Bca 9 ball rule question

If you don't have a set of written rules for "call shot 9 ball", how about using the rules for 10-ball?
 
That wasn’t the question…
Using that as the logic, since I can’t find any rule that states otherwise.

You must hit the lowest number ball and pocket a ball to continue to shoot. If you shot the 9 and the opponent states you didn’t call the pocket, it was still a legal hit and a ball was pocketed. It comes up and is spotted.

Since there is no rule in standard BCA 9 ball rules that state this particular situation, I’m just trying to see if there is anything similar.

So far, no rule has been posted. Just a bunch on opinions of why the tournament should be using other rules or how the players should have handled.

Again, juniors in a national event, not some bar table house rule tournament.
 
There's a league in our county that has rules, BUT in some of the bars, they have their own.
It's probably borne outta all the Jails and Supermax workers that create this atmosphere/Fremont County CO.
It's like being around pro Rounders, they are always smiling/nice, yet they are looking for an angle or they think your workin' em.
Like another said, if you need it that bad. :)
In the old days we'd call this move, ''being a nit''.
Nowadays, it's???????????? Not right or wrong it's politically correct or not.
 
No, just stated BCA 9 ball rules, and call the 9.
If that's all they say, they need to be asked about the details. They need to be ready for the main event and it would be a kindness to let them know they are not prepared.
 
If that's all they say, they need to be asked about the details. They need to be ready for the main event and it would be a kindness to let them know they are not prepared.
And as we know Bob, different year BCA rule books have tweaks/changes in the rules.
 
Correct, because you made another legally pocketed ball. You need to use a bit of logic to sort out the rulings. The 9 is called shot but the rest are not. So if you make only the 9 but in the wrong pocket, it's a miss, same as in any other called shot game, you make a ball in the wrong pocket, your turn is over. But it's still slop 9 ball on the other balls. So if you call the 9 but crap in another ball, the 9 spots but you keep shoting since you made a legally pocketed ball during the shot.
Once you spell out the logic of this judgment, this makes the most sense to me.
 
Back
Top