Hello everyone
OB is frozen to the rail, does the CB after contact with that frozen ball allowed to touch that same rail as a legal shot, 2nd question is the long rail considered 1 rail above and below the side pocket
Thanks in Advance
Hello everyone
OB is frozen to the rail, does the CB after contact with that frozen ball allowed to touch that same rail as a legal shot
2nd question is the long rail considered 1 rail above and below the side pocket
I was always under the assumption that if the OB is frozen to a rail that rail is considered dead and either OB or CB must touch another rail not that same rail
Thanks
2nd question is the long rail considered 1 rail above and below the side pocket
Thanks in Advance
I was always under the assumption that if the OB is frozen to a rail that rail is considered dead and either OB or CB must touch another rail not that same rail
Thanks
Hello everyone
OB is frozen to the rail, does the CB after contact with that frozen ball allowed to touch that same rail as a legal shot, 2nd question is the long rail considered 1 rail above and below the side pocket
Thanks in Advance
1) After contacting the OB, if the cue ball touches the same rail it is a legal shot.
2) I can't think of a scenario where a ball is frozen on the long rail. If it passes the side pocket and touches the rail on the other side, either the cue ball or something had to hit a rail someplace? IMO I would consider the long rail as 2 rails. So a pool table has 6 rails.
http://www.playbca.com/downloads/rulebook/completerulebook.aspx1-19 Legal Shot (AR p. 87)
1. For a shot to be legal, the first ball contacted by the cue ball must be a legal object
ball, or a simultaneous hit with a legal and illegal object ball may occur. After that
contact:
a. any object ball must be pocketed, or;
b. any object ball or the cue ball must contact a cushion.
It is a foul if one of those requirements is not met.
2. If the ball used to meet the cushion contact requirement of Rule 1-19-1-b is declared
frozen to a cushion at the beginning of the shot, then that ball must leave the cushion it is
frozen to and then:
a. contact a cushion other than the one to which it was frozen, or;
b. contact another object ball before it contacts the cushion to which it was
frozen
This is not as easy as it sounds. See:I would guess it's also fair to state that he can double kiss the ball back to the same rail also. He mentioned that the existing rail was off limits when you can actually use the same ball on the same rail
I would guess it's also fair to state that he can double kiss the ball back to the same rail also. He mentioned that the existing rail was off limits when you can actually use the same ball on the same rail
That is not a good hit, a frozen ball has to be driven to a different rail, or the cueball has to contact that rail to be a legal hit. You can't kiss the object ball to the same rail, nor is the ball rolling out and back to the rail due to table roll or something counts as a contacting a rail. Has to be a different one.
Read post #11 again. It is perfectly legal to have a ball frozen to the rail, hit it off the rail into another ball and have it carom back to the same rail for a good hit.
Actually, with a kiss-back shot, there ARE multiple (two) kisses, one where the CB first hits the OB, and a second when the OB hits the CB after compressing the cushion and rebounding, so you are not hallucinating. However, the OB still does not return to the cushion.Thx Doctor Dave. I learned something today. I could have sworn that at a very short distance I could get multiple kisses that sounded like a machine gun. I wonder what I was hearing or was I hallucinating. Don't answer that question.This is not as easy as it sounds. See:
HSV B.39 - Kiss-back shot with difficult secondary cushion contact
Enjoy,
Dave
Al
It could happen that the object ball that is frozen to the long rail goes pass the side pocket and then hits another object ball causing it to then hit the rail pass the side pocket.. No other ball hits a rail except the original frozen object ball. That's one scenario
Actually, with a kiss-back shot, there ARE multiple (two) kisses, one where the CB first hits the OB, and a second when the OB hits the CB after compressing the cushion and rebounding, so you are not hallucinating. However, the OB still does not return to the cushion.
Catch you later,
Dave