How to stay motivated (and other questions)

Aten

m8
Silver Member
Recently I've been putting in some work to try and get my terrible habits and mechanics fixed while I'm still fairly new to the game. There's a couple issues arising for me though; mainly, I'm noticing that some of the fixes make my playing feel very awkward and uncomfortable. While the changes sometimes produce results, it seems like I'm even more inconsistent than I used to be and I miss the very easiest of shots.

All that said, a more experienced player told me that in the earlier stages of attempts to fix mechanics, results don't always show immediately so I shouldn't get frustrated. I've tried to stay positive but the more I play the more these changes become taxing on my mentality.

My main question is... what can I do to keep myself motivated to keep working at my changed game despite not seeing any improvements? Additionally, I've also been told that I should just play the game as comfortably and naturally as possible, but honestly everything about my "natural and comfortable" fundamentals is just horrendous. My stance is unbalanced, my line of sight is never actually in line with my stroke, my elbow drop causes me to hit the cue ball in a different spot from where I am, and my stroke is more of an awkward jab than an actual stroke. I've obviously adapted a bit to subconsciously compensate, but my consistency is nowhere near where I want it to be and I just want to fix my flaws as early as possible.

Also, I seem to be alright whenever a more experienced player is beside me to watch me go through my motions and fix my errors, but when I'm practicing alone I become completely uncertain of myself ("what if the reason I'm missing everything is really that I'm not actually fixing everything properly?"). What can I do about this?

scratchs

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member