Getting the 7,8

Jimmy M. said:
Some of you guys out there really play that you can push your opponent's money ball in the hole and IT STAYS DOWN?! Honestly, I've never heard of anyone playing like that. I like like it if I'm the guy giving weight though!

thats the way most people play it around where I live. Its usually not done because its a bit of a nit(really need a expletive here) move, at least on a push out, but its not against any rules and doesn't get spotted. Have no problem personally with it staying down if its a legal shot, though I don't much care for it going down on a push shot. Even when I'm the one spotting I don't shoot it in on pushes.
 
I like it if I'm the guy giving weight though!
Exactly...... Its like forgetting to tell your opponent he owes a ball in one pocket if it benefits you to keep the spot clear. I grew up gambling where the guy getting weight was not the one in control so to speak.
See to me, the heavier player has no reason to give up extra weight.... ie spotting a money ball once its down on a legal shot. Pocketing a money ball on a push is a legal shot. Think about it this way, if I were giving Joe Schmo the 8. I break and the 8 drops...... I wouldnt spot it for him to have a crack at it if I give the table up would I? He lost that opportunity when the ball fell.
But like cubswin said, I think it falls back to regional differences.
What do you guys call partner play where the partners alternate shots? People outside of the area (KY, OH, WV, IN etc) call it scotch doubles..... in that area its called Cincinnati.
Chuck
 
pahrolli said:
I was playing the other day getting the 789. We established before hand that if money ball gets made on a foul in gets spotted back up. I broke on game and came up dry. He called a roll out and proceded to pocket my 7 ball. I was like spot it up. He said that was a legal hit. I was like, hmmmmmm......... you are sure right. So it stayed down. I was just curious is this right or not?
I'll settle this for you really quick. Being that the 7&8 are your "money balls" they get respotted from the result of a push out. The reason being is just like as if someone called a push and shoots the 9 in; it still comes back out. Your "friend" pulled a fast one on you and cheated you. Because they are your "money balls", they must be pocketed through normal play. You got hustled on a technicality that you lost out on because of your inexperience. It sucks, but next time you know.
 
Last edited:
So, if you knock the nine in on a push, you win? It's a legal shot. Oh, never mind. It's a money ball and that would not make sense- in the same sense that knocking your opponents money ball in on a push. If you can get away with it, then do it if you feel good about doing it. However, I don't think most players will let it happen for too long. :confused:
 
Last edited:
i don't know where some of you guys are from but that ball gets spotted around here... he definately pulled a move on you.
 
branpureza said:
i don't know where some of you guys are from but that ball gets spotted around here... he definately pulled a move on you.
What do they know about nine ball in North Carolina???
 
PoolFool said:
I'll settle this for you really quick. Being that the 7&8 are your "money balls" they get respotted from the result of a push out. The reason being is just like as if someone called a push and shoots the 9 in; it still comes back out. Your "friend" pulled a fast one on you and cheated you. Because they are your "money balls", they must be pocketed through normal play. You got hustled on a technicality that you lost out on because of your inexperience. It sucks, but next time you know.

Of everything I have read on this thread, I like the reasoning of this one the best.
Steve
 
This entire thread is a clear example of why you should be getting the rules down between you ard your opponent BEFORE you play. Rules are different in some places, even in 2 different pool halls in the same town from time to time. If you look at it from that angle, and not a whos right or whos wrong.... you can focus on it and learn from it. Next time you wont make the same mistake.
Chuck
 
Last edited:
No ...

it does not spot. The player made a legal shot. The balls on come up when the player giving up the spot fouls while making a money ball.

The player getting the spot should have stated before the game that any money ball made on a pushout is spotted back up.

In otherwords, the player giving the spot made a move, but the player getting the spot should have covered it to begin with.

In money games, you can not ASSUME anything if it is not stated before you play.
 
pahrolli said:
I was playing the other day getting the 789. We established before hand that if money ball gets made on a foul in gets spotted back up. I broke on game and came up dry. He called a roll out and proceded to pocket my 7 ball. I was like spot it up. He said that was a legal hit. I was like, hmmmmmm......... you are sure right. So it stayed down. I was just curious is this right or not?

Well, you DON'T want to play him for money, but you DO want him to do your tax returns for you.

Chris



Ps. In any real pool room, the money balls come back up. The way I play even if I'm spotting someone and I break and legally pocket their spotted ball, it comes up. That's just the way it is.
 
Last edited:
After being bothered by what is the correct answer to this question is ( I absolutly hate having to second guess myself...... :) ) I looked for other examples in any text I could find..... I have to eat crow it would appear.
This comes from another well respected source.

When giving your opponent "ball spots" they, in essence, are 9-balls (money balls) to him, but not to you. This view allows us to gain some guidence from the published rules.

Under the World Standardized Rules of 9-Ball according to Rules 5.6 Push Out, 5.7 Fouls, and 5.11 Object Balls Jumped Off the Table, the 9-ball is spotted when pocketed on either a push out or a foul shot, or if it is jumped off the table.

Thus, taking the position of the incomming play, any "money balls" pocketed on a push out or foul shot, or jumped off the table, are spotted. This is the "common" rule regarding the spotting of "money balls".

Another words:
1. If the "spottee" on a foul or push out makes, or jumps from the table, any of the balls he is being spotted they do not spot; and
2. If the "spotter" on a foul or push out makes, or jumps from the table, any of the balls he is giving up they do spot.

After lots of years of playing the ball stays down, I dont know what to say other than I was....wr.....wr.....wr...........wrong. There I said it. :D
Chuck
ps...... the crow needs salt
 
RiverCity said:
After being bothered by what is the correct answer to this question is ( I absolutly hate having to second guess myself...... :) ) I looked for other examples in any text I could find..... I have to eat crow it would appear.
This comes from another well respected source.



After lots of years of playing the ball stays down, I dont know what to say other than I was....wr.....wr.....wr...........wrong. There I said it. :D
Chuck
ps...... the crow needs salt
Now, are you going to give all the money back that you won from this "move" you have been using! You better hope they don't read this forum.
 
There is a reason for the spot and it is because the person recieving it is a weaker player and needs a handicap; usually because they can not run out an entire rack. What's the point of spotting someone when you can call a push and just pocket his "money ball" knowing he can't run out? I would do it all the time then and call a push and pocket his "money ball"; leaving decent position on the 1 ball because I know that sooner or later he will give up the table. Come on be real! There's a reason for the handicap.
 
Scottster said:
What! Ignore the above advice.

If he pushes out, and sinks one of your money balls it spots. No way is it a foul.

If you foul on your money ball it should stay down.

That is a lame move- one of those 'if you can get away with it' ones- you take BIH and make the 9, if the 7/8 don't come up, neither does the 9. Good luck to him on winning from there, you still got the 8!
 
Back
Top