Go Back   AzBilliards.com > Main Category > Main Forum
Reload this Page Diamond Lights
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2
 
Share Thread Tools Rate Thread
Diamond Lights
Old
  (#1)
Tin Man
AzB Silver Member

Tin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,090
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
   
Diamond Lights - 09-21-2018, 12:33 PM

I'm getting a 9' Diamond Pro Am next Friday, super excited. I'm also getting the lights.

The installer said he could hang the lights but couldn't wire them. I didn't realize they weren't plug and play. Do I need to hire an electrician to wire them? How complicated are they? Any suggestions?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
Black-Balled
He Rides the Skies
Black-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond repute
 
Black-Balled's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 40,298
vCash: 1200
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: This Toilet Earth
  Send a message via AIM to Black-Balled  
09-21-2018, 12:36 PM

You decide for yourself...ever changed a hard wired fixture?

Not difficult, but a mistake can be costly by many measures.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Tin Man
AzB Silver Member

Tin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond reputeTin Man has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 1,090
vCash: 500
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
   
09-21-2018, 12:47 PM

That answers my questions. I don't want to mess with it. Just wasn't sure how big of a project it was.

Are there instructions online? I couldn't find them. If someone has a link that would be great. Thanks!
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
MOJOE
Work Hard, Be Humble. jbk
MOJOE has a reputation beyond reputeMOJOE has a reputation beyond reputeMOJOE has a reputation beyond reputeMOJOE has a reputation beyond reputeMOJOE has a reputation beyond reputeMOJOE has a reputation beyond reputeMOJOE has a reputation beyond reputeMOJOE has a reputation beyond reputeMOJOE has a reputation beyond reputeMOJOE has a reputation beyond reputeMOJOE has a reputation beyond repute
 
MOJOE's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,265
vCash: 325
iTrader: 50 / 100%
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SW Ohio
  Send a message via AIM to MOJOE Send a message via Yahoo to MOJOE  
09-21-2018, 01:00 PM

I put an outlet in my ceiling when I remodeled it, attached to a wall switch. Just had a plug put on the Diamond light, voila! Had my light attached flush to the ceiling, it's a thing of beauty.

https://photos.google.com/share/AF1Q...Q0Szl2VnR2WUlR

Last edited by MOJOE; 09-21-2018 at 01:02 PM.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
ChrisinNC
AzB Silver Member
ChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond reputeChrisinNC has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,287
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Boone, NC
   
09-21-2018, 01:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tin Man View Post
I'm getting a 9' Diamond Pro Am next Friday, super excited. I'm also getting the lights.

The installer said he could hang the lights but couldn't wire them. I didn't realize they weren't plug and play. Do I need to hire an electrician to wire them? How complicated are they? Any suggestions?
Yes, quite obviously you don't your pool table installers wiring your table lighting any more than you'd want your electrician installing your pool table. The Diamond light is nice, but if you can afford to spend a little $$ more, I'd tell your electrician you'd like to convert it to LED tubes. It will make a huge difference in the intensity of the lighting.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
easy-e
AzB Silver Member
easy-e has a reputation beyond reputeeasy-e has a reputation beyond reputeeasy-e has a reputation beyond reputeeasy-e has a reputation beyond reputeeasy-e has a reputation beyond reputeeasy-e has a reputation beyond reputeeasy-e has a reputation beyond reputeeasy-e has a reputation beyond reputeeasy-e has a reputation beyond reputeeasy-e has a reputation beyond reputeeasy-e has a reputation beyond repute
 
easy-e's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 7,810
vCash: 25
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chandler, AZ
   
09-21-2018, 02:12 PM

I did my own wiring in the diamond light. If you can take out an old outlet and put in a new one (safely), you probably have enough knowledge to hook up your light.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Black-Balled
He Rides the Skies
Black-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond reputeBlack-Balled has a reputation beyond repute
 
Black-Balled's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 40,298
vCash: 1200
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Blog Entries: 1
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: This Toilet Earth
  Send a message via AIM to Black-Balled  
09-21-2018, 03:14 PM

And in case it wasn't clear from the earlier posts...hook it up to a switch!.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Korsakoff
AzB Gold Member
Korsakoff has a reputation beyond reputeKorsakoff has a reputation beyond reputeKorsakoff has a reputation beyond reputeKorsakoff has a reputation beyond reputeKorsakoff has a reputation beyond reputeKorsakoff has a reputation beyond reputeKorsakoff has a reputation beyond reputeKorsakoff has a reputation beyond reputeKorsakoff has a reputation beyond reputeKorsakoff has a reputation beyond reputeKorsakoff has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Online
Posts: 86
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: May 2018
   
09-21-2018, 04:01 PM

When they were installing the electrical, I wanted power for a Diamond light. They have a PDF on their website with dimensions.

The framers took that as well as the table dimensions and set chalk lines on the concrete foundation as a guide for the electricians to use when doing the ceiling wiring. The room has cathedral ceilings, so the light will be hung.

I called Diamond to verify the methodology was sound. They did have one very good observation: donít center the electrical wiring. Since itís hanging and not flush on the ceiling, youíll want to run the wiring down the hanging chain on one side or the other to help the visuals to some degree. So, plan for that when determining the location for the electrical.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
jimmyco
NRA4Life
jimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond repute
 
jimmyco's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,338
vCash: 500
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Colorado
   
09-21-2018, 04:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tin Man View Post
I'm getting a 9' Diamond Pro Am next Friday, super excited. I'm also getting the lights.

The installer said he could hang the lights but couldn't wire them. I didn't realize they weren't plug and play. Do I need to hire an electrician to wire them? How complicated are they? Any suggestions?
A lot depends on the type of ceiling, if its pre-wired or not and how much you like fishing.


Player-Bob Owen Custom
Breaker-N.E. O'Barqueue
Case-Rusty Melton 1x2
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
arcstats
AzB Silver Member
arcstats has a reputation beyond reputearcstats has a reputation beyond reputearcstats has a reputation beyond reputearcstats has a reputation beyond reputearcstats has a reputation beyond reputearcstats has a reputation beyond reputearcstats has a reputation beyond reputearcstats has a reputation beyond reputearcstats has a reputation beyond reputearcstats has a reputation beyond reputearcstats has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 167
vCash: 500
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Jul 2013
   
09-21-2018, 05:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisinNC View Post
Yes, quite obviously you don't your pool table installers wiring your table lighting any more than you'd want your electrician installing your pool table. The Diamond light is nice, but if you can afford to spend a little $$ more, I'd tell your electrician you'd like to convert it to LED tubes. It will make a huge difference in the intensity of the lighting.
I recently converted my Diamond light to an LED system. I talked to Diamond and they referred me to TOCOR Lighting Products in Louisville KY (502-454-6203). Tocor worked with Diamond for a year coming up with the optimum LED setup.

They sell a conversion kit for 4' LED bulbs, instead of the standard 8' florescent bulbs. The reasoning is 8' LED bulbs are so much more expensive compared to the 4' LED's', and they weigh less. LED lighting require no ballasts, so it is a direct wire to the light sockets. You will have a total of 8 4' lights in the fixture.

Do it - you will not regret it once you see your table under LED lighting. Total materials costs- around $150.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Slickstick9
RKC TABLE
Slickstick9 has a reputation beyond reputeSlickstick9 has a reputation beyond reputeSlickstick9 has a reputation beyond reputeSlickstick9 has a reputation beyond reputeSlickstick9 has a reputation beyond reputeSlickstick9 has a reputation beyond reputeSlickstick9 has a reputation beyond reputeSlickstick9 has a reputation beyond reputeSlickstick9 has a reputation beyond reputeSlickstick9 has a reputation beyond reputeSlickstick9 has a reputation beyond repute
 
Slickstick9's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 126
vCash: 1000
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Las Vegas,Nv.
   
09-22-2018, 08:04 AM

thanks Arcstats. Been thinking about changing mine over. gonna look tocor up
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
iusedtoberich
AzB Silver Member

iusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Online
Posts: 11,602
vCash: 1470
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Join Date: Mar 2004
   
09-22-2018, 09:13 AM

I'm surprised Diamond doesn't ship with LED's from the factory? Is it at least an option from the factory?
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
jimmyco
NRA4Life
jimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond reputejimmyco has a reputation beyond repute
 
jimmyco's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 3,338
vCash: 500
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Colorado
   
09-22-2018, 09:17 AM

No.

Diamond does not provide bulbs

Diamond does not hang lights

Diamond does not wire or hang lights

diamondbilliards.com


Player-Bob Owen Custom
Breaker-N.E. O'Barqueue
Case-Rusty Melton 1x2
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
iusedtoberich
AzB Silver Member

iusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond reputeiusedtoberich has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Online
Posts: 11,602
vCash: 1470
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Join Date: Mar 2004
   
09-22-2018, 09:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyco View Post
No.

Diamond does not provide bulbs

Diamond does not hang lights

Diamond does not wire or hang lights
Diamond is probably foolish not to redesign their light to use the new LED panels and ship their light with those panels installed. Florescent is old tech. Everyone wants LED now. And if you do it as a panel, there is probably very low risk in it breaking during shipping.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
jrctherake
AzB Silver Member
jrctherake has a reputation beyond reputejrctherake has a reputation beyond reputejrctherake has a reputation beyond reputejrctherake has a reputation beyond reputejrctherake has a reputation beyond reputejrctherake has a reputation beyond reputejrctherake has a reputation beyond reputejrctherake has a reputation beyond reputejrctherake has a reputation beyond reputejrctherake has a reputation beyond reputejrctherake has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,657
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: At the table
   
09-22-2018, 02:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tin Man View Post
I'm getting a 9' Diamond Pro Am next Friday, super excited. I'm also getting the lights.

The installer said he could hang the lights but couldn't wire them. I didn't realize they weren't plug and play. Do I need to hire an electrician to wire them? How complicated are they? Any suggestions?
I'll post picks of my light later tonight. Very cheap to do and looks very nice.


I knew a fellow that thought he was a good boxer because he was in a position to befriend a lot of "professional boxers". It cost him azzwhippens till he realized he wasn't what he thought/wished he was.

Do you know anyone like the "wannabe" boxer in the pool world?
  
Reply With Quote
Reply
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.