Freezing a Ball in Hand Shot

Tennesseejoe

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Under World Standardized Rules ...While playing 9 ball, you have the cue ball in hand due to an opponents scratch. Is it legal to freeze the cue ball to an object ball for a frozen ball shot? How about other league rules?
 
Under World Standardized Rules ...While playing 9 ball, you have the cue ball in hand due to an opponents scratch. Is it legal to freeze the cue ball to an object ball for a frozen ball shot? How about other league rules?
Speculating...

The rule that you can't freeze an OB to the CB (when spotting it) suggests it's not legal to freeze the CB to an OB by hand.

pj
chgo
 
Under World Standardized Rules ...While playing 9 ball, you have the cue ball in hand due to an opponents scratch. Is it legal to freeze the cue ball to an object ball for a frozen ball shot? How about other league rules?
No, it is illegal to cause the CB while "in hand" to touch another ball.
Even the tiniest of touch can cause the OB to move (if only a thousandth of an inch, it still moved.)
 
Under World Standardized Rules ...While playing 9 ball, you have the cue ball in hand due to an opponents scratch. Is it legal to freeze the cue ball to an object ball for a frozen ball shot? How about other league rules?
I would say no it is not legal - if the cue ball touches another ball during placement, regardless of whether it’s intentional or not, is an automatic foul.
 
I would say no it is not legal - if the cue ball touches another ball during placement, regardless of whether it’s intentional or not, is an automatic foul.
If you have ball in hand, and any part of you hand or clothing touches an object ball, that is also a foul.
 
I don't play league, but it has to be a foul. I can't think of any cue game where it would be allowed. My question is, what have you got to gain by doing so? You already have BIH. What more are you looking for?
 
I've seen a lot of funny things happen when a player had BIH. One player set the cue ball by the side pocket and had to cue over a ball to hit it. On his first practice stroke back swing he knocked the cue ball into the pocket. Foul!

I watched a player move the cue ball all over the table looking for the perfect spot to put it. This went on for maybe two or three minutes, with him setting it down and then picking it up again and moving somewhere else. When he finally found the spot he liked he put the cue ball down awkwardly and it rolled into a ball that was a couple of inches away. Foul!

Another player was trying to carefully place the cue ball in a tight spot among a cluster of balls. He accidently dropped the cue ball from maybe one foot above the table, right into the cluster. He must have moved four balls on the drop! FOUL!

I watched a player in the BCA tourney (I was not a ref) place the cue ball on the cushion/rail and shoot a shot from there. His opponent said nothing and even told him good shot. No one else seemed to notice or care. No foul called.

I like this one. The player set the cue ball down and proceeded to pick up a nearby object ball and replace it as well. Foul with a big laugh. Even the guy who did it started laughing at himself.
 
Last edited:
I saw a beginner with ball in hand set up to shoot a combination using the bridge, I did later advise them there may be an easier way to use the bih.
 
I saw a beginner with ball in hand set up to shoot a combination using the bridge, I did later advise them there may be an easier way to use the bih.
Using a bridge on a ball-in-hand is fine, if that provides your best shot and gives you your best angle to get shape on your next ball, but certainly not advised for a beginner.
 
Here's part of the applicable rule (6.6):

It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of any object ball except by the normal ball-to-ball
contacts during shots.
There is no exemption that I could find for touching an object ball with the cue ball when it is in hand.

The CSI rules are more explicit:

OFFICIAL RULES OF CUESPORTS INTERNATIONAL P. 36
4. When placing or moving the cue ball, it is a foul if you touch or disturb any object ball with the cue ball or your hand that holds the cue ball. Your "hand" is defined as including the wrist up to a point where a wristwatch would normally be worn. Your opponent has no restoration option.
1-39
 
Back
Top