Is This a Foul?

Island Drive

Otto/Dads College Roommate/Cleveland Browns
Silver Member
During pro play the shooter pockets his ball and the cue ball is traveling 3 rails for shape.

On it's way to the next position, the shooter notices a small piece of chalk on table that will effect the cue ball.
He quickly grabs the obstacle before whitey crosses it's path and redirects Whitey.

Is this a foul?
I know it's not grooming or swiping the table during rolling, but.......


So what's the refs call?
 
I got curious and checked this. Couldn't find anything that even mentioned this. Not sure its a foul but may be considered un-sportsmanlike and get a warning from ref. Watched a lot of snooker and this has never happened. You see it happen or did boredom just get you? ;)
 
Not sure if that's a foul or not.
But this is a fowl.

1673622891598.png
 
I got curious and checked this. Couldn't find anything that even mentioned this. Not sure its a foul but may be considered un-sportsmanlike and get a warning from ref. Watched a lot of snooker and this has never happened. You see it happen or did boredom just get you? ;)
I didn’t see anything in his original post that specified snooker.

Am I missing something?

For what it’s worth, I can’t think of any reason that it would be considered a foul in pool, but again, maybe I’m missing something…
 
I guess i saw 'shooter' and turned it in
I didn’t see anything in his original post that specified snooker.

Am I missing something?

For what it’s worth, I can’t think of any reason that it would be considered a foul in pool, but again, maybe I’m missing something…
to 'snooker'. Not enough coffee yet. ;)
 
I think this rule might be applicable to the situation. I’d argue that the player was in the spirit of being responsible for the equipment by removing the obstruction and was only serving to ensure the paths from normal ball-to-ball contacts was preserved. I would not object to the practice nor would I rule a foul.

1673624808472.png
 
If removing something from the table that didn’t belong there was called a foul, it would make my opponent a super nit.
If a ref called it a foul, I’m laying my cue on the table and telling him I’m going over his head to get a proper ruling.
 
I got curious and checked this. Couldn't find anything that even mentioned this. Not sure its a foul but may be considered un-sportsmanlike and get a warning from ref. Watched a lot of snooker and this has never happened. You see it happen or did boredom just get you? ;)
Nope, but with all the excessive chalking I find the chalk edges sharp and come off easily.
Just a question, something that will eventually come up somewhere some time in pro play, I thought it was a Good Question.
 
It be interesting to see what Jewett says with the rolling ball.
If I was the referee, I'd let the shooter continue.
Because his actions would not effect the natural path of the balls.
 
No, It matters not what the object was, if he were using the bridge and moved out of the way of the moving ball or a piece of chalk got knocked onto the playing surface and was removed while the ball was moving, obviously it would not be a foul.
 
True, but opponent might mention, grooming the surface. I often see pros brush the cloth because of small particulates before the shot.
 
I suppose you could argue that if the chalk particle was from the shooter, it would be a foul if he hit it.

There is no explicit rule against cleaning the equipment. A more common example is when a player with ball in hand (as for the break shot) puts the cue ball into his pocket and gives it a good rub. Or less questionable, rubs it on the nose of the cushion.
 
I don't think it's a foul, and really don't think the altering the path of the ball applies here. Main thing being the chalk, or whatever, is a foreign object to the play and if anything, the player is removing something that would un-naturally alter the path. I have grabbed a template rack out of the way of a ball rolling many times, no one ever has spoken up that is a foul. As long as I did not touch the ball with the rack or my hand during the process that is. To use an extreme example, when you shoot using a bridge, you need to move it out of the way after you shoot with it, no one expects you to leave it on the table even though it was there during the execution of the shot.

As an aside, there is a shot I remember clear as it was yesterday because of this exact situation, and this happened 30 years ago. I was in a tournament and played a bank combo on the 9 ball. The ball hit the 9 perfectly and the 9 was rolling towards the corner pocket, till it jumped and stopped after hitting a crumble of chalk that was on the table. Let me tell you that every day since that happened I watch the table surface very carefully LOL
 
Setting up my pool league I read as many different Pro Rules as possible.
I never ran across this rule, remove 'x' from table while balls were stopped or rolling.
But I have seen where players tell the ref there's 'x' on the table and the ref removes it.

I'd say, if you didn't cause a foul as per rules, it's not a foul.
But if said 'x' that you moved or flicked touched a ball, yes it's a foul.

That's my CLUCK and stick'n to it.

SOME association(s) state you cannot place a foreign object on the rails. That would be a foul... LAME one at best.
Exception being chalk or marker.
But consideration(s) should be made with polished corner irons.
At times lights shine in my/our eyes and I'll place my wallet on said iron, some say in tournaments that's a foul.
Personally that light shine is a foreign object and must be removed.
So far I haven't won that argument, but that rule can change, if it has to, I guess.


.
 
Last edited:
no reason for a player to be allowed to touch anything after the cueball is rolling. he had his chance before he shot.

one example there is a piece of chalk near the pocket and the cueball is rolling towards it and that may deflect it into the pocket. so he picks up the chalk.
next time the cueball is rolling toward the pocket and the piece of chalk will save if from scratching so he leaves it there.
 
no reason for a player to be allowed to touch anything after the cueball is rolling. he had his chance before he shot.

one example there is a piece of chalk near the pocket and the cueball is rolling towards it and that may deflect it into the pocket. so he picks up the chalk.
next time the cueball is rolling toward the pocket and the piece of chalk will save if from scratching so he leaves it there.
That's arguably unsportsmanlike conduct.
But (rule dependent) isn't the foul outcome the same?

.
 
Back
Top