I saw an interesting debate on Facebook last night regarding a one pocket situation that came up at the end of the recent Sky vs Fedor one-pocket match. Apparently Fedor accidentally fouled, called a foul on himself, and spotted a ball. Sky was then left with a straight in shot at the spotted ball to win the match, which he made.
The debate was whether or not Fedor was allowed to call the foul on himself. In this specific situation, the foul clearly benefitted Sky, so there was no issue. However, what if there was already a ball on the spot and the newly spotted ball created a cluster which benefitted Fedor? Would this be allowed?
Some people were saying that in one-pocket the shooter isn't allowed to call a foul on himself. And if he does, the opponent has the option to accept the foul or not.
I've never considered this situation before and I'm curious what the official rules say or how this is typically handled. Let me know what you guys think.
The debate was whether or not Fedor was allowed to call the foul on himself. In this specific situation, the foul clearly benefitted Sky, so there was no issue. However, what if there was already a ball on the spot and the newly spotted ball created a cluster which benefitted Fedor? Would this be allowed?
Some people were saying that in one-pocket the shooter isn't allowed to call a foul on himself. And if he does, the opponent has the option to accept the foul or not.
I've never considered this situation before and I'm curious what the official rules say or how this is typically handled. Let me know what you guys think.