1. No, unless he brushes the object ball as he shoots "away" from it.
2. Yes, so long as moving the object ball a fraction is done with a stroke that is not a double hit or a push.
The full, official rules of pool are here: http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play
Also check out the regulations which explain how some of the rules are applied. They are under the drop-down tab at the top of the page.
I think you will find several surprises in the rules. You may want to print out a set to convince incredulous players.