One Pocket Rule Question: Foul or no?

CrossSideLarry

Cross Side Larry
Silver Member
Shooting a ball into my pocket, I make the ball clean. Cue ball hits short rail and bounces back and hits mt cue tip before I can get cue out of the way.

What is the call? Foul or no foul?
 
Sorry

It's a foul for sure but, at least, it shows you're following through.
Keep it nice. Alfie
 
Keep in mind it is a ball in place foul and not ball in hand or behind the line foul so it may just cost you the ball made and a penalty ball and it may cost you the game if the balls are laying open and ready to be made.
 
Keep in mind it is a ball in place foul and not ball in hand or behind the line foul so it may just cost you the ball made and a penalty ball and it may cost you the game if the balls are laying open and ready to be made.


Hmmm spktur... Are you sure the cue ball doesn't go BIH in the kitchen? Take it one step further... What if I shot a shot, and didn't make anything and realized the CB was going to go into a position that would sell out - so as it's still rolling I "casually" knock it with my cue and "re-direct" it to a non-sell-out position? If I just had to spot a ball to gain that table position, it would be helpful....
 
Hmmm spktur... Are you sure the cue ball doesn't go BIH in the kitchen? Take it one step further... What if I shot a shot, and didn't make anything and realized the CB was going to go into a position that would sell out - so as it's still rolling I "casually" knock it with my cue and "re-direct" it to a non-sell-out position? If I just had to spot a ball to gain that table position, it would be helpful....


This should be an unsportsmanlike conduct foul.

6.6 Intentional fouls are an accepted part of One Pocket tactics as long as they are played by use of a legal stroke, such as by lightly touching the cue ball with the cue tip; by rolling the cue ball to a new location without regard for legal contact with either an object ball or a cushion; by pocket scratching the cue ball; or by using a legal jump technique to force the cue ball off the table. However, if the acting official rules that a player has used an illegal technique to direct the cue ball or any object balls to a more desirable location, then the incoming player has the option of either playing the balls where they lie, or requesting the official to restore all such moved balls to their location prior to the illegal maneuver. The offending player is charged the standard one ball foul penalty, and in addition may be further penalized at the discretion of the acting official under the general rules of unsportsmanlike conduct.
 
Hmmm spktur... Are you sure the cue ball doesn't go BIH in the kitchen? Take it one step further... What if I shot a shot, and didn't make anything and realized the CB was going to go into a position that would sell out - so as it's still rolling I "casually" knock it with my cue and "re-direct" it to a non-sell-out position? If I just had to spot a ball to gain that table position, it would be helpful....

Why am I not surprised that your mind would take it in that direction? ;)

Pretty sure it's not a ball in hand foul, though...Which leaves room for unscrupulous types (like you :D) to take advantage of those who have never seen this move before.

I used to play with a guy who used the "double tap" foul when he was in trouble playing one pocket. If the other guy's game ball was hanging, and he couldn't get it out of there, he would lightly touch the CB with his tip, then shoot in the hanger before anyone could say anything.

Reasoning: I touched the cue ball twice, so that ball spots, plus another one.

Sounds good in theory, but also falls under the unsportsmanlike rule.
 
Why am I not surprised that your mind would take it in that direction? ;)

Pretty sure it's not a ball in hand foul, though...Which leaves room for unscrupulous types (like you :D) to take advantage of those who have never seen this move before.

I used to play with a guy who used the "double tap" foul when he was in trouble playing one pocket. If the other guy's game ball was hanging, and he couldn't get it out of there, he would lightly touch the CB with his tip, then shoot in the hanger before anyone could say anything.

Reasoning: I touched the cue ball twice, so that ball spots, plus another one.

Sounds good in theory, but also falls under the unsportsmanlike rule.

Desperate times call for despot measures! lol

But really, I would never do this (unless I was playing YOU!) :p
 
The CB stays where it is and to push it someplace better to the offenders liking is an intentional foul and unsportsmanlike penalty is attached.
 
Hmmm spktur... Are you sure the cue ball doesn't go BIH in the kitchen? Take it one step further... What if I shot a shot, and didn't make anything and realized the CB was going to go into a position that would sell out - so as it's still rolling I "casually" knock it with my cue and "re-direct" it to a non-sell-out position? If I just had to spot a ball to gain that table position, it would be helpful....

This is the general rule for such situations

6.6 Intentional fouls are an accepted part of One Pocket tactics as long as they are played by use of a legal stroke, such as by lightly touching the cue ball with the cue tip; by rolling the cue ball to a new location without regard for legal contact with either an object ball or a cushion; by pocket scratching the cue ball; or by using a legal jump technique to force the cue ball off the table. However, if the acting official rules that a player has used an illegal technique to direct the cue ball or any object balls to a more desirable location, then the incoming player has the option of either playing the balls where they lie, or requesting the official to restore all such moved balls to their location prior to the illegal maneuver. The offending player is charged the standard one ball foul penalty, and in addition may be further penalized at the discretion of the acting official under the general rules of unsportsmanlike conduct.

The act you describe would warrant a further penalty as it is basically cheating.
 
Yes, any ball made on a foul is put back on the table plus you need to pay for that foul with one of your balls.

Anyone see that match with SVB and Mika. Two balls were hooked together and Mika attempted a shot where the cue ball would come around and hit the two balls to break them up. When he saw that the object ball missed the pocket he used his cue to adjust the movement of the cue ball so it would miss the two balls. SVB called an unsportsmanlike conduct foul but was only given ball in hand.
 
Yes, any ball made on a foul is put back on the table plus you need to pay for that foul with one of your balls.

Anyone see that match with SVB and Mika. Two balls were hooked together and Mika attempted a shot where the cue ball would come around and hit the two balls to break them up. When he saw that the object ball missed the pocket he used his cue to adjust the movement of the cue ball so it would miss the two balls. SVB called an unsportsmanlike conduct foul but was only given ball in hand.
If that was clearly intentional, that game should have gone to Shane right there in my opinion. That is what the rule is for. An accident such as the opening post describes (cue still in its follow-through position and hits the cue ball a second time) -- that's just a foul, and the pocketed ball spots (assuming it went in the shooter's pocket), plus a penalty ball.

Sometimes of course, it gets a little fuzzy as to whether something was "intentional" or not. Reasonable doubt should go to the shooter in that case, if you ask me. However, no way would I consider it an accident if the cue stick (or hand) had to be moved significantly away from its shooting position to cause the interference. Of course, to get this kind of "unsportsmanlike" call, you would have to have the full support of the tournament director and pretty clear agreement as to what happened, otherwise yeah, it is going to end up being just a foul. Gambling even more so, since there is no "tournament director" lol.
 
Back
Top