am I right on this ruling?

ed_droogie

Registered
here's a real puzzler and argument starter.
I'm playing the last ball (either 8 or 9 ball) and I slam it into the pocket. I stay down 3-4 seconds after hitting the ball. The ball drops in, and the cue ball force-follows out two rails and hits the tip of my stick. ..Legal shot? ...Foul? ...do i lose/win? I say i win....but you should have heard the arguments.
 
ed_droogie said:
here's a real puzzler and argument starter.
I'm playing the last ball (either 8 or 9 ball) and I slam it into the pocket. I stay down 3-4 seconds after hitting the ball. The ball drops in, and the cue ball force-follows out two rails and hits the tip of my stick. ..Legal shot? ...Foul? ...do i lose/win? I say i win....but you should have heard the arguments.

Its a foul. If any ball is still rolling, its still your shot.
G
 
Gabber said:
Its a foul. If any ball is still rolling, its still your shot.
G
I agree a foul.........you always have to get out of the way of the cue ball.........
 
Unfortunately, you lost even tho it was not going to effect the shot. What if you were close to a pocket and it may have fouled. The lines gotta be drawn somewhere.
 
Foul

I'd say it was a foul. like the other post have said the ball was still rolling. If you was on any other shot it would be a foul.---Smitty
 
That's a foul, as it qualifies as a second hit of the cue ball. If it weren't a foul under the rules, what would stop you from letting it hit your tip anytime you thought the cue ball might be heading into a pocket for a scratch?

Of course, on another note, nice to hear that you are staying down on your shot for so long!
 
Foul. You interferred with the cueball. No different then drawing back on a cue ball that is close to the object ball.

This one guy used to grab the cueball all the time after shooting in the 8 ball. The reason he did it was to prevent a possible scratch. He claimed it was to not interfer with the rest of the balls when racking. He got into a lot of arguements and people would avoid him.
 
This should be a non-debate. It's clearly a foul.

What if you hit the 9ball in, and the CB goes two rails and is about to scratch in the side pocket. You then purposely hit the CB with the tip of your cue to prevent it from scratching. Is there any fundamental difference between this case and the case you described? In your case, what makes you assume that the CB wouldn't have scratched if you didn't hit it with the cue tip the second time?
 
It's a foul....BUT.....I have seen pros on one or two occasions do something similar on TV ( toss their cue,grab the cueball before stop). They got away with it!:confused:

Terry
 
yeah, that's what I thought...

but luckily it was a casual game. But yeah, had I not stayed down extra long, It would not have hit the tip. (nor scratched)
 
Back
Top