Another senior center blow up

Gio Sr.

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
In our "in house" 8 ball 1 & 15 match yesterday. We play partners. My opponent has a ball frozen to the short rail. He rolls the cue ball up to it and the object ball bounces off the rail a couple of inches but, neither of the two hit a rail after. My partner calls a scratch.

Well the stuff hit the fan. My opponent not believing that the a ball had to hit another rail, my partner is a rule guy, trying to explain, but this guy was flipping out. I'm just waiting to shoot .

After a while one of the other experts says that it was our responsibility to tell our opponent that the ball was frozen before he shot. I can't understand why we are not calling pockets .

Then it was mentioned that it we were playing undefined house rules. :rolleyes:

My partner and I netted a whopping $7.50 each.

So please enlighten me. Maybe some rule book links.
 
In most rule sets, a ball not declared frozen by the shooters opponent (or referee) before the shot occurs is considered to be "not frozen".

Maniac
 
Yep, unless the ball is declared frozen by the opponent,
the ball is not frozen.
 
Just went through this during league on Tuesday....with one of my teammates. And he knows better, too. Very disappointing to deal with that crap. I had to apologize to our opponents afterwards.

Sigh. Its supposed to be fun, and usually it is.
 
Just went through this during league on Tuesday....with one of my teammates. And he knows better, too. Very disappointing to deal with that crap. I had to apologize to our opponents afterwards.

Sigh. Its supposed to be fun, and usually it is.

Yes it is a PIA , You have guys that HAVE TO WIN and have to be right :mad:
 
And I would add, if you didn't actually get up and look to see if there might be a 1 mm gap between the ball and the rail, you have no way of knowing if it was frozen, so you certainly couldn't declare it frozen after the fact anyway. If you did get up and check (which you would have to do), why would you not declare it frozen?
 
Back
Top