Rule question for a newbie (to 14.1)

Maniac

2manyQ's
Silver Member
Okay, World Standardized Rules for Straight Pool (from BCA website):

Rule 6.12 Successive Foul Penalties

The player remains "on a foul" until the next shot attempt, at which time the foul may be removed by successfully pocketing a called ball, or completing a legal safety.



Now, does this mean if I call a pocket and simply miss the ball I am commiting a foul, or does the missed shot constitute a safety??? Or, must I either pocket a called ball OR "call" a safety before I shoot???

Edit: I may as well ask another question while I've got a new thread open. The way I read the rules is that the ONLY time a ball is spotted is when one (or more) is made illegally (uncalled), a scratch occured while making a ball (or more), or an object ball (or more) is knocked off the table. Is this correct???

Maniac (still learning)
 
Last edited:
Okay, World Standardized Rules for Straight Pool (from BCA website):

Rule 6.12 Successive Foul Penalties ...

I think that's from an old set. If I found the page you were quoting, it's from 2006 and it was obsoleted in 2008. Here is the current rule from the WPA website:

6.14 Three Consecutive Fouls
If a player fouls three times without making an intervening legal shot, it is a serious foul. In games scored by the rack, such as nine ball, the fouls must be in a single rack. Some games such as eight ball do not include this rule.
The referee must warn a shooter who is on two fouls when he comes to the table that he is on two fouls. Otherwise a possible third foul will be considered to be only the second.

I think the rule answers your question, although it does bring up the question of what happens if a player who is on two fouls manages to foul during the other player's inning.
 
Thanks Bob and Paul.

But what about the spotted balls question in the last half of my post?

Maniac
 
I can't think of any other situation where a ball would be spotted. The idea of spotting balls is to keep the ball count right for the rack.

Andy
 
... Edit: I may as well ask another question while I've got a new thread open. The way I read the rules is that the ONLY time a ball is spotted is when one (or more) is made illegally (uncalled), a scratch occurred while making a ball (or more), or an object ball (or more) is knocked off the table. Is this correct??? ...
No. You also may have to spot either the last object ball or the cue ball at the end of a rack. There is even one case in which the cue ball is spotted on the center spot. I'm not sure I've ever seen that. The other night in league I had the situation where the cue ball is spotted on the head spot at the end of the rack.
 
Back
Top