Allow myself to introduce, uh, myself:

DogsPlayingPool

"What's in your wallet?"
Silver Member
Hello, all. I'm new to the neighborhood, having cruised around here for a few days getting to know the place. This site quite informative and it appears to be a tight knit and impassioned community. Nice place you have here, indeed.

I grew up in the Chicago area and currently reside in Southern California with my wife and teenage son. For them I am very blessed. I first took up pool in grade school when my dad would take me to the YMCA once a week where he played volleyball. Afterward, we would hit the swimming pool for a while then go to the billiard room. I took to the game immediately, and gave up slot cars for good when a hall opened up in my neighborhood. Though I did get a table for the house, it was used mainly for practice as I continued through high school and then college frequenting the local halls, usually playing for enough money for a young man like I was to require backing. I'm now a re-entry player, having returned to playing pool after some years away from the game.