call 8

trustyrusty

I'm better with a wedge!
Silver Member
ok, last night at the poolhall we all had to hear an argument over a game (the argument drug on for quite a while). Folks in the room were split on what the ruling should be, so I thought I'd post on here to see what the majority says....

Player D is giving player S the call 8 playing 9 ball. Player D leaves player S a jump shot on the 8 (cue was behind the 9 - the only two balls left on the table). S jumps the 9 ball and banks the 8 into the side pocket. It is unclear if he called a pocket at all, but he certainly didn't call the side pocket (it was slopped in). Does player S continue shooting (the 9 ball) or not?

S contends that the call part of the spot is for the win only, and if the 8 ball falls when shooting it, (in an uncalled pocket), he keeps shooting. D says, NO WAY. If the called 8 ball falls in a pocket not called it is immediately his turn at the table.

I had to hear this argument, rather loudly, for about an hour last night....but, being the glutton for punishment that I am, let's hear some more. :p
 
Last edited:
I've always played it that called 8 means you have to call the 8 for the win. If you slop in the 8, general 9 ball slop rules apply, it's still your turn, but you don't get the win for making it. It's really no different than if you get the call 8 and make it on the break but didn't call it, if that is the only ball that fell, does he then have to give up the table to the opponent? Or, if he is shooting the 3, misses it, and slops in the 8, does he have to give up the table then too? The way the rules are, it's still his turn, the slop rules go into effect, that is, a ball made on a legal shot never gives up the table to the opponent.
 
Last edited:
I've always played it that called 8 means you have to call the 8 for the win. If you slop in the 8, general 9 ball slop rules apply, it's still your turn, but you don't get the win for making it. It's really no different than if you get the call 8 and make it on the break but didn't call it, if that is the only ball that fell, does he then have to give up the table to the opponent? Or, if he is shooting the 3, misses it, and slops in the 8, does he have to give up the table then too? The way the rules are, it's still his turn, the slop rules go into effect, that is, a ball made on a legal shot never gives up the table to the opponent.

a number of people last night said the same thing - even sighting very similar examples. THANKS
 
I had this shit happen to me once. I was up on a guy $200. He wanted the call 8 ball and wanted a game on the wire going to 2, his $1000 to my $500. In the first game, he calls the 8 in the corner, misses it badly and it shoots of the point to go in the opposite pocket. Obviously he keeps shooting and makes the 9. I was pretty pissed...
 
Last edited:
I have this shit happen to me once. I was up on a guy $200. He wanted the call 8 ball and wanted a game on the wire for his $1000 to my $400. In the first game, he calls the 8 in the corner, misses it badly and it shoots of the point to go in the opposite pocket. Obviously he keeps shooting and makes the 9. I was pretty pissed...

I think the jump bank into the side (8 was on the end rail) tilted player D just a bit. lol
 
yeah, the "call" 8 is for the win only, otherwise, the slop rules apply and the same guy shoots at the 9 ball.

by the other guys reasoning, if the same player would make the 8 on the break, he would also lose his shot. that is unless, you were using a magic rack and the 8 was on the wing.
 
ok, last night at the poolhall we all had to hear an argument over a game (the argument drug on for quite a while). Folks in the room were split on what the ruling should be, so I thought I'd post on here to see what the majority says....

Player D is giving player S the call 8 playing 9 ball. Player D leaves player S a jump shot on the 8 (cue was behind the 9 - the only two balls left on the table). S jumps the 9 ball and banks the 8 into the side pocket. It is unclear if he called a pocket at all, but he certainly didn't call the side pocket (it was slopped in). Does player S continue shooting (the 9 ball) or not?

S contends that the call part of the spot is for the win only, and if the 8 ball falls when shooting it, (in an uncalled pocket), he keeps shooting. D says, NO WAY. If the called 8 ball falls in a pocket not called it is immediately his turn at the table.

I had to hear this argument, rather loudly, for about an hour last night....but, being the glutton for punishment that I am, let's hear some more. :p
This scenario is why I hate the evolution of Call Shot 10-ball.
 
......please elaborate?

I had a whole post going, but I think it would derail this thread. So I flushed it.

There are enough threads out there on Call Shot 10-ball and its evolution.

For this thread, I normally see what other have already put down: If you luck in the called 8-ball, you don't win but you keep shooting.

Freddie
 
Freddie is a lot of fun, it's his taste in attire that is questionable...:p

I''m going to change my avatar just for that!

{edit - okay, I'll just put a typical work outfit photo up}
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4059.jpg
    IMG_4059.jpg
    55.9 KB · Views: 358
Last edited:
I haven't read the rest of the answers, but this is 100% the way I've played it and seen it played: "S contends that the call part of the spot is for the win only, and if the 8 ball falls when shooting it, (in an uncalled pocket), he keeps shooting."

Consider a case where you're shooting the 2 but call the 8 because you observe that there's a chance that the cue will knock the 8 in. If you make the 2 in the correct pocket, or any other pocket for that matter, you keep shooting. Period. You don't have to make the 8 just because you called it.

I am curious to read the rest of the answers now; I'll be shocked if anyone takes the other side.

Cory

ok, last night at the poolhall we all had to hear an argument over a game (the argument drug on for quite a while). Folks in the room were split on what the ruling should be, so I thought I'd post on here to see what the majority says....

Player D is giving player S the call 8 playing 9 ball. Player D leaves player S a jump shot on the 8 (cue was behind the 9 - the only two balls left on the table). S jumps the 9 ball and banks the 8 into the side pocket. It is unclear if he called a pocket at all, but he certainly didn't call the side pocket (it was slopped in). Does player S continue shooting (the 9 ball) or not?

S contends that the call part of the spot is for the win only, and if the 8 ball falls when shooting it, (in an uncalled pocket), he keeps shooting. D says, NO WAY. If the called 8 ball falls in a pocket not called it is immediately his turn at the table.

I had to hear this argument, rather loudly, for about an hour last night....but, being the glutton for punishment that I am, let's hear some more. :p
 
I guess I'm just weird. I see it as 9b temporarily switches to "Call shot mode" when shooting at the 8. In any call shot game like 8b, if the called ball goes in the wrong pocket, you step away from the table.

Also in variants of 9b where you call the game ball... challenge of champions, and I think on the predator tour... uncalled 9's spot and you lose your turn.

Being able to call your game ball, or just slop it to get another free chance at winning... seems a bit too much like having it both ways.
 
Back
Top