Perhaps she had a few too many......APA ruling

If she was that intoxicated I would have spot the 8 ball and took ball in hand. Chances are she wouldn't be in any condition to win anyways.

This is a classic. Never heard anything like that before. I might have to do this on purpose sometime when I am way ahead just to get a reaction.

Thanks for sharing with us.
 
TheBook said:
If she was that intoxicated I would have spot the 8 ball and took ball in hand. Chances are she wouldn't be in any condition to win anyways.

This is a classic. Never heard anything like that before. I might have to do this on purpose sometime when I am way ahead just to get a reaction.

Thanks for sharing with us.

I was playing in a league 8 ball match a couple months ago and my opponent on the other team, playing stripes shot the 15 as the cue ball and made his own 11. I saw him lining it up as did his team mates, and thought he was lining up a combination and then he just pulled the trigger.

As soon as his team mates said "What the hell are you doing?",he realized it and called a foul on himself. Nobody really raised a rule question.

There was some amount of beer involved.
 
This is the link for APA rules.


http://www.poolplayers.com/tmanual.pdf



g. Causing even the slightest movement or altering the course of the cue
ball, even accidentally, is a foul. Even dropping the chalk on the cue ball
is a foul. It is not a foul, however, to accidentally move any other balls
(including the 8-ball) unless, during his turn at the table, a player moves a
ball and it in turn comes in contact with the cue ball. Any balls moved
accidentally during a shot must be replaced by the opponent after the
shot is over and all balls have stopped rolling. If it occurs before the shot,
it must be replaced before the shot is taken.




It's one thing not to have a rule book handy while your playing, but when people are sitting in front of a computer with all kind of search features, and they feel completely confident posting answers on a rules question without even trying to look up the rule themselves, you've gotta wonder sometimes.
:rolleyes:
 
Yep. That's exactly what I based my interpretation on...

"It is not a foul to move any other ball including the 8 ball"...
 
Yeh, that type of situation is funny and long remembered...

Yeh, that type of situation is funny and long remembered...

I've seen folks shoot the 1 as the cue. I've seen (and also have done this myself), someone
focus so much on a tough position shot or breakout shot, and they pocket the ball.
But, they were focusing so much on the position or cluster break, that they think
they failed, and walk away from the table as if they missed.

See how much fun pool can be sometimes? Many folks never get to experience this
during their entire lifetime.
 
Last edited:
In APA

Da Poet said:
This is the link for APA rules.


http://www.poolplayers.com/tmanual.pdf



g. Causing even the slightest movement or altering the course of the cue
ball, even accidentally, is a foul. Even dropping the chalk on the cue ball
is a foul. It is not a foul, however, to accidentally move any other balls
(including the 8-ball) unless, during his turn at the table, a player moves a
ball and it in turn comes in contact with the cue ball. Any balls moved
accidentally during a shot must be replaced by the opponent after the
shot is over and all balls have stopped rolling. If it occurs before the shot,
it must be replaced before the shot is taken.




It's one thing not to have a rule book handy while your playing, but when people are sitting in front of a computer with all kind of search features, and they feel completely confident posting answers on a rules question without even trying to look up the rule themselves, you've gotta wonder sometimes.
:rolleyes:
If the 8 is pocketed at any time during the course of the game without a marked legal hit it is a loss of game ! :eek: I suggest you carefully reread the rules since you have them you might start on page 30 and then go on! if you do not want to read it all try page 47 #6 even if the 8 is acratched off the table it is LOSS OF GAME!
 
Last edited:
Standard 8-Ball Rules

4.20 LOSS OF GAME

A player loses the game by committing any of the following infractions:

1. Fouls when pocketing the 8-ball (exception: 8-Ball Pocketed On The Break). <<< this would end all discussion whether if the 8-ball is going to be re-spotted and a BIH or lose of a game.

therefore, she clearly lost the game not by hitting the 8-ball but by pocketing it without the CB. clearly a foul and an automatic lose. regardless of whether she was intoxicated, it shouldn't be used as an excuse. as this would create an unsportmanlike atmosphere in the game and might become an unhealthy trend.
 
MrLucky said:
If the 8 is pocketed at any time during the course of the game without a marked legal hit it is a loss of game ! :eek: I suggest you carefully reread the rules since you have them you might start on page 30 and then go on! if you do not want to read it all try page 47 #6 even if the 8 is acratched off the table it is LOSS OF GAME!

I think you are correct. Additionally, the rule quoted by DaPoet in my mind does not apply at all because it specifically deals with "accidental" movement of a ball. Her movement and pocketing of the 8 ball was not "accidental" at all but a deliberate stroke on her part.

I have never played APA so have not specifically read their rules, but as I understand one of the differences in APA and BCA rules is that in APA, the 8 ball never comes back on the table. Is that correct?
 
GADawg said:
I think you are correct. Additionally, the rule quoted by DaPoet in my mind does not apply at all because it specifically deals with "accidental" movement of a ball. Her movement and pocketing of the 8 ball was not "accidental" at all but a deliberate stroke on her part.

I have never played APA so have not specifically read their rules, but as I understand one of the differences in APA and BCA rules is that in APA, the 8 ball never comes back on the table. Is that correct?

except when you made the 8 on the break, which does not occur on a regular basis. the 8 is then re-spotted.
 
FLICKit said:
Whether it be APA or BCA ... there is sort of an oddity which is overlooked. Since most leagues do not play all balls foul. Technically this would not be your standard foul call. This was complicated by the fact that the 8-ball was knocked in. But, just like any other non-legitimate movement of balls situation, the balls must be replaced. So if it was a coin-op table and she was willing to pay to retrieve the balls, surprisingly the ruling might more appropriately be to restore the balls to their original location and proceed as normal with it still being her turn at the table. Now, she may so choose to take the high road, and grant the loss, and not escalate the level of personal embarrassment any further...

I know, there are many reasons why this may not be favorable to rule this way... But overall, the ruling as stated would be more consistent with the rules.

If the opposing team had an issue with the player hitting the 8 ball like she did, then they could raise a sportsmanship violation. But in this given case, considering that most believe she clearly would not have done this in her right mind, or in no way was she trying to gain an advantage from this action, I wouldn't give much credence to the sportsmanship violation in this case. Might keep it on file... The main thing this does it prevent some other jerk from coming along and saying, if she can hit it without penalty, then I'll do it as well... In this case the sportsmanship violation could be given due credence and handled accordingly...

To the best of my knowledge, all that's available in the APA Team Manual http://www.poolplayers.com/tmanual.pdf on pp.48/49 it would seem this is what I think the ruling would be. APA calls cue ball fouls only, NOT object balls. You could literally knock the object balls all over the table, and suffer no recourse.
 
Last edited:
I did something similar in an APA match. I had an easy straight in side pocket shot on the 8, and as I walked around the table to shoot it I called the pocket by pointing my cue at the side pocket. As I rounded the corner of the table, I tripped over my own feet and swiped the nearby 8 ball directly in the corner pocket. After much laughter, the 8 ball was replaced and I managed to pocket it for the win.

The only difference in the case mentioned in this thread is the 'unintentional/intentional' nature of the hit on the 8. I'm thinking that was more of an intentional hit, but it wouldn't surprise me if the 8 was (should have been) respotted.
 
My read on this is the same as Da Poet's. As long as the CB isn't contacted, ANY OB contacted is put back in its original position.
 
This is a BCA rule!

Hail Mary Shot said:
except when you made the 8 on the break, which does not occur on a regular basis. the 8 is then re-spotted.
We are talking about a APA match when the 8 is made on the break it is a win! unless you scratch the cueball at the same time it is then a loss in APA ! :)
 
Oh, on a side note, (I'm not starting a new thread about this, but imagine enough APA playing AZers will view this) I witnessed my opponent setting up a slug rack, with the head ball at least an 1/8 if not a full 1/4 inch off the pack.

I setup for a side rail break to attack the second ball in the apex, slight outside low English, popped the eight on the break, and won the game and the match with one shot.

It's a good feeling to come out on top when someone tries to do this, and I know he knew what he was doing, because I know the particular people on that team.

My APA eight on the break patch will be even sweeter when I sew it onto my jean jacket vest with other patches I wear to all of our playoff and money tournament matches.
















I'm only kidding about the jean jacket. If you have one like this, your in a place I can't help you.
 
Last edited:
Gregg said:
Oh, on a side note, (I'm not starting a new thread about this, but imagine enough APA playing AZers will view this) I witnessed my opponent setting up a slug rack, with the head ball at least an 1/8 if not a full 1/4 inch off the pack.

I setup for a side rail break to attack the second ball in the apex, slight outside low English, popped the eight on the break, and won the game and the match with one shot.

It's a good feeling to come out on top when someone tries to do this, and I know he knew what he was doing, because I know the particular people on that team.

Good for you! I hate to see a "slugger" get away with it.
 
LOL! Good for you!

Gregg said:
Oh, on a side note, (I'm not starting a new thread about this, but imagine enough APA playing AZers will view this) I witnessed my opponent setting up a slug rack, with the head ball at least an 1/8 if not a full 1/4 inch off the pack.

I setup for a side rail break to attack the second ball in the apex, slight outside low English, popped the eight on the break, and won the game and the match with one shot.

It's a good feeling to come out on top when someone tries to do this, and I know he knew what he was doing, because I know the particular people on that team.

My APA eight on the break patch will be even sweeter when I sew it onto my jean jacket vest with other patches I wear to all of our playoff and money tournament matches.






:) we have a few slickers here also :eek:
 
MrLucky said:
If the 8 is pocketed at any time during the course of the game without a marked legal hit it is a loss of game ! :eek:
That would be the case with any shot originating from the cue ball. For example, cue ball hits 8 and knocks it in an unmarked pocket would be loss of game. Or cue hits solid or stripe, which in turn knocks 8 in, would be a loss.

That criteria is not applicable to this situation, since the shot did not originate with the cue ball.

MrLucky said:
I suggest you carefully reread the rules since you have them you might start on page 30 and then go on! if you do not want to read it all try page 47 #6 even if the 8 is acratched off the table it is LOSS OF GAME!
Page 30 has nothing applicable to this situation.
Page 47 #6 refers to BALLS ON THE FLOOR (which already is not applicable here). It states "If the 8 ball is knocked on the floor, it is loss of game. Other object balls that get knocked on the floor will be spotted...

All of this would 100% apply, if the shot at hand began with the cue ball and knocked said balls on floor. In this case it clearly didn't originate with contact on the cue ball.

Gregg said:
APA calls cue ball fouls only, NOT object balls. You could literally knock the object balls all over the table, and suffer no recourse.
True. But of course All balls must be replaced before play would continue.
 
Last edited:
Endymion said:
I did something similar in an APA match. I had an easy straight in side pocket shot on the 8, and as I walked around the table to shoot it I called the pocket by pointing my cue at the side pocket. As I rounded the corner of the table, I tripped over my own feet and swiped the nearby 8 ball directly in the corner pocket. After much laughter, the 8 ball was replaced and I managed to pocket it for the win.

The only difference in the case mentioned in this thread is the 'unintentional/intentional' nature of the hit on the 8. I'm thinking that was more of an intentional hit, but it wouldn't surprise me if the 8 was (should have been) respotted.


Your first mistake was calling the pocket. APA requires you to mark it.
 
MrLucky said:
We are talking about a APA match when the 8 is made on the break it is a win! unless you scratch the cueball at the same time it is then a loss in APA ! :)

I see. thanks for the clarification. :)
 
Back
Top