APA 8 ball rack rule

orangecrush

Just a banger
Silver Member
I haven't played on APA in a while. When did they change the rule of one solid and one stripe in the corners? And if I remember correctly, they are still playing that way here in Austin.

Shane

justadub

Rattling corners nightly
Silver Member
I seem to remember reading that rule in the rule book (or on their website) last year, so I believe it is still current. Though I never see anyone worrying about it during league play here locally. Perhaps we'll see that enforced at our state tournament in a couple of weeks, though I don't know. This is my first time, so I don't know how it's gone in the past.

I always rack that way in any event, and have since I was taught the game. So it ain't a problem for me! :)

Manoman2444

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I haven't played on APA in a while. When did they change the rule of one solid and one stripe in the corners? And if I remember correctly, they are still playing that way here in Austin.

Shane

I haven't read that in my APA rulebook, but it is the small one. Where exactly did you see this? I would like to read that rule myself.

sk8ordie

HTTR!
Silver Member
That's still a rule here, Just not enforced becuase 2/3's of the APA members here haven't even scene a rule book. Two new rules, I think by-law rules are (1) you can legally split a solid & stripe ball to pocket your ball if it hits them at the same time and (2) when the cue ball is frozen to your own ball (even when on the 8ball) it is legal to shot straight at your ball which causes a double hit on the cue ball, but now legal:confused: APA, :D

bazkook

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
In the back row of the rack,I always have a stripe and solid on the corners. I think the only official rule dealing with racking is having a rack as tight as possible with the 8 ball in the middle and 4 balls having to hit a rail.