If you miss and dont call safe, your opponent can either accept the table or give it back, should the cb get safe. The rule is to eliminate lucky hooks. A played safe needs to be called, just like a pocketed ball IMO.
I've only played BCA rules, only time opponent can pass is if you slop a ball in while missing your called pocket.
I hear players call "safe" under that rule set and can't understand why.
I was not aware of the rule set where you can turn the table back over after a lucky safe.
Thx for the info.