In another thread, I mentioned that a top player's goof related to the rules was due to inexperience with 14.1. I suppose that's not necessarily correct. Some players will play for years using the wrong rules because they have never bothered to learn what the rulebook actually has to say. Some possible examples:
At the 14.1 at Derby City in 2006, two top players made the same mistake at the end of a rack. Both of them seemed not to understand that if they just stopped the cue ball in the rack -- and they both happened to have in-the-rack stop shots for their key ball -- the cue ball would go behind the line and they would be certain to have long but otherwise perfect break shots.
In another forum (IIRC), someone was adamant that if the break ball was near the rack -- interfering with the wood but not the balls themselves -- you just marked its position, racked the balls, and then replaced the break ball.
In a recent league match, the end of the rack went badly, and my break ball was behind the line. I simply left the cue ball in the rack. How many of you know what happens in this situation? My opponent didn't, but he was sure that his knowledge of the rule was better than mine.
Can you list all of the possible cases of what happens at the end of the rack? Do you know which cases require use of the center spot? Do you know where the center spot is?
Back in the 1970's I ran into sort of the opposite of rules ignorance. The BCA for one or two years had a different rule for one of the end-of-the-rack situations. (The BCA had quite a history of meddling with the 14.1 rules for no particularly good reason.) Anyway, I happened to encounter the situation, and my opponent said, "No, you have to do such-and-such." He had brought his rule book as evidence. Fortunately the rule book was a couple of years old, the BCA had changed the rule back to the old way, and the room owner had a copy of the new rule book.
My own feeling is that anyone claiming to be a professional pool player ought to know the rules, but many don't.
At the 14.1 at Derby City in 2006, two top players made the same mistake at the end of a rack. Both of them seemed not to understand that if they just stopped the cue ball in the rack -- and they both happened to have in-the-rack stop shots for their key ball -- the cue ball would go behind the line and they would be certain to have long but otherwise perfect break shots.
In another forum (IIRC), someone was adamant that if the break ball was near the rack -- interfering with the wood but not the balls themselves -- you just marked its position, racked the balls, and then replaced the break ball.
In a recent league match, the end of the rack went badly, and my break ball was behind the line. I simply left the cue ball in the rack. How many of you know what happens in this situation? My opponent didn't, but he was sure that his knowledge of the rule was better than mine.
Can you list all of the possible cases of what happens at the end of the rack? Do you know which cases require use of the center spot? Do you know where the center spot is?
Back in the 1970's I ran into sort of the opposite of rules ignorance. The BCA for one or two years had a different rule for one of the end-of-the-rack situations. (The BCA had quite a history of meddling with the 14.1 rules for no particularly good reason.) Anyway, I happened to encounter the situation, and my opponent said, "No, you have to do such-and-such." He had brought his rule book as evidence. Fortunately the rule book was a couple of years old, the BCA had changed the rule back to the old way, and the room owner had a copy of the new rule book.
My own feeling is that anyone claiming to be a professional pool player ought to know the rules, but many don't.