Intentional hit on 9 ball with no attempt to touch cue ball

Sounds like a regular ball in hand.
Someone pockets the 9 and opponent gets ball in hand and the 9 is spotted....keep shooting.
Happens all the time. No biggie.
 
Thanks for all your replies and opinions!

As the tournament was run by the French Billiards Federation, we were using their rules, which are here for anyone who understands French!
http://www.ffbillard.com/telechargements.html?dossier=23707&id_discipline=4

I had a read through and interestingly it seems that this case isn't properly accounted for in the rules. It is stated that hitting any ball other than the cue ball is a foul, but there is no mention of putting the illegally struck ball (in this case the 9) back to the position where it was before the foul.

That sounds like a fairer outcome - is that what is known as 'all ball fouls' rules? Maybe we need to get these rules added to the federation rulebook, so that this can be avoided in future! We're a fairly small community of pool players in France, so I'll lobby the representatives and see what we can do.
I'm surprised that the FFB does not follow the WPA rules. They seem to be using a modified set that is at least 7 years old. You may want to ask your representative why they don't follow the WPA rules. Here they are: http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play and in particular look at Section 6 for unsportsmanlike conduct, which includes:

(b) changing the position of the balls in play other than by a shot;
 
Sounds like a regular ball in hand.
Someone pockets the 9 and opponent gets ball in hand and the 9 is spotted....keep shooting.
Happens all the time. No biggie.
Did you miss the part where the fouler just knocked the 9 into the pocket without the cue ball being involved in any way? He just pushed the 9 in with his tip. He didn't try to shoot any shot. He never hit the cue ball with his stick.

Loss of game. If he does it again in the tournament, ejection.
 
I feel bad that so many people seem to fail at reading.

Yes, we've all used the cue ball to shoot the wrong object ball on purpose, but i've never seen anyone do what the original poster described.

I guess the jack-anus could have saved a couple of seconds by just picking up the 9 with his hand and putting it on the spot :rolleyes:
 
I'm surprised that the FFB does not follow the WPA rules. They seem to be using a modified set that is at least 7 years old. You may want to ask your representative why they don't follow the WPA rules. Here they are: http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play and in particular look at Section 6 for unsportsmanlike conduct, which includes:

(b) changing the position of the balls in play other than by a shot;

Thanks Bob, I'll certainly ask why we are not following the latest set of rules
 
In 2 pages of discussion Bob Jewett was the first to site the WPA rule. No emotional argument, just the rule. Thank you.
 
(b) changing the position of the balls in play other than by a shot; [/QUOTE]

I have seen a player move an accidentally bumped ball to a completely different position that takes away the shooters intended shot. I agree that this should be loss of game, but where is the official proof? Unless a referee is watching the entire match, how would it be enforced? If someone happened to be recording the game, would the video be allowed as evidence?

Several of my former teammates fell victim to this unsportsmanlike move by the same guy. And they would NEVER intentionally bump a ball to gain an advantage.
 
I guess you didn't realize you were in integral part of the debate when you suggested those involved "can't be fixed".


you're right. Because only you seem to believe it's OK to something so utterly ridiculous, that anyone that has played pool for only a couple years knows is not only against the rules but it is a complete Dbag move.
 
Intentionally shooting the nine ball in the pocket is loss of game. It is treated as a concession of the game. Really no different than someone taking their cue and raking the balls. Disturb the balls intentionally and you've conceded that game.

I change my mind and agree with Jay on this one. I feel its not loss of game due to unsportsmanlike even though it is unsportsmanlike but rather the offender conceded by pocketing the game winning ball with his cue. He cant say it was an accident, like he was just lining up his shot with his cue because the 9 was not the lowest ball on the table and he would not even have tried that shot cause I think OP said he was snookered on a 9 ball shot. I guess I will try this in my next 9 ball tournament, when the 9 is in the jaws or online for a combo and I can not reach it with the QB I will just pocket the 9 with my cue and say "spot it up". Yeah I know, it does sound ridiculous when you say it that way doesn't it?
 
you're right. Because only you seem to believe it's OK to something so utterly ridiculous, that anyone that has played pool for only a couple years knows is not only against the rules but it is a complete Dbag move.

You don't have to remind me I'm right. That was already established.

I initially wrote a paragraph of bullet points shooting holes in your statements but then I realized....it doesn't matter how much logic I throw into the mix...you'll go to the grave calling people "stupid" or accusing them of "Dbag" moves.

I don't have the time to deal with that mentality.

Perhaps someday you'll see the world with a broader perspective.
 
I change my mind and agree with Jay on this one. I feel its not loss of game due to unsportsmanlike even though it is unsportsmanlike but rather the offender conceded by pocketing the game winning ball with his cue. ...
Sometimes the game is played by written rules. You may want to read those rules. Sometimes the rulings are not made just by someones gut feel.
 
Sometimes the game is played by written rules. You may want to read those rules. Sometimes the rulings are not made just by someones gut feel.

I sense there are a few too many areas in the rules that are ambiguous. Perhaps intentionally so.
 
Last edited:
my French mate, you've been robbed. First by your opponent and then by a TD. I feel your pain because many years ago just the same happened to me (in 8-ball though), and an incompetent referee didn't do his job right.

Make FBU revise their rule set and use an up-to-date version.
 
Hang em high

My friend you were robbed!!

Yes, Bob is certainly correct; the rules dictate and you have the answer.

While that certainly addresses the non-emotional issue; this is a game most of us have learned to love and respect. When someone pulls such an unsportsmanship move it irks even the most cool headed of us.

This kind of player would likely be loathe to call a foul on himself (ie: double hit).

Imagine two players on the green of the 18th hole in the final round. A leads B by one stroke. A's ball is an inch from the cup and B's is 12 feet away. B gets to shoot and he takes out an iron and hits A's ball into a water hazard.

I don't think golfers would be quite as generous. They'd probably hang him with any green cloth that might just be handy.

JMHO

Dave
 
"Johnny" did it and lost his backer $20,000. Heck he used the side of his cue! Haha
Who's getting this reference????
 
Back
Top