Rule Challenge!!!!!!

twoslo4me

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Rule Challenge of the Week: If ball is called frozen to the rail and both players agree accordingly ... and player hits the same rail clearly with cue ball after contacting frozen ball... foul or no foul... if you were involved in this challenge last night, please do not respond..
 
Rule Challenge of the Week: If ball is called frozen to the rail and both players agree accordingly ... and player hits the same rail clearly with cue ball after contacting frozen ball... foul or no foul... if you were involved in this challenge last night, please do not respond..

Legal hit (no foul) anywhere I've ever played, playing any game I've ever played.

ONB
 
Rule Challenge of the Week: If ball is called frozen to the rail and both players agree accordingly ... and player hits the same rail clearly with cue ball after contacting frozen ball... foul or no foul... if you were involved in this challenge last night, please do not respond..

If the cue ball hits a frozen object ball and the cue ball subsequently hits any rail, it's a good hit.
 
Like the others have said, Legal hit, no foul in this situation as you've described it.

Dopc.
 
Can't wait for the story where a rules-donkey reared his ass and strong armed his way... Hopefully, that's not the case.
 
Rule Challenge of the Week: If ball is called frozen to the rail and both players agree accordingly ... and player hits the same rail clearly with cue ball after contacting frozen ball... foul or no foul... if you were involved in this challenge last night, please do not respond..

There's only a FEW instances where this would be an ILLEGAL hit.
When playing straight pool and a player has already played this same rail with the SAME object three times each,
where the object ball in question is not frozen each time but certainly is within "close proximity" to the same rail. see 14.1 rulebook.
[Common sense dictates on that last part]

Other than that case (and perhaps another I'm not aware of) it's a legal hit, twoslo4me.
 
Last edited:
There's only a FEW instances where this would be an ILLEGAL hit.
When playing straight pool and a player has already played this same rail with the SAME object three times each,
where the object ball in question is not frozen each time but certainly is within "close proximity" to the same rail. see 14.1 rulebook.
[Common sense dictates on that last part]

Other than that case (and perhaps another I'm not aware of) it's a legal hit, twoslo4me.

Forgot @ that one boogeyman, good catch.

Kinda like chess. When you make the same move 3 times in a row when placed in check.
 
Yep, 100% legal.

Here is my story. Playing a guy one night. Ball frozen on the rail. We determined that.

2 long rails and 2 short but as the guy explained it to me, the 2 middle pockets split the 2 long rails making it 6 rails in theory.

I could hit my ball, but the cue ball would have to hit a different rail.

I asked the guy who he heard that from. When he told me, it was like, I knew that as soon as you said it.

I said,"man, did you ever get scammed into a ball in hand".
 
... When playing straight pool and a player has already played this same rail with the SAME object three times each,
...
That rule is now gone. There is no special "nurse safety" rule in 14.1 any more. To replace it there is a stalemate rule. This happened with the 2008 revision.
 
Another change that happened in 2008 was the clarification of the "one rail" concept. Before 2008 if the object ball was frozen to the long rail and you shot it past the side pocket and it touched the rail on the other side of the side pocket, you didn't get credit for contacting that cushion. This was broken and had been for some time.

Usually in such a situation, the cue ball would also have contacted a cushion but it might not be clear whether it was before or after contact with the object ball.

Here is a clearer case of the rule: the object ball is frozen to the point of the side pocket. You hit the ball and it rattles back and forth between the points of side pocket but doesn't drop and the cue ball does not hit a cushion. Under the previous rules, this would have been a foul. It is no longer a foul because the object ball clearly left the cushion and then hit it.
 
That rule is now gone. There is no special "nurse safety" rule in 14.1 any more. To replace it there is a stalemate rule. This happened with the 2008 revision.

What happens in a 14.1 stalemate here Bob? Some sort of re-rack with the opposing player getting choice of a full rack break?
 
Rule Challenge of the Week: If ball is called frozen to the rail and both players agree accordingly ... and player hits the same rail clearly with cue ball after contacting frozen ball... foul or no foul... if you were involved in this challenge last night, please do not respond..

no foul and hwy would it be?
 
Last edited:
What happens in a 14.1 stalemate here Bob? Some sort of re-rack with the opposing player getting choice of a full rack break?
Lag to see who breaks:

4.12 Stalemate
If a stalemate occurs (see 1.12 Stalemate), the players will lag again to determine who will shoot an opening break.
 
Back
Top