It all depends on who's watching the shot...
I agree, however...
A few years ago I was faced with a cue ball and object ball that were about 3/4 inch apart. (in USPPA Texas Express 9-ball) We called the TD to watch the shot. My plan was to do the elevated draw shot and play a safety, backing the cue ball up against the head rail (about a foot away) and moving the OB to the other end of the table. I attempted the very shot you describe. Instead of getting draw, the cue ball jumped up on top of the object ball, and ended up going past it. It was obviously not a double hit, however since the only part of the rules the TD knew was the part where the subsequent action of the cue ball is used as an indicator of whether or not a double hit had occurred, a foul was called.
I took the foul, but was inwardly more than a little disappointed that the TD chose to disregard what he actually saw, and instead, used a section of the rule that is (my interpretation) intended as a general guideline to be used when no one watched the shot that closely.
I only mention this because the effectiveness of any rule regarding object balls in close proximity to the cue ball is going to be highly dependent on the sophistication of the referee. I say sophistication instead of knowledge and experience, because the TD had more than enough of the latter two.
Ken
predator said:The only way to legally execute a straight on shot or a very slight angle cut would be to elevate the cue at 90 degrees and shoot down at the CB (properly executed will draw the CB backwards avoiding the double hit). If the CB follows OB in a straight line, or even stays at the same place, then it's foul.
I agree, however...
A few years ago I was faced with a cue ball and object ball that were about 3/4 inch apart. (in USPPA Texas Express 9-ball) We called the TD to watch the shot. My plan was to do the elevated draw shot and play a safety, backing the cue ball up against the head rail (about a foot away) and moving the OB to the other end of the table. I attempted the very shot you describe. Instead of getting draw, the cue ball jumped up on top of the object ball, and ended up going past it. It was obviously not a double hit, however since the only part of the rules the TD knew was the part where the subsequent action of the cue ball is used as an indicator of whether or not a double hit had occurred, a foul was called.
I took the foul, but was inwardly more than a little disappointed that the TD chose to disregard what he actually saw, and instead, used a section of the rule that is (my interpretation) intended as a general guideline to be used when no one watched the shot that closely.
I only mention this because the effectiveness of any rule regarding object balls in close proximity to the cue ball is going to be highly dependent on the sophistication of the referee. I say sophistication instead of knowledge and experience, because the TD had more than enough of the latter two.
Ken