Rule Question #2

NightLife

Registered
Safety play

Cue ball is FROZEN to an object ball
Can the incoming player just shoot away from the ball since it is already in contact with the cue ball?

Can he just move the object ball a fraction of an inch and hit a rail with the cue ball?
 
Safety play

Cue ball is FROZEN to an object ball
Can the incoming player just shoot away from the ball since it is already in contact with the cue ball?

Can he just move the object ball a fraction of an inch and hit a rail with the cue ball?

1. No, unless he brushes the object ball as he shoots "away" from it.
2. Yes, so long as moving the object ball a fraction is done with a stroke that is not a double hit or a push.
 
Kinda what I thought but there is always someone trying to push the rules.

Thank you
The full, official rules of pool are here: http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play
Also check out the regulations which explain how some of the rules are applied. They are under the drop-down tab at the top of the page.

I think you will find several surprises in the rules. You may want to print out a set to convince incredulous players.
 
Back
Top