Is This a Foul?

no reason for a player to be allowed to touch anything after the cueball is rolling. he had his chance before he shot.

one example there is a piece of chalk near the pocket and the cueball is rolling towards it and that may deflect it into the pocket. so he picks up the chalk.
next time the cueball is rolling toward the pocket and the piece of chalk will save if from scratching so he leaves it there.
That makes zero sense, the bridge? his cue tip touching the cloth? or maybe his bridge hand lol
 
no reason for a player to be allowed to touch anything after the cueball is rolling. he had his chance before he shot.

one example there is a piece of chalk near the pocket and the cueball is rolling towards it and that may deflect it into the pocket. so he picks up the chalk.
next time the cueball is rolling toward the pocket and the piece of chalk will save if from scratching so he leaves it there.
Piece of chalk on table, and a small bite of chalk or two entirely different situations.
You could pocket your ball, move multiple balls to get shape, and during the ball movements this bite of chalk could of been in the shadows of another ball, unseen.
 
yes and in my opinion that piece of chalk that was on the table should stay there and let the balls go where they may. why should the shooter get to make the decision if it stays or not.
 
MaHa.... So if you see small piece in the pocket area, then you must leave it there?
 
Hummm...
A chalk cube is a equipment. A piece of chalk that's any size
smaller than the cube of chalk on the table, is not equipment.
That's not to say that a 'Bridge' that falls apart &
the 'Fingers' stay on the table is not equipment.

.
 
yes bill, -only- after the cueball is in motion. you dont get to make that choice, to leave it or pick it up, after the shot is in action. not fair to your opponent.

i am not talking about removing things that are in your possession from the shot that are on the table that need to be removed before the balls can interfere..
 
Setting up my pool league I read as many different Pro Rules as possible.
I never ran across this rule, remove 'x' from table while balls were stopped or rolling.
But I have seen where players tell the ref there's 'x' on the table and the ref removes it.

I'd say, if you didn't cause a foul as per rules, it's not a foul.
But if said 'x' that you moved or flicked touched a ball, yes it's a foul.

That's my CLUCK and stick'n to it.

SOME association(s) state you cannot place a foreign object on the rails. That would be a foul... LAME one at best.
Exception being chalk or marker.
But consideration(s) should be made with polished corner irons.
At times lights shine in my/our eyes and I'll place my wallet on said iron, some say in tournaments that's a foul.
Personally that light shine is a foreign object and must be removed.
So far I haven't won that argument, but that rule can change, if it has to, I guess.


.
I saw a match where Earl was playing a Japanese guy and the Japanese man put a small cloth on the pocket castings to eliminate glare. At som point there was a conversation and I think they let him continue.
 
I'm just going to put this out there... First off, that piece of chalk has no business being on the table under normal playing circumstances. And it'd have to be a pretty dang large chunk of chalk laying there where someone could know just by looking that the cue ball is 100% going to hit it and potentially change course. So, taking that into consideration, there's no certain way to know if that piece was or wasn't going to cause an issue most of the time. Having said that, if it's a foul, that rule needs to be looked at. All the player did was make sure that the cue ball was going to arrive at its naturally occurring location based on what's supposed to be on the table.

I know this isn't a 1:1 analogy, but let's say an insect (obviously not a piece of equipment) lands on the table in the cue ball's path while said cue ball is moving. Would it be a foul to shoo that insect away to remove the chance of interference?

Bottom line, in my humble opinion, removing something from the table that shouldn't be there to eliminate the chance of interference should not be a foul. If anything, it's the right thing to do.
 
I thought I seen a Pro match where the incoming player saw a chalk cube on the rail and tossed it.
Only one I can think of doing that is Earl.
 
During pro play the shooter pockets his ball and the cue ball is traveling 3 rails for shape.

On it's way to the next position, the shooter notices a small piece of chalk on table that will effect the cue ball.
He quickly grabs the obstacle before whitey crosses it's path and redirects Whitey.

Is this a foul?
I know it's not grooming or swiping the table during rolling, but.......


So what's the refs call?
Not a foul.
 
During pro play the shooter pockets his ball and the cue ball is traveling 3 rails for shape.

On it's way to the next position, the shooter notices a small piece of chalk on table that will effect the cue ball.
He quickly grabs the obstacle before whitey crosses it's path and redirects Whitey.

Is this a foul?
I know it's not grooming or swiping the table during rolling, but.......


So what's the refs call?
Not sure but when you are playing cueball fouls only, and say you knock an object ball after your shot, the opponent can choose if he wants you to place it back, BUT, it is a foul if the object ball you moved would have been in the path of the cueball on its way around the table.
 
I thought I seen a Pro match where the incoming player saw a chalk cube on the rail and tossed it. ...
I've seen a carom player do that. He has a very short fuse. Carom players in general do not leave their chalk on the table. I think he did give his opponent a warning, but on the second offense it became a game of catch.
 
Can a PGA golfer start rolling a slow, long putt, and if a leaf were to blow onto his line could he run ahead and pick it up ? The answers my friends, are blowing in the wind. 🎶 The answers are blowing in the wind. 🎶

I like Jay’s answer.
 
Can a PGA golfer start rolling a slow, long putt, and if a leaf were to blow onto his line could he run ahead and pick it up ? The answers my friends, are blowing in the wind. 🎶 The answers are blowing in the wind. 🎶

I like Jay’s answer.
I watched golfers run.
They remind me of 1-Pocket games.
:oops:

.
 
I think this rule might be applicable to the situation. I’d argue that the player was in the spirit of being responsible for the equipment by removing the obstruction and was only serving to ensure the paths from normal ball-to-ball contacts was preserved. I would not object to the practice nor would I rule a foul.

View attachment 681139
What if someone “blows” my ball?
 
Back
Top