Porper B Q Lathe Maintenance

Limpkinw

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I recently picked up a used Proper B lathe and I did not get any information on maintenance. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to maintain this?

In the past I worked as an employee in a pool hall and someone else handled the maintenance so I am really not sure where to go there.

Thanks!
Jesse

Brickcues

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Have had one for 15 years and would also like to know as I have yet to perform any maintenance at all.

str8shooter

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I replaced the spindle,2 bearings,and brass pinion gear but my model B is one of the first 150 built so it has some years on it and was neglected by the previous owner.

Renegade_56

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
If the bearings are exposed to sawdust and sanding dust it will surely absorb the oil on them so make sure they stay lubricated. Beyond that, just keep the ways and the feed mechanism clean and well lubed as well.

ddcuerepair

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I have had my Porper since 1998 and have had the on off switch break on it. Other than that it's been working fine.
I work about 40 tournaments a year with this machine.
I do take my machine apart when i get home from events to check everything over for worn or damaged parts, wiring,. Lube it up when I put it back together.
I have a second Porper for a back up and I have had to use it the one time the switch went out on my main lathe.
No to bad for 15 years.

pdcue

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I recently picked up a used Proper B lathe and I did not get any information on maintenance. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to maintain this?

In the past I worked as an employee in a pool hall and someone else handled the maintenance so I am really not sure where to go there.

Thanks!
Jesse

14 seconds on Google yielded:

Creative Inventions
9142-44 Jordan Ave
Chatsworth CA 91311

818-727-7966
FAX 818-727-9076