2 APA Questions

Jude Rosenstock said:
Wait, I want to get this straight here so that I and other readers perfectly understand. In the 9-ball game, the shooter broke up the combination using the 5-ball INSTEAD of using the cueball??? I mean, he pretended the cueball was orange???

If that were the case, I'd just throw him out of the tournament. Seriously, that might be the most insane foul I've ever heard of.

Agreed Jude...players who do crap like that should be barred from tournaments.
 
Maniac said:
First of all, I DO NOT condone the shooter striking the 5-ball with his cue stick to break up the combo. But, he was in a do-or-die situation in this game and he tried (however wrong it was) to do SOMETHING to NOT lose the game in question. As insane as it sounds, since we don't know what the outcome of this travesty was (the OP did not tell us how this was resolved), it is entirely possible that this ploy "saved his bacon" in this particular instance.
You can use those Earl Strickland tactics if you like...

For such a small local tournament it's not even worth it... Your rep is noted.
 
Flettir said:
If I had been there as TD and this had been brought to me to decide. I would have stated that because it is cueball fouls only, that all the balls should be returned as closely as possible to their original position. I would have then personally put the balls back where they had been and I would make sure the 2-9 was a dead on shot.
I would then tell the offender to take his shot and if he intentional moved the object balls without using the cueball it would be considered sharking by the APA rules and a loss of game.
I would also make a point of watching at least some of that game so he would see I was serious.

I do not think he would be happy with me as a TD. Which I do quite often. I am also a team captain on both an 8 and 9 ball APA teams and consider myself to be somewhat proficient with the rules. But by no means an expert on the rules.

JMO

Cueball fouls only specifically refers to scenarios where an object ball is accidentally moved. From the looks of it, when he used the 5-ball as the cueball, it wasn't an accident.

There is no question the balls are not restored here. The lenient way to go is to call a foul and award the incoming player BIH. If this were the ruling, I'd probably tell the ref he should keep his day job. Beyond that, there is loss of game, loss of match and expulsion from the tournament. The level of play should determine which would be most appropriate. Obviously, if this is the budweiser king of the hill jack & jill Valentines day scotch doubles tournament, by all means, restore and continue play. If this is the US Open, he should be kicked out of the event.
 
If the guy was that hooked on hitting the 2 ball just to get a hit, and wanted to take the 2-9 combo out of play, why not just drive the cue into the ball he was hooked on to begin with, and drive it down into the 2 and 9? If the 9 drops at that point, it just gets spotted and play continues with the opponent getting BIH.

There's a chance this guy knew that what he did was unsportsmanlike (as far as in a rules-definition-sense) but then again, he may well have thought it was a legit tactic to take away the combo and give up BIH. He had the right idea, just the wrong idea on how to do it.

Consider that the situation was odd enough that Mike had to post about it to get some opinions. :D
 
My feeling is that it was accidental in that he 'thought' he was making a smart foul but did so incorrectly.

It would take some interpretation but it seems like that would have to be explained to the player , the balls moved would have to replaced to thier original locations and then ball in hand to the incoming player.

IMO.
 
Ballls should have been put back in place and give the player a warning. However If I was the incoming player Usually I would welcome such a move because this might allow me to get more points rather then just the 2 the nine is worth. If I only needed two points then I would protest.

Sometimes when I am hooked and see a very little chance to hit the next ball in line then I will use the cueball to roll the nine up so that a combination is hard to avoid for my opponent. Allowing him only the 2 points and take my chances on his next break.
 
Last edited:
Anybody here who thinks using the 5-ball as the cueball is acceptable is out of their mind. I'm serious, I can't believe so many people believe the balls should be restored as though nothing happened. This is a tournament. There should be a reasonable expectation that the rules are already known. If I'm the ref and being nice, the guy will lose that game. If I were the opposing player, that would be a reasonable ruling in my opinion.
 
Jude Rosenstock said:
Anybody here who thinks using the 5-ball as the cueball is acceptable is out of their mind. I'm serious, I can't believe so many people believe the balls should be restored as though nothing happened. This is a tournament. There should be a reasonable expectation that the rules are already known. If I'm the ref and being nice, the guy will lose that game. If I were the opposing player, that would be a reasonable ruling in my opinion.
Once again Jude....agreed...completely.
 
Jude Rosenstock said:
Anybody here who thinks using the 5-ball as the cueball is acceptable is out of their mind. I'm serious, I can't believe so many people believe the balls should be restored as though nothing happened. This is a tournament. There should be a reasonable expectation that the rules are already known. If I'm the ref and being nice, the guy will lose that game. If I were the opposing player, that would be a reasonable ruling in my opinion.

I overlooked the "tournament" part of the question and figured it was league play. I would say I have to agree with Jude's statement now. Definite loss of game regardless of whose rules are being used. If it were just the 5-ball that was moved, then I could see maybe respotting it only after both players agreed upon it and with BIH. Sounds like a poor loser.
 
Mike Templeton said:
. . . being played by APA rules.

OK , so if it's so simple then just post the APA rule that directly covers this situation. :)

Discussion over. ;)
 
FLICKit said:
You can use those Earl Strickland tactics if you like...

For such a small local tournament it's not even worth it... Your rep is noted.

I would NEVER use a tactic like that!!!! Like I said in my post, I DO NOT condone of his actions (I also stated later in the post that it was WRONGLY done). I believe what he did was pure B.S.!!!! Unsportsmanlike is too kind of a word for it. What I was meaning to convey in my post is that the shooter knew that he was gonna lose that game anyways and simply tried something bizarre (and YES, unsportsmanlike) to see what he could get away with. Very low-class IMO.

Maniac
 
Jude Rosenstock said:
Anybody here who thinks using the 5-ball as the cueball is acceptable is out of their mind. I'm serious, I can't believe so many people believe the balls should be restored as though nothing happened. This is a tournament. There should be a reasonable expectation that the rules are already known. If I'm the ref and being nice, the guy will lose that game. If I were the opposing player, that would be a reasonable ruling in my opinion.
Lose that game? With how may points awarded? This is APA where the nine ball is only worth 2 points. If I was the opposing player i would not be satisfied with 2 points from this situation..
 
dabarbr said:
Lose that game? With how may points awarded? This is APA where the nine ball is only worth 2 points. If I was the opposing player i would not be satisfied with 2 points from this situation..
It's not league play. I'm gonna call the APA operator in the area tonight and see if she knows of a specific APA rule to cover the situation.



Mike
 
Last edited:
Mike...Under APA rules, even 9-ball tournament play is still played the same way as 9-ball league play (unless specified as something different, by the TD). Consequently, as dabarbr mentioned, dunning the shooter a "loss-of-game" penalty, for a sportsmanship violation, has little overall consequence. The incoming shooter would simply break the next rack, and continue his/her attempt to reach their S/L point limit, to win the match. Loss of match, on the other hand, would sufficiently penalize the offending player, such that they would be unlikely to try that "move" again! JMO

Scott Lee
www.poolknowledge.com

Mike Templeton said:
It's not league play. I'm gonna call the APA operator in the area tonight and see if she knows of a specific APA rule to cover the situation.



Mike
 
dabarbr said:
Lose that game? With how may points awarded? This is APA where the nine ball is only worth 2 points. If I was the opposing player i would not be satisfied with 2 points from this situation..

Well, some sort of penalty equalling a full game will need to be issued. Perhaps 10 points. Flagrant fouls in straight pool are worth an entire rack - 15 points.
 
Scott Lee said:
Mike...Under APA rules, even 9-ball tournament play is still played the same way as 9-ball league play (unless specified as something different, by the TD). Consequently, as dabarbr mentioned, dunning the shooter a "loss-of-game" penalty, for a sportsmanship violation, has little overall consequence. The incoming shooter would simply break the next rack, and continue his/her attempt to reach their S/L point limit, to win the match. Loss of match, on the other hand, would sufficiently penalize the offending player, such that they would be unlikely to try that "move" again! JMO

Scott Lee
www.poolknowledge.com
Scott,

It's actually a weekly tournament, race to 5. We just use APA rules, so there is no point system or anything. Just whoever gets 5 games first, so if the score is 4-4, that's where it might get hairy if something like this happened.
 
Jude Rosenstock said:
Well, some sort of penalty equalling a full game will need to be issued. Perhaps 10 points. Flagrant fouls in straight pool are worth an entire rack - 15 points.

By flagrant foul, you don't just mean a deliberate one? Cause I have seen many pro matches where people just tick the cueball and take a -1. For things like whacking into the balls with your hands to spread them I can see a -15.

Shooting a deliberate foul in 9 or 8 ball can be part of strategy (say play to not hit a rail, ), but I think once you go a step further and hit an OB as the CB, that "may" head into a flagrant foul. That may be up to the director or ref however. Is hitting the wrong ball gently better than whacking at it full force? Is one just a "deliberate" foul and the other "flagrant"? Unless it's in the rules with all sorts of scenarios, that type of thing would be mainly a judgment call, granted one that should be made by an experienced ref.
 
are they scoring the tournament by APA rules or simply using the rules of play? big difference.

if they're using the points system to handicap, i could see (maybe) the replacement.

if it's a straight race, the rack (at least) is lost.

keep in mind that in tournaments, the TD has the option to rule as he deems fit. sure, the rulebook might say "put 'em back", but i'd like to believe that most TD's, when presented with this, would forfeit the rack.

-s

edit: while i was typing i see my question was answered. there ya go.
 
steev said:
are they scoring the tournament by APA rules or simply using the rules of play? big difference.

if they're using the points system to handicap, i could see (maybe) the replacement.

if it's a straight race, the rack (at least) is lost.

keep in mind that in tournaments, the TD has the option to rule as he deems fit. sure, the rulebook might say "put 'em back", but i'd like to believe that most TD's, when presented with this, would forfeit the rack.

-s
Hey Steev,

It's a straight race to 5.
 
hang-the-9 said:
By flagrant foul, you don't just mean a deliberate one? Cause I have seen many pro matches where people just tick the cueball and take a -1. For things like whacking into the balls with your hands to spread them I can see a -15.

Shooting a deliberate foul in 9 or 8 ball can be part of strategy (say play to not hit a rail, ), but I think once you go a step further and hit an OB as the CB, that "may" head into a flagrant foul. That may be up to the director or ref however. Is hitting the wrong ball gently better than whacking at it full force? Is one just a "deliberate" foul and the other "flagrant"? Unless it's in the rules with all sorts of scenarios, that type of thing would be mainly a judgment call, granted one that should be made by an experienced ref.


Flagrant fouls in 14.1 include (but are not limited to) -

Deliberately moving a ball
Catching a ball as it drops in a pocket
 
Back
Top