not a bank, carom or combo. Seems obvious to himself. Would there have been an argument?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
 

Attachments

  • Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg
    35.1 KB · Views: 354
2 or 10

i think Earl intended to shoot the 10 ball for sure and NOT the 2 ball.

He was cutting the 10 to the left corner pocket and I think got confused in the moment because of the "blue" color of 10 ball and thought it was the 2 ball. So, he called 2 ball and shot it in.

I believe he had the intention of shooting 10 ball but made a silly error in the heat of the moment thinking that it was the 2 ball. You can clearly see in the video that he was determined to shoot the 10.
 
i think Earl intended to shoot the 10 ball for sure and NOT the 2 ball.

He was cutting the 10 to the left corner pocket and I think got confused in the moment because of the "blue" color of 10 ball and thought it was the 2 ball. So, he called 2 ball and shot it in.

I believe he had the intention of shooting 10 ball but made a silly error in the heat of the moment thinking that it was the 2 ball. You can clearly see in the video that he was determined to shoot the 10.

Absolutely, no question. It was a verbal misstatement, that's for sure. Jayson knew that's what happened too. I think if you're a tournament ref you give it to Earl as making an obvious shot, and ignore the verbal mistake, but I could see going the other way. All the drama here is because it's Earl, but really that's irrelevant to the call on this one shot.
 
Ok, so let me ask you this. If he misses the 10 in the corner and by a fluke caroms the two in, I guarantee you he is awarded it because he called the 2. And I'll bet Earl would at that point, argue he called the 2. Do you take that away because "it was obvious he was shooting the 10"? Nope. The 2 would have been potted, and he would have called it
 
I agree with JAM here, and want everybody to read this...

It's not a world championship. If it were, it would either be an invitational event, or you'd have to win your way in via a qualifier. When there really was a 14.1 world championship, there were refs on every table, on every shot. Whether the player announced the shot, or not, the ref was responsible for verbally announcing the shot to the audience BEFORE the player shot. Definitely not the case in Charlie Williams 14.1 events.

Scott Lee
http://poolknowledge.com

It's not up to the players to call a bad shot, a foul, or whatever you want to call it. It is the referee's job to do that. I blame the referee, not Earl and not Jayson.
 
How about if he makes them both? There would be no controversy whatsoever, as the called shot was made. The other ball is a bonus.

Scott Lee
http://poolknowledge.com

Ok, so let me ask you this. If he misses the 10 in the corner and by a fluke caroms the two in, I guarantee you he is awarded it because he called the 2. And I'll bet Earl would at that point, argue he called the 2. Do you take that away because "it was obvious he was shooting the 10"? Nope. The 2 would have been potted, and he would have called it
 
Its so funny to see people saying how they would of asked Earl for clarification or just given him the shot because they knew what he meant.
My bet is none of them have had to spend a week around Earl or play him in semi final match.


Why is this "funny"? I dont think anyone is suggesting this would be "easy" or not have some consequences (ie; Earl going bonkers), but it is an accepted thing to do in 14.1 - to me at least.

While I haven't spent a week around him, I've deff spent some time around Earl and yeah, it certainly wouldn't be easy, especially in a semi-final.

(I actually did this in one of my recent 14.1 league play off matches and then had it happen to me in the next round - we worked it out in both situations)
 
Back
Top