Grady Matthews did this in an Accustats one pocket videoUsing a small cloth or towel to put inside the pocket to prevent shaft from rubbing on metal or plastic . Is this illegal? If so what does the rule state ?
I think shaft "sleeves" like these are commonly allowed.This does not seem to be in the category of standard equipment as defined in BCA rules.
When faces with similar, I use a closed bridge to hoist the shaft above the marking rubber.
I remember that I think it was one pocket and a long time ago has passed . Just wondering if there is a rule specific to this situation ?Grady Matthews did this in an Accustats one pocket video
No one raised an eyebrow, except for thinking it was clever
Yes these are legal but actually putting something inside of the pocket is my question.I think shaft "sleeves" like these are commonly allowed.
pj
chgo
View attachment 834311
![]()
The Slider
The printed letters are made of a specially formulated ink that allows you to use an Open Bridge without slipping. Fits any size shaft. Just pull it down toward the joint when you don't want to use it. It's made from the same material as a high quality pool glove. It's washable and long...thedrillinstructor.us
Yes, the sleeve would be in case that's illegal.Yes these are legal but actually putting something inside of the pocket is my question.
Bob can you site the rule or have a link to that situation?My feeling is that if you need to put a cloth on the pocket/liner to protect your shaft from mung or dings, the equipment is broken. It is then reasonable to take the precaution of covering up the broken part of the table during the shot.
Pool is not supposed to be like putt-putt golf where the goal is to figure out a new trick to play each shot.
If you have a gooey pocket liner and have to play over that liner, the use of a cloth or a paper towel seems to me a standard use of equipment in that bad situation.
I think Robert Cannefax would simply cut out the pocket liner.
There is nothing explicit. I think there may be something in the regulations about players accepting the equipment as suitable for play prior to the start. I suppose you could lodge a complaint at that time and get the officials to agree to pocket protectors. Otherwise, you have to throw yourself on the mercy of the person who has the authority to tell you "NO!" at the time of the problem.Bob can you site the rule or have a link to that situation?
Sounds good to me, but a nit is going to claim that the cloth is intended to be used to protect the cloth, not your cue.Ive just used a break patch for that, where I play there is always one.
Doing what you can to fix a broken situation. Maybe it was an unusual kind of lighting -- I've never seen a problem with pocket casting glare before.In the finals of the 2000 US Open between Takeshi Okamura and Earl Strickland, Okamura places a towel on the rail/pockets several times to block the glare from the lights.
At 17:47, he does it for the first time. At 59:31, he does it again and the ref comes over to discuss and deems it legal.
What if it's left there and a ball is pocketed in that pocket regardless of interference or in another pocket entirely?
I believe that’s why Archer has/had his OCD and would move balls from pocket to pocket (that he wasn’t shooting at). The reflection of the light off the balls inside the pocket he was standing over would bother him. This is from memory, I may be way off. I vaguely remember someone asked him that in an interview question 15 or so years.Doing what you can to fix a broken situation. Maybe it was an unusual kind of lighting -- I've never seen a problem with pocket casting glare before.
Yes but can they apply the football concept of illegal equipment onfield?The player is responsible for any equipment he brings to the table. If a ball were to hit it, it would be a foul.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk