one pocket rules question

deanoc

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
my oponet knocks an object ball off the table and pockets a ball in my hole on the same shot

does my ball come back up too
please do not respond unless you know the answer for sure
 
my oponet knocks an object ball off the table and pockets a ball in my hole on the same shot

does my ball come back up too
please do not respond unless you know the answer for sure

Tis a foul and all balls pocketed come up.
 
The stroke itself is a foul, no different than scratching the cue ball in a pocket. Any and ALL balls pocketed during the course of a foul are spotted.

Spot them all up.
 
this is from onepocket.org rules of the game
6.2 Any scratch or foul results in the end of the shooter’s inning, as well as a standard one ball penalty. All balls pocketed in the shooter’s pocket as a result of a stroke that includes a foul do not count for the shooting player and are to be immediately spotted, along with the standard one ball penalty. Also, any balls pocketed in the opponent’s pocket on a stroke that ends in either a pocket scratch or with the cue ball off the table are not to be counted for the opponent, and are to be immediately spotted. However, on a stroke when any other foul is committed (such as a push shot, double-hit or illegal ball contact), any balls scored into the opponent’s pocket are to stay down and be counted for the opponent.

the way i interpret the rule you keep your ball he has to spot one and the object ball that left the table and you play from where the cue ball lies
 
None of the gamblers around here think an object ball off the table is a foul. Except me, because I do know how to read a rule book:eek:
 
there is this caveat in the onepocket.org rule book
6.5 Driving either the cue ball or an object ball off the table is a foul, whenever either comes to rest off the playing surface, or comes in contact with anything other than the table itself while airborne.

Please note that One Pocket has been traditionally played in many areas without a foul charged for jumping an object ball off the table, contrary to current general pocket billiards rules; therefore it is important to verify house rules or your tournament director's interpretation prior to an important match.
 
knocking the ball off the table is a foul
i once saw a man whose opponent needed1 ball,he could not follow a shot in as there was an easy shot left so he intentionally hit the cue ball twice to foul and made the ball in his opponents pocket leaving the cue ball right there
a rule stated that the ball did not come up on this foul
i am wanting to know if the same rule applies here
 
knocking the ball off the table is a foul
i once saw a man whose opponent needed1 ball,he could not follow a shot in as there was an easy shot left so he intentionally hit the cue ball twice to foul and made the ball in his opponents pocket leaving the cue ball right there
a rule stated that the ball did not come up on this foul
i am wanting to know if the same rule applies here

I would go by the onepocket.org rules quoted above. It seems that the "spot it up, he doesn't get it" requirements were not met by the object ball off the table foul. So, the ball counts for the opponent and it is a foul on the shooter.

Which brings up another question. If the shooter had managed to take both the combo object ball and the cue ball off the table while he pocketed the opponent's hanger, would the hanger still count? By the 1P.org rule it would.
 
I would go by the onepocket.org rules quoted above. It seems that the "spot it up, he doesn't get it" requirements were not met by the object ball off the table foul. So, the ball counts for the opponent and it is a foul on the shooter.

Which brings up another question. If the shooter had managed to take both the combo object ball and the cue ball off the table while he pocketed the opponent's hanger, would the hanger still count? By the 1P.org rule it would.
It looks to me like you have misspoken here Bob and are liable to confuse some people. As I read the OnePocket.org rules in your scenario (quoted in red), because the cue ball jumped the table the opponent's object ball would also come up. The ONLY times the opponent's object ball comes up on a foul is either jumping the cue ball or pocket scratching the cue ball -- any other foul and it stays down. That's simply to avoid creative nit fouls by the shooter.

Regarding the opening poster's question, the definitive answer is that whether an object ball off the table is considered a foul or not, if an opponent's ball falls in on the shot, that ball stays down, (unless of course, either the cue ball jumps the table or the cue ball pocket scratches). Yes, by tradition in some areas, an object ball off the table was not or is not considered a foul, but that doesn't matter in the opening poster's question anyway, because either way the ball that dropped into the opponent's pocket still stays down (unless the cue ball jumps the table or pocket scratches, of course).
 
is there anyone who knows how they play it at the derby
perhaps a judge
At DCC and CSI and OnePocket.org by the One Pocket rules, if you pocket a ball in your opponent's pocket and jump another object ball off the table, it is a foul, but the ball counts for the opponent, unless the cue ball also jumps the table or pocket scratches.
Simple answer and that's the way it is.

OnePocket.org rules:
6.2 Any scratch or foul results in the end of the shooter’s inning, as well as a standard one ball penalty. All balls pocketed in the shooter’s pocket as a result of a stroke that includes a foul do not count for the shooting player and are to be immediately spotted, along with the standard one ball penalty. Also, any balls pocketed in the opponent’s pocket on a stroke that ends in either a pocket scratch or with the cue ball off the table are not to be counted for the opponent, and are to be immediately spotted. However, on a stroke when any other foul is committed (such as a push shot, double-hit or illegal ball contact), any balls scored into the opponent’s pocket are to stay down and be counted for the opponent.

CSI rules:
d. if you commit a foul other than a scratch or jumped cue ball, any ball
pocketed in your opponent’s target pocket counts for your opponent;
e. if you scratch or jump the cue ball off the table, any ball pocketed in your
opponent’s target pocket does not count for your opponent and must be spotted
 
At DCC and CSI and OnePocket.org by the One Pocket rules, if you pocket a ball in your opponent's pocket and jump another object ball off the table, it is a foul, but the ball counts for the opponent, unless the cue ball also jumps the table or pocket scratches.
Simple answer and that's the way it is.
...
As I read the OnePocket.org rules, the ball does count for the opponent. The important sentence is:

However, on a stroke when any other foul is committed (such as a push shot, double-hit or illegal ball contact), any balls scored into the opponent’s pocket are to stay down and be counted for the opponent.
An object ball off the table is an example of "any other foul".

Perhaps the rule was meant to say, "on a stroke which is a foul but in which the cue ball does not scratch or jump the table."

I think I know what the rule should say, but I think it is very difficult to say it clearly to someone who has never played one pocket before.

Here's another example: The player tries to make a ball and jump the cue ball off the table but the cue ball jumps back onto the player's arm and then falls onto the floor.

And: The player tries to make a ball and jump the cue ball off the table but the cue ball stays on the table and out of frustration the player hits the cue ball again while it is still moving and it jumps off the table.

(My original example was when both the cue ball and some object ball are jumped off the table while pocketing a hanger for the opponent.)

I think both the 1P.org and the CSI rules are not clear for these cases.
 
Back
Top