Yes. If I were refereeing your match, I personally would've called a foul on you. Because in that situation, basically a "touch"-type of safety, there's no reason to miscue, even though it can be said that you "made contact with the [side of] the tip of the cue with the cue ball."
The shot you were attempting is possible to do without miscueing. Watch how Niels Feijen handled it in the 2007 Derby City Classic 9-ball Finals:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=ZSOOGM2XmWk#t=630
A controversial shot
even in this match, yes, but it was handled a *LOT* better than an obvious miscue. (The word "obvious" is used even if you didn't announce it, because a miscue in this situation is plainly obviously intentional.)
-Sean