Is this a foul?

I'm no expert on the rules but I though you had to be at 45 degree angle to hit a jump shot and he wasn't.
 
To me it looked like he hit it like a jump shot. It did not look like a scoop shot where the ferrule gets under the cue ball.

Cuebuddy>>>>using a phone to watch.
I couldn't see a chalk mark on the cloth that is typical when miscueing under the ball. I does look like he is hitting underneath the ball if you go frame by frame here (pause and use the ,. keys).
I think he was just digging down on the ball to get more draw action, and he accidentally hit it too low. He was on the one, so there's no way he was trying to jump over the ball that he was shooting. Which makes me think it couldn't have been intentional.
I think so, too. It's pretty funny that if he hadn't been shooting into the rail at that angle the cue ball wouldn't have hit the 1, resulting in a foul. Because I can't imagine that he would play the shot by jumping over the 1 to kick it straight back I have to agree with the unintentional miscue. I often miscue when stretched out like that. To me, with regard to the rules, this is the same as if he was loading up with the left English and miscued, sending the ball into the rail on the right and back into the 1. A mistake that luckily did not result in a foul.
 
Foul call on SVB that was debated all over, and even DrDave did some videos on the foul/call.
Both of these were tricky and unusual calls. And both lack the clear evidence of a foul and should therefore have not have been called. This referee seems to be a bit more strict. I feel like he's calibrated a bit too sensitive. This raises the question, "How much of a foul would you let slide if a ref erred towards not calling fouls? If the balls in SVB's "foul" were shifted 1/2" and it was difficult to tell if the cueball hit the rail or ball first, and possible to hit the rail and not recontact the rail with the cueball, would you let that slide?
 
Both of these were tricky and unusual calls. And both lack the clear evidence of a foul and should therefore have not have been called. This referee seems to be a bit more strict. I feel like he's calibrated a bit too sensitive. This raises the question, "How much of a foul would you let slide if a ref erred towards not calling fouls? If the balls in SVB's "foul" were shifted 1/2" and it was difficult to tell if the cueball hit the rail or ball first, and possible to hit the rail and not recontact the rail with the cueball, would you let that slide?
The norm of course is the ball eventually made a good hit so it passes. I wouldn't give ignoring it a second thought. The issue as I see it though, is one of professional competence. Foul.
 
Nowhere in the WPA World Standardized Rules is a 45-degree angle mentioned. Many jump shots are played at less than 45 degrees.
I only heard of it used at DCC. When close to a ball gets you out of trouble for a bad hit.

 
Intent never matters in pool. I have never intended on ever miscuing or losing.

What happens is what matters

Best
Fatboy

I reckon that's why all the new rule changes have generally tried to take the luck and intent out of the game. Hard to determine what's in someone's head versus the objective happenings on the table.

Should be able to video what happened and determine objectively what's good and bad.
 
I only heard of it used at DCC. When close to a ball gets you out of trouble for a bad hit.

I think there has been a huge misconception about the 45 deg rule....

When it is used to avoid a double hit, I dont think it is supposed to be a 45 deg elevation. It is the 45deg CUT SHOT that is being referred to. A 45deg or greater cut shot would eliminate the foul.
 
I think there has been a huge misconception about the 45 deg rule....

When it is used to avoid a double hit, I dont think it is supposed to be a 45 deg elevation. It is the 45deg CUT SHOT that is being referred to. A 45deg or greater cut shot would eliminate the foul.

I agree in general, but at DCC (and other tournaments in Sacramento I've been to) it's used to (by rule) to avoid a double hit (even if you technically make one). That is, even if you do double hit accidentally that can be shown on a recorded replay in slow motion, they don't want to have to have someone else making the call every time it occurs. Jack up enough and your good to go.

Was at DCC last year and a friend of mine jacked up and shot. The opponent called foul (double hit). A ref was called over and the opponent was told that they should have paid attention at the player's meeting. It's not in the official rules of pool but used in some tournaments to eliminate arguments especially when refs aren't always present at all games.
 
Have you read 8.18?
I guess it depends on your definition of “clearly visible” (it would be like the testimony of a ‘gunshot-murder‘ witness ruled inadmissible because he didn’t actually see the bullet that traveled from the gun to the victim).
 
6.6 Touched Ball

It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of any object ball except by the normal ball-toball
contacts during shots. It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of the cue ball except
when it is in hand or by the normal tip-to-ball forward stroke contact of a shot
. The shooter is
responsible for the equipment he controls at the table, such as chalk, bridges, clothing, his
hair, parts of his body, and the cue ball when it is in hand, that may be involved in such fouls.
If such a foul is accidental, it is a standard foul, but if it is intentional, it is 6.17
Unsportsmanlike Conduct
.
 
6.6 Touched Ball

It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of any object ball except by the normal ball-toball
contacts during shots. It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of the cue ball except
when it is in hand or by the normal tip-to-ball forward stroke contact of a shot
. The shooter is
responsible for the equipment he controls at the table, such as chalk, bridges, clothing, his
hair, parts of his body, and the cue ball when it is in hand, that may be involved in such fouls.
If such a foul is accidental, it is a standard foul, but if it is intentional, it is 6.17
Unsportsmanlike Conduct.
Point being (I guess), is that you likely use too much draw at your own risk. Miscues with low english usually cause the CB to leave the playing surface, but still pass under the ‘clearly visible’ exception. But, enough loft to actually jump an OB is quite something else.
 
I only heard of it used at DCC. When close to a ball gets you out of trouble for a bad hit.

The DCC is not played by WPA (World Standardized) Rulles. It is played by Greg Sullivan's rules. His show, his rules.
 
Back
Top