Boyes pulling a very questionable move on Daulton

Shannon shouldn't have let that happen and Boyes shouldn't have called it. I'm pissed off at both of them! ;)
My sentiments exactly.

If there was a ref involved, then the ref should call that foul 100% of the time Same goes for any foul that is documented in the rules.
 
This is why pool is such a joke. All Karl did was have a rule enforced. It was not a move. If they are supposed to be professionals, they should be following all the rules accurately. Do you think a pro golfer would just pick up his ball when it's hanging on the lip of a cup because he's obviously going to make it 1000/1000 times? No, because the rules state you can't do that. Just like the rules in all ball fouls is that you can't touch the ball while in motion.
 
This is why pool is such a joke. All Karl did was have a rule enforced. It was not a move. If they are supposed to be professionals, they should be following all the rules accurately. Do you think a pro golfer would just pick up his ball when it's hanging on the lip of a cup because he's obviously going to make it 1000/1000 times? No, because the rules state you can't do that. Just like the rules in all ball fouls is that you can't touch the ball while in motion.

you must be a tard from England too huh?
 
Lol.

What does she have to do with boyes' alleged move today?

:rolleyes:

Absolutely nothing... but it does have something to do with laying bare your alleged explanation for why Boyes may be inclined to pull such d'bag moves. i.e. it has nothing to do with hysterical zeal in calling fouls by ex snooker players...and more to do with d'bags acting like d'bags.
 
This is why pool is such a joke. All Karl did was have a rule enforced. It was not a move. If they are supposed to be professionals, they should be following all the rules accurately. Do you think a pro golfer would just pick up his ball when it's hanging on the lip of a cup because he's obviously going to make it 1000/1000 times? No, because the rules state you can't do that. Just like the rules in all ball fouls is that you can't touch the ball while in motion.

golf and pool are two entirely different sports but since you want to compare them, lets compare them in the same basic format, match play. In match play, it's common courtesy to give your opponent a really short putt. This move would be comparable to what happened in the recent Solheim Cup where a 6 inch putt was raked back because it wasn't verbally conceded even though that same putt is conceded 99.9% of the time. The fallout from that non conceded putt was the front page topic of conversation for days and days. The fallout over it was times 1000 compared to this and the lady/team that did this "move" were blasted by everyone in the world, social media, etc...for being unsportsmanlike, and they should have been.

Therefore, your argument carries zero weight because it simply isn't so when referring to unwritten rules where sportsmanship outweighs the written letter of the rulebook.
 
This is why pool is such a joke. All Karl did was have a rule enforced. It was not a move. If they are supposed to be professionals, they should be following all the rules accurately. Do you think a pro golfer would just pick up his ball when it's hanging on the lip of a cup because he's obviously going to make it 1000/1000 times? No, because the rules state you can't do that. Just like the rules in all ball fouls is that you can't touch the ball while in motion.

When a rule has absolutely no impact on the play and has been previously ignored by all competitors, the first guy to come around and demand said rule be enforced is a dickhead.
 
Last edited:
This will be unpopular, but here it is;
I wouldn't have EVER called it if it was me, but, Boyes did have the right to do so. He didn't break the rules, nor did he cheat. It was an inadvertent foul, but a foul none the less. I don't personally like Karl, I think he's an obnoxious, arrogant jerk, but if he wants to make that unpopular call, it's his prerogative.

Barton brought up a very important, but entirely different point. The use of a review film usage should be available to all tables, or no tables and its availability should be made known during the player meetings. Stuff like this can't be made up on the fly. I don't doubt the resignation of Jay as the tournament director made this mess possible. Nice work, Barryd:angry:
 
This is why pool is such a joke. All Karl did was have a rule enforced. It was not a move. If they are supposed to be professionals, they should be following all the rules accurately. Do you think a pro golfer would just pick up his ball when it's hanging on the lip of a cup because he's obviously going to make it 1000/1000 times? No, because the rules state you can't do that. Just like the rules in all ball fouls is that you can't touch the ball while in motion.
If we're talking about stroke play golf, then the comparison isn't apt because in stroke play it's the golfer versus the entire field.

The golf analogy would work better if we're talking about match play, since it's a head-to-head match like in pool. A golfer conceding his opponent's short putt is ubiquitous in match play.

Was Suzanne Pettersen absolutely not in the wrong for refusing to concede a short putt at this year's Solheim Cup?

EDIT: Looks like corvette beat me to this response.
 
Meh, I'm in two minds on this. It's not something I would have done personally, and I don't like to see players resort to petty rule enforcement in order to win games... but on the other hand, the whole touching the cue ball before it comes to a stop thing is annoying, and makes pool look even more bush league than usual (yes that includes Niels's laying down of his cue in the Mosconi).

Same goes for when Floyd Mayweather knocked Victor Ortiz out when he was listening to the ref's instructions. Totally legal, but also totally classless.

Totally deserved in that case, too, though.
 
To the few of you brining up match play, the rules were followed. You have to concede the putt. I've played many match play matches where I haven't been conceded 6" putts and I just made them an moved along. My comparison with the stroke play matter is still valid as well as its still a written rule that must be followed. So again, all Karl did was have a rule enforced. Was it a little nitty? Sure. But was it within his rights as the opposing player, 100%. Just like Pettersen was well within her rights for not conceding the putt. Don't like it, don't play sanctioned events and just make up your own rules.
 
Yea it's nitty, but rules are rules, once everyone learns Karl's reputation, they'll adjust when playing against him.
 
To the few of you brining up match play, the rules were followed. You have to concede the putt. I've played many match play matches where I haven't been conceded 6" putts and I just made them an moved along. My comparison with the stroke play matter is still valid as well as its still a written rule that must be followed. So again, all Karl did was have a rule enforced. Was it a little nitty? Sure. But was it within his rights as the opposing player, 100%. Just like Pettersen was well within her rights for not conceding the putt. Don't like it, don't play sanctioned events and just make up your own rules.

Except Pettersen admitted the next day that she was in the wrong and apologized to the entire US team.

Suzann Pettersen said:
“I am so sorry for not thinking about the bigger picture in the heat of the battle and competition. I was trying my hardest for my team and put the single match and the point that could be earned ahead of sportsmanship and the game of golf itself! I feel like I let my team down and I am sorry.”
 
Except Pettersen admitted the next day that she was in the wrong and apologized to the entire US team.


Doesn't change the fact that it was within her rights to do it. That's what is being argued. Karl was 100% within his rights to say something. Again, it was kinda nitty, but still legal on his part.
 
Just because something is legal doesn't make it the right move. Karl dogged the bank by more than a diamond and the game was over when he left Shannon the hanger.

Anyway the ruling was flat out wrong. In the absence of a referee disputes go to the shooter.

Had this very thing happen to me in a BCA State tournament in Colorado. Shooter fouls and I call it. He denies it. Spectators back me up. TD says call goes to the shooter because we didn't have a ref. I forfeit the match and go on to win the tournament.
 
Funny that Boyes acted like Dechaine was crazy for calling him out when shooting the final ball in the 14.1 tourney without racking the balls first, What a wanker

I'd love to see a replay of that. When watching it live, Boyes butchered the patterns so bad it almost looked like he left either the cue ball or the final object ball (which would have been the match point) to where they would have been obstructed if the rule had actually been followed to put up the final rack even though you don't need to make a breakshot. All the guy commentating with Daz could manage to say was "well Dechaine is also supposed to get out of the chair and do the racking rather than sitting their waiting for the unknowing Boyes to commit the foul". Given they were racking your own, why would Dechaine have even had to get out of the chair?!
 
Doesn't change the fact that it was within her rights to do it. That's what is being argued. Karl was 100% within his rights to say something. Again, it was kinda nitty, but still legal on his part.

As I said though, angle shoots are always legal, that's what makes them angle shoots in the first place. It's still an angle shoot though.
 
Back
Top