More chalk talk

Mensabum

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Though I’m sure I’ll have 50 people tell me how dumb what I’m about to say is, I’m gonna say it anyway…

Bear with me a moment here.

I’m a pretty solid player. I don’t play as well as I used to by any stretch and probably never will. But at one point in my life I played for a living. No, I didn’t play pro events. I was an action guy. I spent thousands of hours playing some pretty high stress pool matches for many years.

I’m from the southeast and where I’m from it’s humid all the time. Barely ever get a day off from humidity.

I say all that to say this… I don’t remember balls skidding like hardly ever. Yeah here or there on certain angles. But I mean I spent 12 hours a day or more in the pool room both in action myself and betting on others and I’m telling you it happened so rarely it wasn’t much of a thought.

We exclusively used Master chalk and the balls weren’t exactly clean all the time either. We didn’t clean the cue ball on a towel or our pants legs between games or when we got ball in hand or anything like that. And oh btw the pool room I spent most of my time cutting my teeth in had visits from just about every name you can think of. Not a single one of them would ever go out of their way to clean the cueball excessively like everyone seems to do now.

What I’m saying is, maybe just maybe these new chalks actually CAUSE SKIDS. Or perhaps it’s the balls that have changed drastically in some imperceptible way. Or perhaps a little “grease” from our hands is actually a good thing.

Just food for thought.