Appleton - Classy

He showed some class there. No protest no exaggerated reaction. Tap tap tap Darren.

Yes he did. Good on him. Very classy indeed. Wish we could have saw the replay of it but there must not have been a camera there. Not that I doubt Ken, I'm just curious if the 8 moved or not.
 
Agreed, though I would expect nothing less from him, he's always a class act. Wish we could have seen a replay of it to see th contact.
 
You would think some of that class would have rubbed off on Karl by now.

MR. Appleton does have some class. Johnnyt
 
Yes he did. Good on him. Very classy indeed. Wish we could have saw the replay of it but there must not have been a camera there. Not that I doubt Ken, I'm just curious if the 8 moved or not.


It doesn't matter if the ball moves or not. Just touching it is a foul at this level.
Apparently Ken called it and Darren must have known he fouled at the same time.
All players should call this on themselves, Darren sets a good example.....nice to see.
 
He showed some class there. No protest no exaggerated reaction. Tap tap tap Darren.

Spot on. Darren is classy. Treats his fellow players with respect and has nothing negative to say about other players:)
 
It doesn't matter if the ball moves or not. Just touching it is a foul at this level.
Apparently Ken called it and Darren must have known he fouled at the same time.
All players should call this on themselves, Darren sets a good example.....nice to see.

I do not think he knew that he touched the ball, but I think that he trusted the ref on the call.
 
is it possible to post a link to a video of what happened ?????
 
Someone here at the venue asked me an interesting question. Wasn't DA in contact with that ball before he stroked his shot? Should the foul have been called before the shot was taken?

Maybe the contact only happened as of after the stroke, but that seems unlikely, unless it was not his shirt or stomach that did the touching.
 
is it possible to post a link to a video of what happened ?????

The 8-ball (ball of interest) was totally blocked from view by Darren's body on the video, so we could not see it at all. Jay Helfert asked if they could show it from another camera, but nothing was shown.

It happened at 39:15 on this recording: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BhADlUE8mvg

edit -- whoops, I see that meister2u already provided the link.
 
Last edited:
Someone here at the venue asked me an interesting question. Wasn't DA in contact with that ball before he stroked his shot? Should the foul have been called before the shot was taken?

Maybe the contact only happened as of after the stroke, but that seems unlikely, unless it was not his shirt or stomach that did the touching.
Yes, the foul would be called the moment the shirt is seen to touch the ball. But in most situation, the touch occurs during the stroke as there is a tendency for the body to drop during the stroke. Balls moved are not replaced, even if the foul occurred moments before the cue struck the CB.
 
He showed some class there. No protest no exaggerated reaction. Tap tap tap Darren.

Maybe if the team scores were flip flopped his reaction might have been different , not saying it would , but the value of the loss would have been higher .
 
You would think some of that class would have rubbed off on Karl by now.

Are you talking about the situation on day two? Because that's clearly a completely different situation - Daz was called for a legitimate foul; with Boyes, the ref was trying to foul him for something he wasn't even doing, and even then, after a bit of confusion, Boyes said, "If you said foul, then it's a foul."

Maybe if the team scores were flip flopped his reaction might have been different , not saying it would , but the value of the loss would have been higher .

I very much doubt it. It seems to be a cultural thing, but in the UK (especially in snooker and English 8-ball) you're expected to call your own fouls. I've seen snooker players call fouls on themselves in pivotal world championship frames
 
You would think some of that class would have rubbed off on Karl by now.

MR. Appleton does have some class. Johnnyt

Absolutely. The ref is the ref. This isn't American football where the coach can throw the red challenge flag and the ref huddles over a video replay for three minutes. Even then, judgement calls on fouls aren't reviewable.

In golf, tiger woods has been called for judgement penalties like not dropping the ball as close to the original spot. He thought he did but the field judge ruled not.Tiger took the penalty.

If you will protest, carry on, and pressure the ref to reverse his or her judgement, then why even have a referee?

Darren may have thought he didn't touch the 8, but he showed an extreme amount of class and respect for the game at hand by respecting the referees judgement, where Karl did not.

Ken's call on Day 2 was a judgement call and should have been respected. Just like his calls on whether balls are frozen to the rail, illegal contact on close shots when even video can't tell. His judgement as referee should be respected above all and Darren showed that in spades. Bravo Darren.
 
Back
Top