How would you rule this if your a ref? 8Ball

VietSoClassic

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Player A has a solid ball and the 8ball, the other Player B has one strip ball left as well and Player B plays safe freezing the cueball on the 8ball given no shot to the solid ball of Player A.

Player A takes a foul by hitting the Player B strip ball into the Player A solid ball.

How would a ref call this in Vegas?

We had a talk about this how it is unsportmanship like and gets a warning or lose the game or lose the match during league play because you hit the other players ball. You could make a mistake and thought that was your ball and you hit that there to block the other balls path... right?

But at the same time, that was the only way to go because there was no way Player A could hit the solid ball and the risk to masse or go 4 rail and miss is a quick lost.

Heres the illustrated picture.
yea.jpg


My POV, It's BCA anything goes no holds bar, if it was the only way to survive than you gotta take that shot to live a bit. When I was in APA, I ran all the balls missing the 8, he played safe and he can RUN-OUT but he had some clutters, I was stuck, so I hit his own ball to the 8ball so he can't get out so easily and I fouled like 3-4times and won that game. We even had a unidentified official come watch me play and I didn't get called for it.

If BCA Ref Official calls that as a warning, lose of game, or match... I will go crazy. The only time i can understand its a warning or whatever it is midway or beginning of the game, you hit the opponents ball to intentionally clutter the balls when you could have made some easy balls, and etc.
 
I would say that it is the correct shot, and there's no problem with shooting it under the rules. That's just part of creative 8 ball strategy. Some organizations play with a 3 foul rule though; either way my opponent, who just did this to me, will not like his next shot. As long as you play according to the rules, anything goes as far as strategy is concerned.
 
That was the right shot if you want to win.

I don't understand the "unsportsmanlike" comment at all. If that was true, any safety shot would be unsportsmanlike.
 
Decision

It is a foul, and BIH to the opponent. The opponent would be wise to put the cue ball just beside the 3 ball, and barely graze it, go 2 rails with the cue ball behind the 8 ball, and leave him hooked.
 
Snapshot9 said:
It is a foul, and BIH to the opponent. The opponent would be wise to put the cue ball just beside the 3 ball, and barely graze it, go 2 rails with the cue ball behind the 8 ball, and leave him hooked.


goodpost.gif
 
just wondering

Snapshot9 said:
It is a foul, and BIH to the opponent. The opponent would be wise to put the cue ball just beside the 3 ball, and barely graze it, go 2 rails with the cue ball behind the 8 ball, and leave him hooked.


why risk giving him a look at his 3ball? You have to be somewhat accurate to do that, why not just barely hitting the 10 and leave him on the long rail behind the 10?
 
Last edited:
The next shot for the incoming player is simple. Take BIH and place the CB in a line with the combo and simply hit the balls hard enough for some separation and freeze the CB to the rail under your stripe ball taking the one rail escape out of play as well as not allowing the incoming player the easy option of simply pushing the balls back together.

CueTable Help

 
Snapshot9 said:
It is a foul, and BIH to the opponent. The opponent would be wise to put the cue ball just beside the 3 ball, and barely graze it, go 2 rails with the cue ball behind the 8 ball, and leave him hooked.

He wouldn't be hooked, because the incoming player who you say should graze the 3 ball actually has the stripes - so it would be BIH for the solids player who originally fouled.

If you line up behind the combo and shoot his 3 up the rail via the combo, he is likely to foul again and push your 11 back up to his 3.

If the 11 passes the 8, I would bank it cross corner and draw the CB back over leaving him with no cross corner return bank because the 8 ball definitely blocks his 3.
 
Even though it's so easy for player b to eventually win the game, nevertheless player A just about has to play that shot.
 
ABall said:
I would say that it is the correct shot, and there's no problem with shooting it under the rules. That's just part of creative 8 ball strategy. Some organizations play with a 3 foul rule though; either way my opponent, who just did this to me, will not like his next shot. As long as you play according to the rules, anything goes as far as strategy is concerned.

I agree completely. Unless the rules stated no intentional defense, then anything goes. The bad part is in this case, the opponent now has a beautiful defense opportunity themselves.

I was just in a team tournament this weekend where on of my teammates had no shot, the opponent had 2 balls on the table, one in the open and one tied up on the 8 where there was no shot to any pocket for that ball. My teammate shot the opponents open ball into a pocket, making the opponent shoot at the tied ball and breaking out the 8 in the process. The opponents called it unsportsmanship, and I say we are here to WIN, not to play stupid.
 
Unsportsman like hit

When you are playing APA, BCA or most pro rule tournaments that is a good strategic play and just gives your opponent ball in hand.

If on the other hand you are playing Joe Blowhard down at the local bar and wino refuse who only knows bar rules 8 ball then Joe is going to call you all kinds of names and go complain to all of his friends what a d**k you are. How you cheated him out of that game. That you have no concept of sportsman like conduct.

All of which is really true about him. But he has no idea what real pool is or how to play any kind of strategy. He just knows to bang the balls in and hope he gets lucky enough to have a shootable shot when he is lucky enough to make one.
 
If I was stipes, I would stick to the back of the 10 and send the 3 down table (toward the other end rail) so that the balls can not be tied up again...


The question that popped into my head was who has the bigger advantage in the long run of the set.......The stripes with the bigger balls (tighter pocket to shoot into) or the solids with the smaller ball (bigger pocket to shoot into):)
 
rules

It is simply ball in hand to the oppenent. There is no unsportsmanlike comduct issue. This is per The Official Rules of the BCA Pool League
 
VietSoClassic said:
... Player A takes a foul by hitting the Player B strip ball into the Player A solid ball.

How would a ref call this in Vegas?
...
At pool, there are penalties for fouls. You are permitted to make almost any shot you please and if it is a foul, you pay the penalty. The penalty for the foul you describe is ball in hand for the opponent.

As was pointed out, if it is not a tournament, you could be in trouble. Byrne tells the story of a player (who was just in Louisville, actually) who went into a bar to play a game or two. He found himself without any shot, so he played a pretty good safety, ball and rail and everything. His opponent punched him in the face knocking him to the floor. "We don't do that around here."

Also, at snooker, a player is not permitted to gain any benefit from a foul, in theory, so in the corresponding situation, the player might well forfeit the game for what is considered to be unsportsmanlike conduct in that game.

When I say, "almost any shot you please" above, I mean to exclude those shot techniques which are not an accepted part of the game. That includes certain kinds of push shots, intentional miscues, intentionally moving balls by means other then tip-to-cue-ball contact, and right hooks to the jaw.
 
Player A takes a foul by hitting the Player B strip ball into the Player A solid ball.
This answers the questions.
We had a talk about this how it is unsportmanship like and gets a warning or lose the game or lose the match during league play because you hit the other players ball. You could make a mistake and thought that was your ball and you hit that there to block the other balls path... right?
This is not unsportsmanlike. Rather, it is a frequent defensive tactic. I.e, happens all the time.

-td
 
BRKNRUN said:
If I was stipes, I would stick to the back of the 10 and send the 3 down table (toward the other end rail) so that the balls can not be tied up again...

:confused: See above post. If you were stripes the shot which put the balls in that position would never have arisen in the first place. The only scenario being considered here is Player A being solids and shooting next:)

If we were playing 'three consecutive fouls' rules I'd tuck him up real tight behind the red leaving only a 3 or 4 cushion length of the table escape and then do it again if he misses and doesn't leave me an out.
 
What transpired is common stratagy for eight ball be it APA, BCA, or any pro tournament. Foul and ball in hand.
The only way this might be considered unsportsmanship like conduct would be that if the ten was positioned over by the three without using the cue ball. In that case referee might issue a warning and reposition the balls back to original position or worse award the game to the three ball.
 
memikey said:
:confused: See above post. If you were stripes the shot which put the balls in that position would never have arisen in the first place. The only scenario being considered here is Player A being solids and shooting next:)

If we were playing 'three consecutive fouls' rules I'd tuck him up real tight behind the red leaving only a 3 or 4 cushion length of the table escape and then do it again if he misses and doesn't leave me an out.


Huh???? ..

The way I read it was that Player A is solids and he intentionally fouls by knocking the striped ball over by the solid.....That gives Player B (stripes) BIH with the stipe and solid right next to each other as show on the WIE diagram...

In that case if I am Player B (stripes) I am going to croque style the solid down to the other end rail and stick the CB right behind the stipe.

The balls are even in a slight angle into the side rail...It is just a straight on stop shot that puts the solid on the end rail....The stripe will easily stop dead and if you know how to apply a stop shot stroke, the CB is not going anywhere either.

At some point you are going to have to create some separation or they are just going to bump the stripe back up on the solid...(unless there is a three foul rule)

EDIT: I still am more concerned about the solids being smaller balls.......How the heck are you supposed to get a tight rack with those???
 
Last edited:
Back
Top