Here is the situation....
The 9-ball is nearly frozen to the endrail, and the cueball is nearly frozen to the 9-ball.
I announce to the referee that I am going to miscue, and barely hit the cueball, but enough to make the 9-ball hit the rail. I wipe the chalk off the tip, and then make the shot. It was a legal hit. I hit the cueball only once, and the 9-ball hit the rail.
The ref then starts going through the rulebook for about 15 minutes. He then says that my shot was unsportsmanlike conduct, and that my opponent would get ball in hand.
I shook my opponent's hand and withdrew from the tournament.
Several people have told me that I cannot vocally announce that I am going to miscue on purpose, but I don't believe the rule.
What do you think?
The 9-ball is nearly frozen to the endrail, and the cueball is nearly frozen to the 9-ball.
I announce to the referee that I am going to miscue, and barely hit the cueball, but enough to make the 9-ball hit the rail. I wipe the chalk off the tip, and then make the shot. It was a legal hit. I hit the cueball only once, and the 9-ball hit the rail.
The ref then starts going through the rulebook for about 15 minutes. He then says that my shot was unsportsmanlike conduct, and that my opponent would get ball in hand.
I shook my opponent's hand and withdrew from the tournament.
Several people have told me that I cannot vocally announce that I am going to miscue on purpose, but I don't believe the rule.
What do you think?