Am I a D - Bag

FASTEDDIE427

BUSTIN' BALLS SINCE '86
Silver Member
ok so this past sunday at a tournement, I fouled for a second time. No warning was given. i fouled a 3rd time. As the gentleman was about to reach for the rack I asked what he was doing, he said i 3 fouled. I said he never told me i was on 2 ( he didn't I swear ) and the fact that that was the 3rd foul is irrelevant. He starts pissing and moaning to the point i gotta call the tournement directer to calm the man down. At another point in the match i froze the object ball at the cueball to the rail ( the object ball was not declared frozen ) and he again tried to say I fouled. I said he did not declare the ball frozen he once again flipped out. Am I a douche or does this guy need to learn to speak up.
 
Rules are rules. I'm sure the guy will make sure he tells his next opponent.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
 
ok so this past sunday at a tournement, I fouled for a second time. No warning was given. i fouled a 3rd time. As the gentleman was about to reach for the rack I asked what he was doing, he said i 3 fouled. I said he never told me i was on 2 ( he didn't I swear ) and the fact that that was the 3rd foul is irrelevant. He starts pissing and moaning to the point i gotta call the tournement directer to calm the man down. At another point in the match i froze the object ball at the cueball to the rail ( the object ball was not declared frozen ) and he again tried to say I fouled. I said he did not declare the ball frozen he once again flipped out. Am I a douche or does this guy need to learn to speak up.

I vote BOTH! But only because you are from MA and are a MASShole obviously.

Rules are rules, if someone does not tell me I'm on 2, I would not let them take the game, nor if they don't check if the ball is frozen.
 
ok so this past sunday at a tournement, I fouled for a second time. No warning was given. i fouled a 3rd time. As the gentleman was about to reach for the rack I asked what he was doing, he said i 3 fouled. I said he never told me i was on 2 ( he didn't I swear ) and the fact that that was the 3rd foul is irrelevant. He starts pissing and moaning to the point i gotta call the tournement directer to calm the man down. At another point in the match i froze the object ball at the cueball to the rail ( the object ball was not declared frozen ) and he again tried to say I fouled. I said he did not declare the ball frozen he once again flipped out. Am I a douche or does this guy need to learn to speak up.

If you knew it was your third foul then in my opinion you were in
the wrong ! If you knew the ball was froze then you IMO were in
the wrong !

I have called a foul on myself in a tournament . I want to win but
I also want to feel good about the way I won !

Just my 2 cents worth .... Larry
 
I vote BOTH! But only because you are from MA and are a MASShole obviously.

Rules are rules, if someone does not tell me I'm on 2, I would not let them take the game, nor if they don't check if the ball is frozen.



The tournement was in providence if that matters
 
If you knew it was your third foul then in my opinion you were in
the wrong ! If you knew the ball was froze then you IMO were in
the wrong !

I have called a foul on myself in a tournament . I want to win but
I also want to feel good about the way I won !

Just my 2 cents worth .... Larry

Yeah, the OP implies he knew he was on 2, and he knew the ball was frozen.

If you know, then it's bad sportsmanship to say the rule doesn't apply because your opponent didn't notify you. I don't know if it makes you a d-bag, but it makes you a bad sport, and someone I wouldn't want to gamble with.

-Andrew
 
You were right. Those are only fouls if your opponent speaks up before hand.

Since you were in Providence, I certainly hope it was against someone who deserved it:D.

Rodney
 
Rules are rules indeed. Technically you are in the right.

But if you knew you were on two fouls, and knew the ball was frozen, it all comes down to if you can sleep well after doing what you did.

I could sleep well if I did those things, but I wouldn't feel even a little good if I were to win that match/game. Hence I would never do those things.


- Margus.
 
Yeah, the OP implies he knew he was on 2, and he knew the ball was frozen.

If you know, then it's bad sportsmanship to say the rule doesn't apply because your opponent didn't notify you. I don't know if it makes you a d-bag, but it makes you a bad sport, and someone I wouldn't want to gamble with.

-Andrew

I completely disagree. He didn't make a bad hit, and not call it on himself. If a ball is not declared frozen, then it's not frozen. Same with the 3 foul rule, don't say you're on 2, then no foul.

There is absoulutely nothing shady here. I'm assuming the tournament director agreed?

Rodney
 
I wouldn't have done what you did but I'm not going to judge you for playing by the rules either.
 
depends

You missed an opportinity.to teach him something. If he was a real player and should have known better to give you a warning and call the ball frozen then maybe that's different.

Myself I would have called both fowls myself.I would feel guilty winning that way. If the guy had been a jerk to me in the past, no I would not have ever called on myself.

I am certain you killed any potential action you would ever have with this player. That and anybody he ever talks to. Maybe you don't like easy money.
 
I wouldn't say a d-bag, as that is pretty harsh, however it shows you will do anything you can to win, even if that means being unethical. Regardless of the rules, because you knew how many fouls you had, it's unethical and shows a lack of sportsmanship.

With that being said, I'll play some ;-)

-P
 
Yes..It matters..

The tournement was in providence if that matters

Yes, R.I. players are lower on the scale than so-called MASSholes. Also the rules I've always played by are that it's the opponents responsibility to inform you of 2 fouls or a frozen ball. If your opponent is not engaged in the match it is not your responsibility to inform him however you are the one who has to look in the mirror....jmho...
 
I completely disagree. He didn't make a bad hit, and not call it on himself. If a ball is not declared frozen, then it's not frozen. Same with the 3 foul rule, don't say you're on 2, then no foul.

There is absoulutely nothing shady here. I'm assuming the tournament director agreed?

Rodney

he sided with me
 
I didn't read the post I just saw the question.

I vote yes because if you have to ask.........well. :rolleyes:
 
Looks like Hang the 9 beat me to the "Masshole" part. Way for me to read the entire thread!

Tournament was at Snookers? Probably just another arrogant asshole from New England. Aren't we all?
 
Back
Top