From beginner to APA4

Texas Carom Club

9ball did to billiards what hiphop did to america
Silver Member
ask here justin

CGM

It'd be a lot cooler if you did.
Silver Member
Bare minimum it should take you between 15-20 years to go from absolute beginner to an APA SL4. Once you get there buy yourself a beer because you will have officially arrived.

Bob Jewett

AZB Osmium Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Silver Member
How much time for you to become APA4 when you begin to work hard ?
Thanks to share
It depends on your aptitude and your work ethic.

A player who lived in this area for a while started to play pool when he was 16. Within six months he had run 7 racks in a row (100 points of straight pool) without a miss. That would put him at APA 10, if there was a 10.

On the other hand, you can look around at a lot of teams and there are 3s who will probably never make it to 4 and have been playing for 20 years.

I would say that I was at APA 4 level in less than a year after I started to play. I think that's a reasonable goal for anyone who is willing to put in the time and has some aptitude for the game. I think you will also need to get some decent instruction.

lorider

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
APA started me as a 4.
I thought it was a national rule but apparently not as i have read a few posts where men have started as a 3.

In our area all men start as a 4 in both 8 and 9 ball and all women start as a 3 in both.

The_JV

'AZB_Combat Certified'
If your leagues gene pool is filled with nothing but SL2 players, you could end up being a SL7 by the end of the session. APA handicapping is relative to who you play against, so you could be a horrible player but if your opponents are at least a little more horrible then you can expect to become a SL4 in very short order. Of course the inverse is just as possible, so if your area is populated with nothing but monster sharks then you may never get off the bottom floor.