Mika V De Luna Controversy....

I don’t think a foul was called, but it’s hard to hear what the ref said. If anything he would have said something like “you didn’t call the 9.”

The World Billiard TV YouTube channel posted a clip of just the incident:
Why would the ref stop Mika and Mika argue he called the 9 ?
He did not hear Mika call the 9.
 
I saw a match where you had to call the 9 ball pocket and Efren forgot to call the pocket and lost that game. In another game of the same match he was going to pocket another 9 without calling the pocket and the crowd yelled out to remind him. Of course, Efren was grateful and was smiling ear to ear. To win the match Efren pointed to the pocket and called it about 4 times and the crowd went wild with laughter. Sure some here saw that match on YouTube.
Yes, I saw that too. It was the Manny Paqui (I'm 80% sure) tournament about 10 years ago in the Philippines. Efren ended up winning the whole event in a field of Filipino killers. The refs were super strict and penalizing with a loss of turn to every single missed call, even if the 10 was hanging in the jaws.
 
Regarding the rules, CSI is incredibly explicit about this.
View attachment 690595

But this isn't governed by CSI rules, it's a WPA event governed by world standardized rules. These rules are far less explicit and significantly more lax.

It does say the shooter "should" call the shot "if there is any chance of confusion". This is very soft wording. It acts more like guidance. If Mika had called it clearly and audibly, there's no confusion. But it doesn't mean he must call it. It doesn't mean it's mandatory. It didn't use the word "must". If the ref is satisfied with the intention of the shot, it doesn't need to be called. A kick, combo, or carom may be considered obvious under WPA as long as the referee is satisfied.
1677795294245.png


The way I'm reading this, Deluna or the ref should have asked what his intended shot was. To me the shot was so obvious I don't even know why it was in question at all.

I'm curious if anyone actually present in the arena heard the ref call the foul?
 
View attachment 690634

The way I'm reading this, Deluna or the ref should have asked what his intended shot was. To me the shot was so obvious I don't even know why it was in question at all.

I'm curious if anyone actually present in the arena heard the ref call the foul?
That’s a terrible rule. The burden shouldn’t be on the ref to stop the player and ask for clarification. Is that WPA?
 
Hmm? It wouldn’t have been a foul to not call the 9, it just would have been end of inning.

I just watched the argument.
The ref clearly says I didn't hear it.

It's a nit rule but any combos should be clearly called by the shooter.
Saw Morra lose a turn against Dennis on a TAR video.
Efren lost a game to Mika on that dumb call 9 ESPN tournament eons ago.
Efren almost did it again on the final ball until the audience screamed at him . Mika was not happy the audience interfered with the match.
 
I just watched the argument.
The ref clearly says I didn't hear it.

It's a nit rule but any combos should be clearly called by the shooter.
Saw Morra lose a turn against Dennis on a TAR video.
Efren lost a game to Mika on that dumb call 9 ESPN tournament eons ago.
Efren almost did it again on the final ball until the audience screamed at him . Mika was not happy the audience interfered with the match.
I don’t know if you’re not understanding me or I’m not understanding you. You said ”the ref called a foul.” All I’m saying is that, even if Mika failed to call the 9, it would not be a foul, it would just be end of inning. Mika hit the correct ball first, no matter what he called. Making an uncalled ball after hitting the lowest ball on the table is not a foul, it’s just de Luna’s turn.
 
I don’t know if you’re not understanding me or I’m not understanding you. You said ”the ref called a foul.” All I’m saying is that, even if Mika failed to call the 9, it would not be a foul, it would just be end of inning. Mika hit the correct ball first, no matter what he called. Making an uncalled ball after hitting the lowest ball on the table is not a foul, it’s just de Luna’s turn.
Or Delian could have made Mika shoot again
 

A combo is clearly defined as NOT OBVIOUS and must be called. If the ref didn't hear it, Deluna certainly didn't either.

Not Obvious (see "Obvious shot")
Object Ball
A ball other than the cue ball.
Obvious Shot (AR p. 77, 85)
A shot in which the non-shooting player has no doubt as to, or does not question, the ball
and the pocket. A shot in which the cue ball has a clear path to the object ball and the
object ball has a clear path to the pocket. The following types of shots are exceptions and
are defined as being "not obvious":
a. bank shots;
b. kick shots
c. combination shots;
d. shots that include caroms, kisses or cushion contacts that are not
incidental;
e. any shot judged as not obvious by the referee.
 
Yes, I saw that too. It was the Manny Paqui (I'm 80% sure) tournament about 10 years ago in the Philippines. Efren ended up winning the whole event in a field of Filipino killers. The refs were super strict and penalizing with a loss of turn to every single missed call, even if the 10 was hanging in the jaws.

those tournaments used to have a stupid version of call shot rules. some year later carlo biado didn't call the last straight in obvious 10-ball at hill-hill. demosthenes pulpul, who is made from the same mold as deluna, took advantage and then jumped around and cheered as a clown.

call shot isn't inherently bad, but there have definitely been situations where it's poorly implemented
 
Back
Top