10ball rules

asbani

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
correct me if i'm wrong, I started playing 10ball a bit with the call shot rules. also few questions.


1. if player A. is on the 2ball, and Called the 2ball in the corner, then the cueball accidentally went into the 10ball and pocketed it, then the 10ball will be spotted, and should the A player continue playing because ha made the 2ball which he called?


2. if a player A. is shooting, can he call two balls in the same time for a chance of one of them will go? For example a shot into the corner and a carom off the cueball, like a 2way potting shot. or should he only call one ball only, I don't understand the concept of this thing at all, because it happened to me yesterday. I called the one ball, and also said also the 10ball in the corner, is that legit? please let me know thanks.
 
For situation 1, if the called ball was pocketed, he would continue shooting with the 10 ball spotted.

Situation 2, you are only allowed to call one ball per shot, so you would be required to either call the lowest number ball, or the 10 ball and commit to that shot.
 
Unless

10 ball is different, you can call 2 balls in call shot, but if you don't make both balls, you lose your turn. That's the best reason to just commit to 1 ball only.
 
10 ball is different, you can call 2 balls in call shot, but if you don't make both balls, you lose your turn. That's the best reason to just commit to 1 ball only.

Is that really the case? Why does that rule exist? Why would anyone call both if you must pocket both to continue?
 
10 ball is different, you can call 2 balls in call shot, but if you don't make both balls, you lose your turn. That's the best reason to just commit to 1 ball only.

Not in WPA rules.

9.5 Call Shots & Pocketing Balls
Whenever the shooter is attempting to pocket a ball (except the break) he is required to call shots, the intended ball and pocket must be indicated for each shot if they are not obvious. Details of the shot, such as cushions struck or other balls contacted or pocketed are irrelevant.

For a called shot to count, the referee must be satisfied that the intended shot was made, so if there is any chance of confusion, e.g. with bank, combination and similar shots, the shooter should indicate the ball and pocket. If the referee or opponent is unsure of the shot to be played, he may ask for a call.
 
For situation 1, if the called ball was pocketed, he would continue shooting with the 10 ball spotted.

Situation 2, you are only allowed to call one ball per shot, so you would be required to either call the lowest number ball, or the 10 ball and commit to that shot.

There is also the situation where I would be shooting a combo, say the 1-5 combo when the 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 are still on the table. I must call the 5-ball to continue shooting. Sometimes it is neccesary to elect a ball that isn't the lowest numbered ball and isn't the 10-ball.
 
Back
Top